We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Place

Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October) Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October)
Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Facade
Facade
Facade
Eat in kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Your Host - Alfred Fino
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
flick86
wrexham
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just returned from two glorious weeks spent in Alfie's apartment. What a gem, everything was perfect.

Alfie was a great host, picking us up as arranged and always available if needed. He even picked us up at 4am for our flight home.

The apartment was clean,tidy with modern facilities set in a lovely side street. It had everything require.

We have been going to Malta for 20 years, but felt this time it was the true maltease experience, just what we have been looking for.

Thank you Alfie for everything and I am sure we will see you again.

Marilyn and John

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thank you for your kind words, It was Lovely having you and glad you truly enjoyed your stay. Thank you for leaving the place spotless and I look fwd to see you back In Birgu in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sueb56201...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Easter break”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just got back from a short break of four nights. The house is in a superb location, near to everything you need. When we arrived Alfie showed us around. We had hired a car from the airport so rang ahead and Alfie sorted a car parking permit for us.

The house was in a lovely street with really friendly and helpful neighbours. The house has everything you need. Alfie provided tea, coffee, milk, bottled water, bread, cheese, ham, fruit, toilet roll which was a great touch. You do however need to bring a bath towel as only hand towels are provided. You also need to get used to the lack of natural light in these houses.

Cafe du Brazil in the square did great full English breakfasts for less than £4. The restaurants on the harbour front were excellent.

We had a great time and are looking forward to trying Alfie's other house. Thank you and see you soon. Sue and Hannah.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay, Look fwd to see you again possibly in the other place......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldie74
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique experience of Malta”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A fortnight at Alfie's Place in Birgu was a unique experience for us. It was an opportunity to be inserted into both the history and present of the community not only architecturally but also by participating in daily life as if this were home.
The photos of the property are very honest so you do not arrive with false expectations. One detail not shown was the presence of a strong hand rail right up the staircase which was very welcome to me as I have osteo-arthritis. The uneven surfaces of the stone floors and the streets outside are not really a problem even for someone with relatively restricted mobility so long as there is plenty of time to look around as well as to look down. Looking around is so important as there is so much to see and appreciate. Even the sad appearance of many of the old buildings is a reminder of the people's sufferings during the war and also the need for regenerating the economy and redistributing wealth today. All the "three cities" are worth spending time exploring on foot and with camera or sketch-book and it is so easy to do from this location.
Buses are handy and easily reached. There is no need to head into Valetta if you don't wish to do so to catch buses. Changes that we found handy could take place at Paula, Marsa Park and Ride (where there is also a useful LIdl if you are self-catering), the airport and Mater Dei to which all buses seem to find their way at some point. Not all bus stops are shown on the walking maps unfortunately so we ended accepting a "taxi" lift once when a bus stop had been quite close without our knowing it. Hopefully this is an addition that the tourist board will make to their maps in the future. The development of walking trails and ecological tourism is still in its infancy and is well worth encouraging because Malta has a number of unique ecosystems that are well worth exploring.
The regular water ferry to Valetta is also useful if you need to visit that more frequently. We used it a few times only. If you pay for only one crossing to Valetta do make sure you get a ticket otherwise you will have to pay for the lift up to the gardens in addition whereas it is included in the ferry fare. (Not our problem but one we saw another lady experiencing).
A major excursion we took was to Sicily to visit Mt Etna.This was a long hard day's travel but if your time is limited in this part of the Mediterranean then it is a worthwhile trip to make. It also offers some parallels and contrasts with the development of the sister islands. Like all the "overview" tours they are not the best value for money but sometimes this is all you have time for.
Our visit to Comino was so much more interesting than merely seeing the blue lagoon but we were also lucky to be there with relatively few tourists and only a few brave dippers. Malta offers such a range of options for discovery and exploration that it would be a very blinkered tourist who did not find something to interest them. The walk round Kinkara brought us to Smart City which must be the ultimate contrast to historic Malta or package tourism though only just beginning to take shape.
Like all his other guests, it would be impossible to write a review and not to mention the efforts of Alfie to ensure that we had the kind of holiday we wished. From the meeting at the airport to our departure again 14 days later we felt welcomed and supported but never overwhelmed. Alfie is such a superb advert for Maltese generosity and hospitality. He really enjoys people and wants them to be happy and, of course, he loves his home and wants visitors to share his love. He now has another property in Birgu which remains in the old city but offers a little more space and comfort. "Alfie at the Alley" offers an inviting call for a return visit. It took quite a bit of getting used to the need to exclude most of the natural light from the house rather than to maximise it, as we do in Scotland, but it was so good to return to what became "our own stepped street" each evening after a good day out and to sense the stability and history of the stone. Thank you Alfie and thank you Malta for a unique experience.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank for such detailed review and attention to detail about Malta. It was an absolute Pleasure Having you & your Daughter, I certainly hope to see you again in the future, Thank you ones again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcia-pe...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home in Malta”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have just spent a week at Alfie's Place in Burgu, March 7th to 14th. it was unusually cold for the time of year,but the warmth of the hospitality of the people more than made up for it.The house is cosy and ideally situated for exploring Malta. A short walk to the bus stop and it takes 30 minutes to Valletta. A short walk to the ferry and it takes 10 minutes to cross the harbour. Burgu is a really interesting place in itself with churches,museums,and the marina.Lots of little places to eat and drink. A favourite of ours was Caf''e du Brazil with Jo sorting out our breakfast. Just 200 yards away down the street, D'Centre Bar was great for dinner and drinks. Last but best of all was Alfie, who is a great bloke to spend time with, and makes sure you have everything you need.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
Thank you for the write and much appreciated, always glad to know you enjoyed your stay, I will certainly Pass your comments to Jo at Cafe du Brazil, she will Love it, I will also Pass your comments to Renald & Chris at dCenter including others you meet in there. Hope to see you again in future. Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric F
1 review
“Thanks Alfie!”
Reviewed March 24, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Perfect! can't think of one negative comment to make. Lovely quiet situation in the winding streets of the Old Town, Alfie is the perfect host. As this was our first time in Malta we asked him to pick us up from the airport. He took us on a mini tour of Birgu and showed us all the important things we needed to know and gave us a lot of local knowledge. Nothing was too much trouble. Once again THANKS ALFIE

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
Nothing gives more please than a satisfied Visitors, glad you enjoyed it and love to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndon C
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ALFIES PLACE IS THE BEST PLACE TO FIND THE REAL MALTA”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I could not start this review without firstly singing the praises of Alfie himself ! The man is a legend ! nothing was to much trouble, from finding a local jeweller to repair my wife's ring to arranging a bunch of flowers to be on the kitchen table for my wife when she walked in. The most honest and genuine man you will ever meet !
THANK YOU ALFIE !!
The house itself is a gem, compact with everything you could possibly need. A traditional Maltese home set in a side street just off the main square where "if they don't sell it you don't need it" !
You must try the De-Centre Bar and Restaurant which can be found in the main square, it has excellent food and great prices (just don't order a starter and main course the portions are enormous) !
you can with ease get anywhere on the island by using the very good bus services (6.50 Euros for a 7day pass) or catch the 10 minute water ferry from the harbour, just off the main square which will take you Valletta.
We have been going to Malta for 20 years and can honestly say this was the best holiday we have ever had a true local Maltese experience away from the tourist hustle and bustle !

would we book again I hear you ask !
YES !!
already booked two weeks in October 2015 !

SEE YOU SOON ALFIE AND FREINDS !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locals are very very frendly !
Liked least: I cannot think of one thing we did not like !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2015
Thank you for such a great write up and knowing you had the best trip in Twenty years is a great satisfaction in itself. I will be looking forward to welcoming you back in October for one of the City's Biggest days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashir...
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

What a fantastic 2 weeks we have just spent in Alfies Place a beautiful Maltese House full of character equipped with everything you need clean tidy and Alfie the owner even left us some food etc in the fridge to get us through the 1st day. Alfie the owner is fantastic nothing is too much trouble he`s there at the drop of a hat if you need assistance I have been going to Malta for the last 20 years and this by far as been the best holiday yet. Alfie introduced us to the local community where we were staying and the local amenities and everyone was so friendly we felt very much not a tourist but a local it was so good we are staying again same place in October for 2 weeks would recommend Alfie`s Place is FANTASTIC

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
Thank you for you kind words & glad I superseded your last 20 years lol, You have been missed at dcentre, & Look forward to see again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing