We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Malt House

Exterior of The Malt House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of The Malt House
The light and airy sitting room has seating for five guests and has an LCD tv with satellite The light and airy sitting room has seating for five guests and has an LCD tv with satellite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Exterior of The Malt House
The light and airy sitting room has seating for five guests and has an LCD tv with satellite
The light and airy sitting room has seating for five guests and has an LCD tv with satellite
The modern kitchen is the perfect place to cook up a meal with its gas hob and double oven
The modern kitchen is the perfect place to cook up a meal with its gas hob and double oven
Sit and enjoy breakfast or an evening meal in the dining area
The master bedroom has a double bed and built in wardrobes
The master bedroom has a double bed and built in wardrobes
The second bedroom is a bright, stylish twin room.
The second bedroom is a bright, stylish twin room.
The third bedroom with views to the rear towards the River Coquet
Modern bathroom with shower
Riverside Walks, right on the doorstep of The Malthouse
Village Centre, Rothbury
Market Square, Rothbury
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tynewater...
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for two weeks and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is extremely well equped,presented and situated in the charming town of Rothbury. Northumberland is a wonderful place to explore and Rothbury provides an excellent central base from which to do so.
It was lovely to have an outside area to sit and relax,plenty of room in the house to spread out and a great kitchen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern facilities and light and bright decor
Liked least: No issues
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely property with all you could need for an enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We booked the Malt House as we were visiting family in the local area.

To our surprise, we were met with a bottle of wine and a cake!

The property is well equipped and beautifully decorated. It also had internet access which was a bonus.

It is perfectly suited for exploring the local area and is a 1 min walk to the local Co-op. There are several local pubs/restaurants to explore, none more than about a 5 minute walk away. The river runs right behind the property and the walks along the towpath are delightful.

We had our toddler with us and it was an added bonus to find a high chair and footstool to make our stay easier.

All in all a most pleasant visit and we would definitely book again when we return to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMc7378
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home in a great location!”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 3 adults and 2 children stayed in this accommodation over the October half term break 2014 for 5 nights whilst visiting key sites local to the cottage in Northumbria.

We had a lovely time. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a welcome bottle of wine and chocolate cake which was a lovely touch. The cottage had all the modern amenities required for a self-catering stay, and was conveniently located in the centre of the lovely village of Rothbury, with only a 2 minute walk to the local convenience store, and a choice of several delightful village pubs.

Lovely walks into the countryside are just on the doorstep and the cottage is within easy reach of local attractions such as Alnwick Castle (15 minutes max) and Seahouses (for the seal cruise) and Holy Island to name a few.

Highly recommended and we will certainly return should we wish to visit Northumbria again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location - in the village but in a lovely quiet location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful holiday let, excellent welcome pack, ideal location. Perfect for couples or families. Very close to local amenities. Modern, clean and well furnished. Perfect price, would recommend and come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon D
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage - great location”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A very nice cottage with all the amenities literally on your doorstep. The perfect location from which to explore Northumberland. I would recommend the cottage with out hesitation.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald T
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect holiday home from home”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Malt House is conveniently situated right in the heart of Rothbury but so quiet and peaceful. Beautifully clean, spacious, lovely decor, sunny, private patio area for sitting and al fresco meals, everything provided that you could possibly need plus lots of unexpected extras. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot recommend it too highly. We'd love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt w
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home feel in this beautiful market town”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you're looking for a central base in a small market town set amongst the beauty of Northumberland, then look no further. David & Susan's accommodation is great for a family break. I stayed with wife, child and mother in law and Springer Spaniel. We enjoyed the small town using all the shops, amenities, pubs etc. The Bank Holiday fair was wonderfully low key and local. The river walk is wonderful and our Springer Spaniel loved swimming in it. The vale of Coquet is fantastic for walking and exploring. We toured the Coast, the dales, and Hadrian's Wall.

The cottage is warm and cosy, the facilities are great, the peace and quiet is to die for. Our Springer sulked when we came home at the lack of pheasants and rabbits to stalk. David sorted out a minor problem straight away despite being in France! All mod cons, plenty of room - even passed the 'have they got egg-cups?' test.

Stay again? Most definitely. Stay longer? Most definitely. Move in? we could easily have!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: can't think of anything ...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$496
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing