We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
91
17
17
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
17
17
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel private pool sri lanka luxurious facilities beautiful garden hotel manager lounge chairs south coast highly recommend this place a great place to stay safari trip short drive great pool mosquito net packed breakfast our honeymoon national park
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 133 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Beautiful garden, direct access to the beach which is absolutely stunning. Staff is very friendly and the food is local and amazing. What else do you need for a perfect holiday? :) I highly recommend this place for couples as well as families who are after unique experiences.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdaniel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018

We arrived and were met with warmth, good to walk on the beach and then swim in the pool and had a really good evening meal . Early start next day for Yala so no breakfast but packed lunch so that was helpful. On return our room hadn't been touched perhaps we had not understood to put a sign up! Ok Room was fine shower OK. Evening meal again fine but service sporadic. Then we needed to be off next morning & breakfast was so slow we ended up rushing off. Could be the perfect boutique hotel but sadly it isn't.

Room tip: Ground floor rooms with balcony were comforatable.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Old60timer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018

We stayed here for two nights in the room with the private pool. As we had paid a lot for this two night stay and was our most expensive hotel in Sri Lanka we expected a 4 star hotel experience. What we got was the worst service we had in Sri Lanka and the hotel is def not more than a three star accommodation. The room we stayed in with the private pool - first shock the bathroom is outdoor! Loads of mosquitos flying around when you trying to take a shower and the toilet is under open air so you can't even use it when it was raining one night! There are no facilities in the room e.g. The fridge was empty no mini bar, there is no kettle, no amnesties at all that you would expect from a 4 star. The sheets were dirty had bloodstains? There were loads of lizards crawling into the room from the open bathroom and cockroaches. There were so many ants in the bathroom I would only go when I really had to. And the service was appalling the staff doesn't care and do not want to be there - the food is below average. Save your monies and stay at a cheaper and probably better hotel! The private pool was ok but small. I was tanning topless by the private pool and someone from the staff just stuck their head over the wall to grab the pool net cleaner! Imagine my surprise at this! Def don't stay here AVOID!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amita S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018

Honestly, I'm still torn about how I feel regarding this resort. I'm not even sure if this should be considered a resort. This hotel needs to be re-done. It looks like it was a good hotel that completely fell into disrepair. Majority of the pictures on the website and this site are outdated (just like the resort). The pool was fine and the beach isn't as pictured at all. There are no lounge chairs and the beach is bare. We took advantage of the lack of people on the beach and it seemed like we were the only ones ever on there. There's nothing else in the area to go to or see except to arrange a safari trip. The rooms were bright and airy with the nice balcony that overlooked the back of the resort. You can only see the ocean from the second floor rooms and it's a small view at best. Our room was comfortable over all and was cleaned every day. The showers and bathroom on the other hand were a bit gross and looked like they weren't kept up with. Now the most disappointing aspects were the non-existent staff and food. It appeared that there were only a handful of people on the resort to take care of the front and back of house operations. Food was scarce and you had to look for someone to assist you. The staff barely spoke English and couldn't assist with basic needs. We made the best of our experience, but wouldn't recommend others to stay here unless it's for one night. It meets the basic needs for a traveler and nothing more.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LuckyGirl0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018

When we came to the hotel it looked great. The room was lovely just as the pool, which was lucky since the beach outside was beautiful but unsuitable for swimming.
The main reason for staying att Nikara was a full day safari in Yala, and that's where the trouble started. The safari was fixed by the hotel. We knew we would ge a breakfast package, but wondered about lunch. So we asked specifically about that and got the answer that lunch would be provided.
When we got up early the next morning, noone in the staff was awake, we had to wake them up to get our breakfast, which made us at least half an hour late. And when it was time for a compulsary two hour lunch break there was no lunch. We just had to sit there hungry and watch while other companies where served by their drivers. And coming back to the hotel we found that our room hadn't been cleaned.
I know mistakes can happen, for different reasons, but the hotel, when confronted, refused to take any responsibility or offer any compensation. They denied having said that lunch would be provided, and said that customers didn't want that. (But then they could have told us to fix lunch some other way - I refuse to believe that people normally don't eat anything between 6 am and 4 pm.) And the excuse for not cleaning the room was that they didn't go into rooms without explicit permission from the guests. (But why then didn't they ask?)
So, we left the hotel with a very negative impression - especially since Nikara is supposed to be a high class hotel.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Fredrikro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews