We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
298
316
75
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
316
75
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monte gordo wellness centre sea view spanish border superior room indoor pool older clientele standard hotel relaxing holiday breakfast and dinner laundry service high floor free safe half board the hotel offers out of season kids club
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 720 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

Dramatic experience during our 12 days family stay at Eurotel Altura. The hotel has been refurbished only 10 years ago and has serious maintenance issues. For instance, our bathroom had broken tiles and rusty equipment (including mushrooms...). There were pigeon nests on our balcony (incl ded pigeons...).
There is also a major noise issue, with paper thin walls and more importantly loud music coming from the restaurant in front until 1am - loud enough to prevent sleeping.
Wifi is not functioning on the 8th floor at least.
Reception did not offer anything to improve our experience and the director was « unavailble ». We are regular users of 4 and 5 star hotels and this one actually deserves a 3 star rating maximum. Illustratively, the orange juice during breakfast is made of concentrated juice (while Algarve is known for the quality of its oranges!), coffee is baremy drinkable, water glasses are often dirty, ... We have taken plenty of pictures proving our appaling experience and are happy to share them. Charging c. 360euros per night is a rip off. You can find much better value for money elsewhere in Portugal.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank stephjen522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018

The hotel have a good localization with sea view but the rooms are old, especially the bathroom, is very small and old. The service is poor .Wifi doesn’t work. Lots of families with noisy children. The best of our stay was the beach.

Room tip: Old rooms need reformations
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CarlosA11695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here last night, staff rude and unhelpful on front desk.
Asked for early check in as we had a wedding to go to, lady on desk didn’t look like she checked anything, then said “no”.
When we checked in after wedding, man on front desk also abrupt and rude. System was down, and I was made to feel like an inconvenience.
On checking out, I asked for an invoice and the third encounter with front desk was also abrupt. I didn’t realise an invoice was a big deal at a hotel! Clearly it was for him.

A real shame as hotel and grounds very nice and clean.
Staff have put me off staying again.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank chrismV1450JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2018

The Eurotel is located on a beautiful sandy beach. The village of Altura is orphaned during the winter months, the only guests in the hotel were elderly people escaping cold weather in Northern Europe. The hotel complex is located in a large park and is ideally situated for long walks at the seashore.
The Eurotel is in a older building that was recently renovated. All rooms are having a balcony and sea view. Standard rooms are relatively narrow; the same applies to the bath room which is equipped with a shower cabin.

The rooms are furnished with a comfortable double bed, a large writing desk, and an armchair with a small table. Unfortunately, there is no kettle for tee/coffee making. A bottle of mineral water is placed on the desk with a price tag of € 3.. The soundproofing is insufficient.

The breakfast buffet is not much exciting. The sole dish with eggs, are scrambled eggs placed in a food warmer, The breakfast items are mainly cheap products as found in hard discounter. There is no freshly grind coffee, only filter coffee from a dispenser. The dinner was mediocre. The better choice is to eat in one of the nearby restaurants or those in 10 minutes walking distance at the jetty.
Regardless of the beautiful beach; good, varied food is important to guest satisfaction and by giving a happy holiday feeling. There is a huge potential for improvement in this aspect at the Eurotel.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

The food is very poor, whilst there a credit card was taken from our room reported to reception but not one member of the hotel seemed at all interested. They ran out of food one evening again not interested. The rooms are of a good standard and the hotel is very clean but that does not help when other aspects are so poor. Would I go back no no no.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank allan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews