We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
18
28
28
18
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
28
28
18
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 112 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

Hotel Bahia is in beautiful location in between two small sandy bays. Flat easy (half mile) walk to town. Although needs t.l.c. this is a friendly old hotel. Our spacious sea view room had really comfortable aloe vera mattresses on the beds. The recently updated large shower room was very clean with everything we needed. Didn't eat here as we always try different eating establishments. This hotel deserves more guest, we think mainly Spanish stay here. Perhaps if prices were slightly lower it would be more attractive. We are certainly enjoying our relaxing 6 nights here.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank jewelsNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018

Hotel old and in ruins, very uncomfortable and very unpleasant staff. I would avoid spending a single night in this hotel. We had to change the second night because there was too much noise and the hotel did not want to fix it.

Room tip: Avoid this hotel
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank oscargeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

This is possibly where tourism started in Bahia de mazarron? Yes it is old. No it does not have all the modern amenities of a brand new hotel but there is still a market place for it today. It most certainly is not a colditz! It is a family run hotel that has been up and running in this location for many years. It is the best hotel location in Mazarron. Each year they refurbish more of the bedrooms as cashflow and profits allow. It is part of yesteryear but a wonderdul part. Spanish families have been coming here for a few generations now. Hotel does not have a swimming pool but it is right on the most wonderful beach in the area. The food here is wonderful- traditional spanish dishes cooked to perfection. Old styled cooking at its best.
There is graffiti on the perimeter walls by the beach- this happens every summer from over enthusiastic teenagers on holiday. Its not right but it happens! The owner is charming and the staff are lovely. No they do not speak English. They are in Spain in a traditional Spanish resort. English guests here should learn a little Spanish or go to benidorm? ! As u can see I feel quite passionately about this hotel. I have been a guest here over the last 7 years and have always had a wonderdul time.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Kingpaul100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2016

We went to see this hotel as were intrigued by the other reviews....it IS on a beach but the back of the hotel (facing the beach) is covered in graffiti, with cracked concrete steps leading up to the 'beach' bar, which is a concrete terrace closed in with a rusty wire fence with a tatty bamboo shade over the top. All the shutters on the rooms were closed and we thought it had closed for the winter until we saw the sign saying'open all year'! The whole place looked tired and neglected and in need of a serious paint job! When we walked around to the main entrance the gate was half open, rubbish strewn up the street and a couple of people coming down the steps with their bags. We didn't bother going in, we would never stay here anyway. Such a shame as a perfect prime position that with some loving care could be a wonderful place to stay. Maybe they have lost heart as a new 4 star hotel is being built nearby to open April 2017?

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sunlover5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2016

Puerto de Marrazon is a charming coastal village, with beautiful beaches.

I chose Hotel Bahia for a two day trip to celebrate my wifes birthday, as it reminded me of the hotel in the famous film by Jacques Tati "Les vacances de M. Hulot". However, I didn't know at the time that the hotel also had the comedy element from the film.

Despite having received an e-mail from the hotel confirming two days, when we checked in we discovered we were only booked for one night. No amount of arguing with the receptionist with reference to the confirmation could change her opinion that it was impossible to do anything.

We had booked half-board, and the next "shock" was that we had booked half-board expecting (like in avery other hotel we have ever stayed in) that you could choose lunch or dinner as part of the half-board. But bee warned: Half board at Hotel Bahia is breakfast and lunch only - you can't choose dinner.

Well it was lunchtime, so we went into lunch looking forward to a nice buffet lunch, only to find that the lunch choice was "take it or leave it". To drink we ordered "agua con gas" (fizzy water) - and had to break out laughing when we heard that the hotel didn't have fizzy water.

As regards the "take it or leave it" lunch - unfortunately we couldn't take it because my wife has garlic allergy, and the lunch had garlic in it. We asked if the kitchen could make us anything else and the reply was "fish and chips". By this time we were in hysterics - to be offered "fish and chips" at what we thought was a quality hotel was just plain funny. We "negotiated" chicken and salad, rather than fish and chips. The chef was then able to get his revenge by sending us a couple of sorry-looking slices of chicken, and a few chopped up leaves and tomato as a salad. No points for presentation then.

Dessert was melon - and despite having no expectations, when two "lumps" of melon arrived - with, again, no effort at presentation - we have to concede that the restaurant was to be avoided if possible.

Next day we went down to breakfast, with the lowest possible expectations as to what the buffet breakfast would entail. Despite the low expectations, the restaurant surprised us again with what must be the poorest effort at a breakfast buffet we have ever seen.

Thankfully, we could leave after breakfast, and after we had packed and left the room we went down to reception to check out. This time the surprise was that by some "miracle" - and without telling us - our stay had been lengthened to two days after all! How could they not have bothered to tell us?

Anyway, of course we were no longer interested in two days - and continued to check out.

My recommendation is to avoid this hotel completely - they have no idea what they are doing. But if you must stay there, at least avoid the restaurant.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews