We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”
Review of Eurotel Altura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eurotel Altura
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great holiday”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We spent our holidays in Eurotel last week and had a great time. Hotel is lovely and clean. Unfortunately got our room on the first floor so was a bit disappointed with the view, it didn't make our time there any worse, we enjoyed the beach walks and fabulous weather. Food was ok, breakfast on our second day was cold even though we came early.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnes0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    280
    65
    13
    6
See reviews for
208
291
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Enjoyed another relaxing holiday here, this was our third visit and met up with some familiar faces. The whole hotel is very well presented and it is easy to see why there are so many return visitors. We were given a superior room on the 8th floor which gave a great view of the surrounding area. Since our last visit I have been diagnosed with coeliac disease and this posed no problem with the hotel. The restaurant staff were most helpful and attentive to my condition. (I emailed the hotel in advance to tell them of my condition)
As other reviewees have mentioned - a kettle is a must if you enjoy your tea/coffee.
Prices of drinks at the bar are expensive but there is a couple of bars close by should you wish to go elsewhere. 'Augustos' which is directly across from the hotel has had a makeover - it is more modern but still dark and still allows smoking same as most places in Portugal.
Overall another great holiday and the weather was great too.

Room Tip: All rooms have seaviews but the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunseekerInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We visited Eurotel for a few days over the Easter holidays.We have been to the hotel a few times previously.We were allocated a superior room on the eighth floor.Very spacious ,clean and well predented.Soft furnishings throughout the hotel are of an excellent quality.All rooms have wonderful seaview.Hotel was fairly quiet during the day but people seemed to appear from nowhere at dinner time.Dining room is well appointed with food well laid out.Quality and presentation of food was very good especially the breakfasts.Hotel is in a sleepy little village which is VERY quiet off season but ideal for people looking for a quality hotel in a peaceful location.Long clean beaches are a walkers paradise.Vila Real along the road is worth a visit and a few hours can easily be passed here.Only downside is the cost of drinks at the bar, prices are VERY expensive.We enjoyed our break and hope to return again.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katrinamac12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel is outstanding. It is spotlessly clean and staff work tirelessly to make your experience as restful and relaxing as possible. Although the look of the exterior is a bit off-putting, the interior has been tastefully refurbished giving a 5 star appearance. We would definitely return - probably not in peak season as we mostly enjoyed the quietness of it all (on our half hour walk along the beach to Manta Rota we spotted a maximum of 20 other people!). For a slightly busier location you can also walk to Monte Gordo (about an hour along the beach).

Our half-board basis provided lots of choice for breakfast and dinner and we found lovely and reasonably priced food and drink locally for lunch.

Especially impressive is the fact that every room has a beautiful panoramic sea view and it is a very short walk to the stunning beach which has it's own beach bar.

The grounds of the hotel are also maintained exquisitely and contain different areas giving in particular younger children somewhere to be entertained as well as having a tennis court and well planned areas for relaxation.

Although there was a charge (€7.50) for the indoor spa (take a swimming cap) it was well worth the visit on an overcast day. Use of the well equipped gym is free and there is structured indoor entertainment for small children.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elaine186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

Bring your own kettle ,tea and coffee..?.promised me free bottle of wine for our anniversary on 25jan didn't give because we arrived on 26 jan ,managers didn't give in..cosmos gave me 75 compo when I got back....nice place, nice hotel..very clean..lovely spa..4.5 star in my book...meals about same after a while..but still very good for the money..kettle a. Must

Stayed January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel cannot be faulted. Right from check-in to check-out the experience was wonderful. The staff are friendly, the hotel is spotlessly kept clean and the food is excellent. We stayed half-
board for 7 days and were really pleased with the hotel, it's facilities and it's surroundings.
The room was clean and well equipped with free wi-fi. Every room has a balcony with views towards he beach. The bathroom was large with everything you needed.
The food at breakfast was all you needed both in choice and in quantity and the same at dinner time. The food was always fresh and was topped up immediately anything ran down and kept being topped up right to the end of each seating.
The weather was attrocous when we went so we couldn't use the pool etc. but could see it was always kept clean and clear of leaves etc. Would definately stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone, couples, families young or old. The only thing that disappointed us was the evening entertainment which was a little amateurist and cheesy but that's down to individualt taste.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lansdownwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Third visit to Eurotel in 12 months. No real downsides except it was busier then before as we overlapped into Easter Holidays ( Holy Week) so more families with young children and more young people which raised noise levels, as opposed to the more sedate atmosphere in the hotel normally. The hotel can't control this so it's not a criticism . Staff , facilities, food, room standards( they gave us a free upgrade to a Superior room- many thanks), overall maintainence, cleanliness, and location second to none. Best value for money we've ever had not just this time but in 2011 also. A credit to Staff , owners, and Management. A little tip for car renters- you can pay your road tolls at the Sportsmans Bar on the roundabout 150 metres away in the town centre. It's a designated Payshop, There is also a Payshop up towards the market beyond the Church, Eurotel take a bow - we'll be back asap!

Room Tip: Every room has a sea view,. Worth paying extra for Superior room and the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Downes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altura
1.5 km away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
250 reviews
11.8 km away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
344 reviews
13.0 km away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Monte Gordo
515 reviews
4.7 km away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
437 reviews
11.0 km away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#6 of 15 in Tavira
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurotel Altura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurotel Altura

Property: Eurotel Altura
Address: Avenida 24 de Junho | Praia de Altura, Altura 8950-417, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Altura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurotel Altura 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurotel Altura is located on the lovely Altura beach, in the East Algarve. All rooms have a private balcony and boost spectacular views of the sea. Buffet breakfast is included and there is free parking in the hotel.The hotel has an outdoor pool, garden area, tennis court, mini-golf, restaurant, snack bar and bar. The recently built Wellness Center has a hydrotherapy area with Turkish bath, Caribbean Shower and relaxation area. It also has massage and treatment rooms as well as a fully equipped gymnasium.Eurotel Altura also has available a special area for the younger guests, offering a Kids Club with full entertainment programme all year round.The hotel is located only 10 minutes from 6 golf courses and Faro International Airport is only 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurotel Altura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurotel Altura Hotel Altura
Eurotel Altura Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing