We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
62
56
14
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
56
14
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the location is perfect few minutes walk good size well equipped kitchen swimming pool reception staff on arrival bakery harbour supermarket apartment accommodation balcony
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 143 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2018

This is our second year holidaying here and we could not be happier. The location is centrally located so that Vueltas, La Puntilla and Playa María are almost equidistant and just a pleasant sea-side walk away. You also have a supermarket, a chemist, a gym, a bakery and toy and clothes shop in the same building. It's minutes from the beach (La Puntilla or Charco del Conde are the closest) but you also have a swimming pool if you fancy a bit of exercise after the beach. It's also child-friendly, our four-year-old loves the little pool for splashing about safely (the sea in VGR can be qutie rough). The apartments are large, with a fully equipped kitchen, a balcony and a living room with an additional sofa bed and television. This means that after the beach, you have a lovely place to relax in until wandering off in the evening again. Cleaning is regular and the reception staff could not be friendlier. We can see ourselves returning here again and again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

On arrival there was a little confusion over the booking -our fault, we had extra guests. The boy on reception was lovely and sorted everything out for us. This is a very well kept resort and the tropical gardens are beautiful making it feel like a little oasis, the trees always provide a bit of shade at the pool. The apartments are large and very well equipped - but no kettle for tea. It is so peaceful but on your doorstep is a nice cafe/pizza place which was great, supermarket...everything and only a few minutes walk to either the harbour or the rock pools which were fantastic. I can't wait to go back....

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017

We have travelled to Valle Gran Rey before and love it. Our apartment, number 17, was well equipped and large. However, despite requesting a first floor apartment through the company we used and emailing directly, we were allocated number 17 on the ground floor. I accept that properties cannot guarantee requests, but this apartment is underneath a permanent resident in the block. We were subjected to a lot of noise, in particular, the resident's young children running around above us at an early hour.
We asked to be moved but were told that was not possible, despite us seeing other apartments being vacated. I am also saddened to say that cleaning was poor. What we got was someone (very nice!) vaguely sweeping the floors, sometimes making the beds, but not always, and leaving us loo roll. I think we may have been at the end of their cleaning list. It didn't help that the cleaner's bins and storage was outside our apartment.
On the positive, the pool is a good size, close to a decent supermarket as well as a local produce shop, the Vueltas Harbour and several lovely restaurants. It is only 10 minutes walk from Valle Gran Rey's centre. The views from the pool are wonderful. However, a lot of this was marred because we were subjected to so much noise.
Would I book this accommodation again? Definitely not. We were disappointed.

Room tip: Avoid number 17
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DZB148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017

The best thing about these apartments is the location, slap bang in the centre of Valle Gran Rey, close to the harbour at Vueltas and a short stroll to La Playa and Le Puntilla.

There are loads of restaurants within a few minutes walk as well as bars and shops, including a well stocked "Spar" and a lovely little bakery.

The actual apartments whilst immaculately clean and tidy are really a little disappointing. Decor wise they are quite bland, with everything painted a neutral beige colour with light wood fittings and furniture. The kitchen area whilst roomy was poorly stocked in comparison with other apartments we have rented. Just the basics of crockery, cutlery and glassware with a couple of saucepans. No chopping board or kettle, just an Italian coffee pot and a filter coffee machine for which you had to go out and buy some filters if you wanted to use it. Certainly no slat, pepper, sugar, vinegar or oil left for you either, so if you wanted to cook you needed to go to the Spar and purchase everything.

Our double bed was in fact two singles put together which proved rather annoying as the bedding was tightly tucked down the centre. The bathroom was fine but again no complementary toiletries apart from the usual miniture bar of soap in a wrapper.

We were on the ground floor so had a little garden rather than a balcony which had a table and two chairs and a washing line.

I found the Wi-Fi poor for a modern apartment block. The log-in and password were over complex and every time you left the room the connection cut out and you had to log in again.

The grounds on the other hand are lovely with a large pool and plenty of sun loungers, parasols, chairs and tables. The pool was open 8:00am to 8:00pm with an attendant on duty throughout the day. Pool towels are available for hire for a 10 Euro deposit which you get back when you leave. In fact if truth be known the staff looked after the pool and the gardens better than they did the guests! Apart from the aforementioned pool attendant the only staff you saw was the rather surly receptionist that sat at the front desk. When we checked out we were never asked if everything had been okay, if we needed a taxi calling and didn't even get an Adios when we walked away.

These apartments could be wonderful given the position and the lovely grounds but they feel sterile and bland and do nothing to add to your holiday. If we return to Valle Gran Rey I think we'll look elswhere.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Rich53y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2017

A well located aparthotel. Many, many good restaurants in east reach and the beach is less than 5 minutes walk. The two bed apartment was of a very good size and very comfortable. The Wifi is very good, too. Great blackout curtains

Room tip: Two bed apartments are very roomy
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews