We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$135
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
CheapTicketsUS$135
TravelocityUS$135
Orbitz.comUS$135
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,299)
Filter reviews
2,301 results
Traveller rating
576
730
423
250
322
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
576
730
423
250
322
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch awe an open mind single track road stunning views three nights passing places night stay remote location residents lounge short break relaxing break full scottish haggis apartment peat beatrice sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,301 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2020

We stayed at Portsonachan for 3 nights at the end of Sept having purchased the holiday at a Food Fair the previous year. We upgraded in order to have a room with a view over the beautiful Loch Awe. During our 2 week holiday in Scotland (where we originate from) we stayed in 6 different hotels. Portsonachan was the the best but also the worst. It was the best for location - stunning views, magnificent mountains, lovely walks, plus the sighting of a red squirrel - good food, good coffee, excellent homemade shortbread and friendly staff. Unfortunately, due to the following experiences, it was the worst hotel out of the 6 we stayed in - crumpled/creased bedding (wouldn't offer our own guests a bed looking so dishevelled (in fact we doubted if it had actually been changed, however after a discussion with the receptionist this was rectified while we were at dinner); served a bottle of warm white wine and dirty wine glass on our first night; final morning at breakfast encountered congealed yoghurt container lid, sticky apricots container, empty mussel shell evident on floor obviously from previous evening. The last three begs the questions - is thorough cleaning carried out at all? Is there a staff issue? Surely in these current times it is even more important than ever that deep cleaning is done. May we also suggest that less casual (stained in places) attire, but of a higher standard, is worn by the waitresses in line with such a calibre of hotel? Despite their friendliness they would have benefitted hugely by wearing such a 'uniform'. Simple things like that assist in maintaining a hotel's high standard and encourages visitors to return. Perhaps it wouldn't go amiss to train the waiting staff in types of wine as on our first night the waiter thought our request for a bottle of New Zealand Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc was for a bottle of Merlot!! Also white wine does in fact need to be well chilled. In defence of the bar person he ensured that we enjoyed an exceedingly chilled Sauvignon Blanc with our second dinner.
However, having said all of the above, we would consider returning in the future in the hope that a bit of TLC has been carried out to include clearing the gutterings of grass, fern etc. The shortcomings of the hotel was outweighed by the wonderful location and equally wonderful weather!

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R520XTfionak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Portsonachan,

I have spoken to our restaurant manager, and can assure you that re-training has now taken place, I can only apologise, as the service you received, is not our normal standard that we provide.

Our, yearly maintenance programme has been delayed, due to circumstances, we hope to be back on track by the end of November, so apologies for the gutters.

I am very pleased you enjoyed our stunning location and wildlife, and look forward to welcoming you back .

Kind Regards

Liz


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2020

Hotel needed a little updating, main meals were excellent, staff were friendly. Had a lovely open fire and homely feel. The hotel over looked the loch and was wonderful to look at from the restaurant. The addition of highland soap product in the room was a nice touch instead of the basic soaps, hair product normally in other hotels.
Only negative was the very inconsistent service provided at breakfast. Finally by day 3 service was at a proper standard but only because the lovely lady was organised and knew her jog unlike the young lad Who’d served us the previous 2 morning was on his day who was nice enough but didn’t really want to offer more than he had to.
Prior to arrival the hotel communicated there COVID information and rules well.

Overall we would return as the positives outweighed the negative

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Boydie12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2020

We recently stayed in this hotel and as most reviewers state the location is excellent. The hotel/accommodation itself is very tired and certainly needs updating. We bought a voucher at a country fair last year for a 3 night stay but when we tried to book, for some reason, we had to pay extra - not sure why. Our accommodation was one of the small rooms behind the hotel and although comfortable enough it was very basic - two club chairs in the seating area - why not a comfortable sofa? Nothing soft and cosy about it. It was clean and the bed linen was fresh and clean. The smoke alarm kept going off in the middle of our first night there which kept us awake. On reporting this, the receptionist was quite shirty with my husband about not being able to enter the room due to Covid. Nevertheless it seemed to have been sorted out while we were absent. Also there was wet paint in some areas but not signposted so I ended up with blue paint on my coat sleeve but thankfully one of the maintenance men was able to remove it but sadly I smelt of white spirit each time I wore my coat thereafter!

Food was edible and the portions were OK but Sunday roast was a disaster. It was lukewarm at best as was the gravy. It was recommended by the waitress but sadly extremely disappointing. Breakfast was also not great. Were we expecting a full Scottish breakfast - no, but a measly bowl of porridge, croissant and yogurt was rather unexpected and really didn't cut it. Boiled eggs could have been provided easily to give substance.

Free Wi-fi apparently is provided but no service in our room and not great in the main building.!

Staff, apart from one receptionist, appeared friendly but the service was painfully slow!!!

All in all not value for money and I wouldn't consider returning.

Room tip: Not sure but the room we had was not recommendable.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2020

Just returned from a lovely relaxing stay in a one bedroom lodge. We loved the quiet, calm setting and view from our lodge. Our favourite part of the day was our early morning walks along the loch shore - sunset wasn’t at all bad either.
Staff at hotel were very friendly and couldn’t do enough to ensure our stay was excellent. There was a lot on offer from the hotel from their excellent eat in, eat on the terrace (with outdoor terrace heaters) or takeaway menu to fishing, boat trips and loads of helpful information about walking in the area.
We will return and would definitely recommend a stay here!

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stuartshelaghwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review, I have past your comments on to the staff, as they really appreciate positive comments.
"Haste ye back"
Kind Regards
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2020

We probably wouldn't have booked this if we had looked at reviews beforehand. We did look at a few before we went and our expectations weren't high.
There are good things about this hotel - the location is fantastic - right on the shore of Loch Awe - the views across the loch, particularly in the atmospheric autumn weather were beautiful.
Unfortunately, the disappointment starts when you check in - the receptionist was brusque with us. There is no lift so we had to carry our bags upstairs and the room was just about acceptable. One of the towels left out for us had a large stain on it and the towels themselves were rather small. The breakfast was fine but a bit disorganised - they ran out of tables on the first morning. We had to get a bowl or cup on the table changed each morning - we couldn't understand how you can lay a table with crockery that obviously isn't clean.
Access to the hotel is by a three mile single track road (with passing places) - the hotel itself doesn't seem worth it when you get there.
It seemed such a pity that it is like this - with a bit of TLC and better staff, this could be a wonderful place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank JonathanA0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2020

Dear Jonathan,
Thank you for posting your review, I was very disappointed to read your review, and very surprised you did not receive a warm welcome, as reading all other reviews the majority praise our staff and state how friendly and welcoming they all are.
Unfortunately, we do not have a lift and due to Covid we are no longer able to offer help with your baggage. I am not sure what you mean by "ran out of tables" as we are no longer allowed to set table for breakfast, but bring your items to you once you are seated.
So pleased you enjoyed the location and appreciated our wonderful views.
I do hope if you are ever in the area again, you will re visit and allow me the opportunity to restore your confidence in Portsonachan
Kind Regards
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews