We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing”

Blue Mountain Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloubergstrand
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Mountain Guest House
Ranked #38 of 53 Bloubergstrand B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 December 2009

A very nice and friendly guesthouse, with clean rooms and nice pool, where you can relax in safety and quietness. The Blouberg Strand is just 5min by walking and perfect for kite surfing, walking, running or just swimming. Restaurants and pubs are also close ( visit Blue Peter for breakfast or sundowner !). To Cape Town Downtown it takes just view minutes by car or taxi.

The guesthouse was our starting point for a longer caravan trip along the garden route.
We spend there a week before and after the trip. Dianne helped as in all issues. She organized a camper, rental car, transport to airport, booked a safari in addo elefant park,
and gave good sightseeing tips.

A german visitor.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisbi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2009

We stayed for a couple of days and it was really pleasant. The room was clean and tidy and well prepared with extra towels. Coffee and tea was also supplied in the room. The ensuit although small met all your needs not to mention clean.
We brought our dog along on holiday from Germany and she was very happy with the little garden that was well kept. We had no complaints and for the price it was the best bargain under the African sky. We would definately recommend it to people who are not willing to pay the ridiculous prices in the Cape and who want a clean and friendly environment. And a bonus point that they allow dogs. Great job folks.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterzelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

My sister and I stayed here for 2 weeks. Terry and Deanna, the owners, made us very welcome, and were really helpful in suggesting places to visit outside of the normal tourist guide books. The room and bathroom were immaculate. Breakfast was varied and plentiful, and we were encouraged to use the swimming pool and outdoor facilities as much as we wanted to. They were very helpful in arranging for a hire car which was there when we arrived and which we left at the airport when we departed. It is a bed and breakfast, and we didn't expect anything more than that, but we were invited to join them for a sun downer drink one evening, which was a lovely surprise. I so enjoyed my time there, that I've encouraged friends to stay on their visits and I will be back to run the 2Oceans marathon in April 2010 and have already booked to stay at Blue Mountain Guest House

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whoopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

After experiencing an excellent stay at the Blue Mountain Gues House myself before relocating to Cape Town, I now live in the area and frequently refer friends and colleages to this B&B. This lovely Guest House offers excellent rates, hospitality, has idyllic location close to the beach, shopping centres, restaurants, direct routes to the city centre and up the West Coast. The owners are very friendly and willing to bend over backwards to assist you if needed and security is very good. I have never had negative feedback from any person I have referred to this home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArchieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We stayed at the Blue Mountain at the end of July/August 2009. The owners are wonderful people going out of their way to accommodate their guests and to make your stay as comfortable as possible - your home away from home! The area is nice and quiet, and although not a beach front guest house, you are not far from the closest beach. Well situated to visit Cape Town and surrounding areas, including the winelands. The rooms are lovely and overlook the garden area. There is also a pool for the hot African days. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYRAJET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

if you want a friendly and lovely familiar place to stay, then drop off at Blue Mountain Guest House.
Very quiet and comfortable place, to get away from stress and the city noise.
Shops, restaurants and the amazing west beach, are very near by car.
the traffic around capte town is a little problem, but all the ways to the city or airport take a little longer, this you have in every country if you living outside from the city.
That was no negative point, because if you i holiday you shouldn't take the stress from your home country with. and like i wrote before, you have traffic in every holiday region near a bigger city...
just enjoy this lovley guest house with a family flair and great beach with table mountain view.
greets marcel

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billabonger80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

This place is pretty average. The rooms were clean, but had not been decorated for a while. The ceiling above our shower was badly flaking for example.

Its also quite a way from Cape Town airport - 25 minutes or so if no traffic. Locals told us the rush hour traffic in that area can be pretty bad, as its developing rapidly.

The hotel owners were friendly, and promptly replied to enquiries. What spoiled it for me however was that they did not seem very keen on actually running a B&B. When we called from the airport to say our flight was delayed so we would be arriving late they were insistent that our friends (arriving earlier) collect keys on our behalf. I could only assume this was because they did not want to wait until 10pm to meet us. So our friends had to :o(

Furthermore, we tried to pay with a credit card the night before we left (as we had to leave at 7am). The owner had gone out and basically told me (via phone) there was no choice but to leave cash - and gave me directions to an ATM. I had not previously agreed how to pay. They also pointed out (as more encouragement?) that the cash rate was much cheaper than the card rate.

To sum up - this place was cheap but there are no doubt equally average places closer in to town. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloubergstrand hotels
1.2 km away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#2 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
310 reviews
4.3 km away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
167 reviews
9.6 km away
Goblins Mead
Goblins Mead
#36 of 53 in Bloubergstrand
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
#6 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
55 reviews
0.9 km away
Infinity Self-Catering Apartments
Infinity Self-Catering Apartment...
#5 of 22 in Bloubergstrand
19 reviews
0.8 km away
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
#1 of 53 in Bloubergstrand
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Guest House

Address: 9 Warwick Road | Bloubergrant, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bloubergstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bloubergstrand
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Mountain is a warm, home from home, offering very comfortable accommodation at unbeatable rates. Double rooms have private entrance from the gardens, bathroom en-suite, TV, satellite channel, radio/alarm clocks, tea/coffee facilities and many special touches. Large, crystal clear salt-water swimming pool, BBQ facilities, honesty bar, breakfast included, dinners on request. Close to beach, shops, restaurants, 15 km from city centre and V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing