We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely space in a beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Neuk

River Neuk is an historic building, part of the original Armstrong Estate dating back to 1890
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River Neuk is an historic building, part of the original Armstrong Estate dating back to 1890
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
River Neuk is an historic building, part of the original Armstrong Estate dating back to 1890
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
All the equipment, crockery and cutlery you could possibly need for your self catering holiday.
All the equipment, crockery and cutlery you could possibly need for your self catering holiday.
All the equipment, crockery and cutlery you could possibly need for your self catering holiday.
The Master Bedroom has a stylish double bed, wardrobes and chest of drawers
The second bedroom is a twin and has a single and a large day bed.
The extremely well equipped kitchen includes all modern appliances and a slimline dishwasher
River Neuk is deceptively spacious with it's large entrance hallway
The outside space is landscaped and provides a lovely spot to sit and enjoy the sunshine.
The outside space is landscaped and provides a lovely spot to sit and enjoy the sunshine.
River Neuk offers a small secure courtyard, ideal for letting the dog out and increased security.
Plenty of games, cards, DVDs and even a Wii Games Console to entertain the kids!
The stunning riverside views & children's play area - less than a minute walk from River Ne
The beautiful Village centre of Rothbury, River Neuk is just yards from here.
With local views like this River Neuk is the perfect base to discover the Heart of Northumberland.
Great country pubs nearby, with great views from the beer gardens!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RuthC2937
1 review
“A lovely space in a beautiful location”
Reviewed July 28, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

I was delighted with our stay at River Neuk. The house was spotless and had everything we needed for our break in Northumberland. We would happily have stayed for another week in such a lovely place. Rothbury itself is a really pretty town with everything you need, and the house is right in the centre, tucked away off the Main Street. We couldn’t have asked for a better base for exploring beautiful Northumberland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2018
"I just wanted to say a big thank you Ruth for taking the time to review our holiday home. We really value our guests feedback so it was lovely to hear you had everything you needed during your stay and would happily have stayed longer. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime to River Neuk in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 27, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Thank you for your "fabulous" review of River Neuk. It looks like you take the time to leave feedback on many places you visit so it is great to hear you speak so highly of our holiday home. We always try to make our guests feel as much at home a possible and provide everything we can think of to do that so we very much appreciate your lovely comments. Hopefully you will return to visit us in the future so we will be able to welcome you again to River Neuk.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Curiosity...
1 review
“Warm, comfortable and excellent location”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Clean and well equipped, comprehensive information and a welcome hamper on arrival to get your stay off to a relaxing start. Charming quiet riverside and very convenient location in the centre of Rothbury, itself a good place to stay in Northumbria.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review of your stay at River Neuk in April we really appreciate that. It is great to hear you appreciated my welcome hamper on arrival and loved the location of the property which is as you say in a quiet location even though it is in the centre of the village. We would love to welcome you again to our holiday home in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaeaton...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful stay”
Reviewed December 24, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We enjoyed the most wonderful stay at River Neuk for my husbands birthday. The cottage is beautiful, warm and cosy, full of character. It’s in the heart of Rothbury so a perfect location for exploring and enjoying the local pubs. What made our stay extra special was that every last detail had been considered, the fire and lights on for our arrival, the beautiful welcome hamper and the thought that had gone into making a short stay so enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Thank you so much for leaving your review following your short break at River Neuk in December for your husbands birthday. My sincere apologies for not responding to you before now. It was so nice to hear you had such a lovely time. We really love to make our holiday home as cosy as possible for our guests throughout the year but especially during the festive period and always have the Christmas tree with lights and decorations up to make everyone feel as much at home as possible at this time of year. Many thanks again for your feedback we very much appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Many thanks for the brilliant review of your stay in Rothbury. It is great to hear you had everything you wanted from your holiday and loved the area. Thank you also for your recommendation to others. We would love to welcome you again and hope to see you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Extraordi...
1 review
“Heaven”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Perfect location in the heart of this beautiful market town. The river was a few steps away...a wide tarmac path runs along the river into the countryside. Great for those morning runs!
Plenty of shops...bakers, butchers, pubs and cafes . Within short drive was Alnwick and Morpeth...larger towns. The coast/ beaches are amazing.

The property was exceptional. Spotless well equipped accommodation that we certainly will be visiting again...and I am fussy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your heavenly review! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such great comments about the property, the village and surrounding area. We are also thrilled you thought River Neuk was exceptional and you would choose to visit us again. It would be our absolute pleasure to have you as our guests if you visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Lesle...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely home from home”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

River Neuk is a delightful, clean, comfortable, home from home country retreat. On entering you immediately felt at home and soon realise there is everything you could possible want, the owners have paid attention to detail to make it so. A thoughtful welcome hamper and fresh flowers are a lovely touch. Tucked away in the centre of Rothbury with everything you need on the doorstep, a hidden gem. We would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work hard to try and make sure our guests have a good experience at River Neuk so we are thrilled to hear you found it a home from home. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and would definitely choose to return again. Thank you again for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing