We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“spacious, central to Rothbury but very quiet”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Diane M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“spacious, central to Rothbury but very quiet”
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again. It's spacious and comfortable. The owner lives around the corner and was very helpful. Great location for walking in the Cheviots and visiting tourist spots. Only two points where it wasn't so good, the sofas in the lounge have seen better days and had become rather lumpy & hard. The flat had massive space throughout except for the one place where you all gather to eat - the kitchen diner was rather small, 4 adults would find it a squeeze and some of the kitchen equipment was getting a bit tired. Don't want to let these points detract from an otherwise very good apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Apartment Style Cottage”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cottage is an excellent apartment style cottage with everything on the same floor. You have a staircase from the front door and therein is. We liked the en suite in addition to the bathroom. It is well equipped with a huge range cooker and the dining in the kitchen. We enjoyed our stay and the owner was very welcoming and there was a cake, milk and fruit waiting for us - a nice surprise. We would definitely stay here again.

Rothbury has very friendly people and we were welcomed in the shops and pubs as if we were locals. The walking in the area was good, particularly the Simonside hills. All in all a great weeks break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael C
1 review
“Amazing retreat”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

From the moment we arrived we knew we would love the place. Alison made us feel so welcome, and the flat was just beautiful. The rooms were all spacious and homely, bright and clean. The balcony and enclosed patio garden were lovely for sitting out and enjoying the sun - a real sun trap. The beds were comfortable, and the jet shower and spa bath were wonderful. I felt completely relaxed and refreshed after a week in the flat.

The flat itself is situated perfectly, with just a short walk into Rothbury centre where the shops provide everything you need for a stay. A short walk in the other direction leads you to a picturesque walk along the river, where my 4 year old daughter was delighted to discover a small play area.

This flat is perfect, and extremely well cared for. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury retreat”
Reviewed April 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Spent a week in April at Coquet Retreat in Rothbury. This luxury apartment was ideal for us, it's well designed and has some nice additional touches, like a spa bath, jet shower and range cooker. Probably not best suited to someone who needs wheelchair access due to stairs and steps within the apartment. Rothbury is also a great Base for exploring Northumberland, being centrally located and having a number of good pubs, restaurants/cafes and food shops. It's also very close to Cragside house and gardens and half an hour from Alnwick with its castle and garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay at Coquet Retreat, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay there. It sounds like you got out and about to explore much of what the area has to offer, and how wonderful to return to your luxury 'home' for the week! We are glad you enjoyed it. We certainly hope that you return very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann B
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The owners of this lovely apartment have thought of everything you could possibly need to make your stay here as comfortable as possible. It is equipped and furnished to the highest of standards. Located in a charming small friendly town and ideally situated for visiting the many attractions of Northumberland. We would definately stay here again if we return for another visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnc174
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at Coquet Retreat For one week but wish it had been longer. The cottage was everything we wanted and more. The furnishings and fittings were all first class and since the weather was good it was lovely to have breakfast and a drink on an evening on the balcony .The parking on the road outside was difficult but to us posed no problem as the owner allowed us to park in their yard just round corner off the road and this was preferable to us. The cottage was amazingly central with a good pub(queens head) butchers bakers and lovely little tea room(harleys) literally a couple of minutes walk away and many other shops and eating places within easy reach. With plenty of attractions around we had a really good holiday and will be back..Finally thank you Mrs Stewart you were brilliant and your cottage was probably the best we have ever stayed in.We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole thing was great
Liked least: n/a since we liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ever0ptim...
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent appartment, well located to explore Northumberland”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of April. The apartment is well located for exploring both Rothbury and the rest of Northumbria. It was clean and comfortable with more than enough space for all of us. Kitchen just right, lovely bathrooms and a comfortable lounge. Would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing