We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Belgian food, lovely chef ”
Review of Bebirgu

Bebirgu
Price range: US$2 - US$23
Cuisines: Belgian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: BeBirgu is the completely renovated bar & bistro of the San Lawrenz Band Club located at the market square of the historical Citta of Birgu/Vittoriosa. BeBirgu is open every day from 7 AM till late. We welcome you in the charming indoor bar & restaurant of the Band Club Palazzo or on our nice terrace on the Courtyard. We have an extensive drinks & wine card and offer a variety of breakfast, lunch & dinner options (please make a reservation). The Chef is happy to discuss personally all your wishes as he is happy to 'cook like you wish'. We also cater for groups & parties.
Reviewed March 22, 2016 via mobile

Had the veal stew and the chicken vol au vent. Both were very good and the presentation was lovely. For dessert we shared a mousse which was freshly prepared on request. Would definitely recommend it. The chef is a lovely chap and the prices are very reasonable.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank SilvioS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 557 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2016 via mobile

Great Belgian cuisine & food in a transformed local band club! Courteous Chef & staff! Highly recommended..

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

We were wandering round the harbour side & streets of Birgu when we stumbled on the main square. There are a few cafes with outside tables but the owner of Bebirgu invited us in to look around without obligation. We stopped for drinks in the relaxing inner courtyard. Very atmospheric, lovely decor and rooms. Locals playing in the snooker tables. Very warm, friendly & welcoming. Lovely dancehall music in the background. Light lunches & meals looked superb. Great bar with range of beers.

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank 78alanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2016

If you are in Birgu with its a must, food, beer, staff very helpful and friendly. Go visit..its in the square and open all day.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leighoneill43
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016

Dropped in for a light lunch after the Inquisitors Palace and it was so good we called in again while walking back to the ferry from Fort Rinella. In fact the ferry had stopped, but the No 4 bus terminus is in front of the restaurant.
A charming welcoming host, excellent freshly cooked food at reasonable prices. The steak turned out to be two large pieces of fillet, cooked as requested. Outside tables, outside balcony in the main square or charming, quiet, sheltered inner courtyard.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shmoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Bebirgu also viewed

Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
 

Been to Bebirgu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.