We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
54
37
14
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
37
14
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water claire coast waves oaxaca breeze
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 113 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2017

I echo the sentiments expressed in some reviews of this place. Beautiful location right on the beach but the host David is rude and extremely unwelcoming. I never figured it out but I suspect he either can't speak English or hates people that do. Be warned that the owners will hound you to pay the balance and soon as you arrive. San Agustnillo is an amazing place to chill out but if I had my time again I would have stayed somewhere else in town where the owners are more hospitable. The pizza place two doors down is awesome as are the garlic prawns at Restaurante Paraiso del Pescador. Make sure to bring cash as the ATM in Mazunte is very temperamental – it wouldn't accept my Australian-issued card so I had to do a mission to Pochutla. Safe travels!

Room Tip: On the beach, DUH.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2017

We spent three nights at Cabanas Punta Placer during a recent three week touring holiday in Mexico. We chose Punta Placer at San Agustinillo as a place to relax after the first week and stayed in a ground floor bungalow with a great view. Very friendly and helpful staff and a nice little resort to explore in the evening. Got out on boat trip to see dolphins and whales and enjoyed the snorkelling. Wonderful and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieImeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2017

We spent four nights at the Cabanas Punta Placer in San Agustinillo. an eight room complex right on the beach. We had an upstairs spacious room in a rounded duplex that suited us perfectly. The rom was spacious and it was steps from the beach. It’s a more lively scene than our previous two stops, right off the beachfront road that runs from Puerto Angel, past Zipolite, San Agustinillo and Mazunte before connecting back to 200. It’s currently managed by two happy french Canadian ladies, who, with the staff, cheerfully tended to all needs and questions. It’s right on a small cove with fishing launches sallying forth from either side.

Next door, La Termita, has excellent pizza and an uplifting beat. A few doors down, El Mora is an excellent breakfast choice for food and attitude. A couple young guys take orders and pass them to the female cooks, always saying, emphatically, “por favor”. Exemplary behavior bringing a congenial atmosphere to the entire enterprise. Live & learn, and hit the Sand Bar, on the same side of the road for drinks.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank avlautin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2017

Hotel Punta Placer is great for its location, it's right on the beach. The staff (Manon and Oscar) is very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are cozy and well-designed. However a few things worth noting: the sofa bed barely fits a child, there is a lot of noise due street traffic, and most concerning is the fact that right next door to the hotel is a shark finning operation. Ugh, so much for being an "ecological" village.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank pacomacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2016

We had the family room with 3 beds on two levels and kitchenette potential. Mattresses not great but clean and good mosquito nets. Claire very pleasant. Oscar was running the food and.bar and he was always helpful. Beach was beautiful, clean, quiet after the holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hensleightreefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews