We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ice Ice Baby” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiral Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Admiral Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ice Ice Baby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

NIce clean modern hotel with really picturesque view situated about 30 minutes ride from Dubrovnik. Rooms very comfortable, and breakfast was great.
Having said that, they charge for ice! I needed some ice packs for my blistered toe and this so called 5 star hotel charged me 15 kunas (= a bottle of beer). Maybe I'm ignorant of the traditions in the Eastern part of the Europe, but never in my +15 years of business and holiday travel in Asia, North America, and Western Europe did I ever see a case where you get charged for ice. Don't 5 star hotels usually stuff your ice buckets for you whether you want it or not? Even the cheap motels in America offer all you can get ice! I thought ice was commodity - seems like it's a valuable in Croatia.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yhc218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    104
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
90
206
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Hotel and service was excellent. We will come next year definitly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SanyBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

An incredibly well-maintained hotel in an extremely picturesque location, spotlessly clean with nice furnishings, exceptional atmosphere, very, very attentive staff and very, very tasty food. A perfect spot for pure relaxation, as well as exploring the region.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nubijska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel deserves every one of its five stars. this ultra chic ultra sleek hotel is positively luxurious with attentive, friendly staff and all the amenities one could wish for. Breakfast is a feast, delectable with plenty of choices, hot and cold,on a par with other well-known 5 star hotels.The setting right by the lake is peaceful and serene.Whether you stay for a couple of days or a fortnight,you are guaranteed to come away relaxed and revived.The hotel offers all treatments at the spa and the indoor, outdoor pools are truly inviting.The rooms are beautifully appointed with fantastic bedding!!!!
Only 30 minutes from Dubrovnik, with a bustop just outside the hotel, do not take your car and enjoy the view all the way in to the Old City and back. You won't be sorry.The Admiral Grand is a grand hotel without the silly pompous attitude of some 5 star hotels. It has conference facilities as well as a great place to bring the family. Do not go anywhere else as this is a hotel of your dreams and I am a fussy customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mirike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed here for the first week in July this year. Impressed and very happy from start to finish. Everything was clean, well maintained, well staffed and in top order. The staff all appeared very friendly and mostly speak pretty good English.

Room was spacious and comfortable, plenty of cupboards and drawers, air-con worked well and had an excellent private balcony overlooking the beach with superb views. The sound-proofing and light-proofing qualities of the balcony doors and curtains were also excellent.

Food was really excellent and plentiful. We were half-board and there was a wide variety of hot and cold breakfast choices, plenty of fruit - plenty to smuggle out with you for lunch also! The evening meals were superb - massive choice of meats, fish etc and plenty of veg options, we both ate far too much. The restaurant was open from 7-10 for breakfast and again 7-10 for dinner, so very flexible hours and they never seemed to run out of anything or mind if you turned up for a late sitting.

The one trivial annoyance was the over-zealousness of the waiting staff in terms of their plate/cutlery collecting: i.e. the instant you finished with something then a waiter would swoop in like a hawk to take it away. Almost every evening we had to ask them to leave our plates alone until we had both finish. Maybe this is just their custom, but they got the message in the end.

The other guests seem to consist mainly of Russians with some Germans, Dutch and French: not many other English guests, which I didn't mind at all. The Russians don't seem to venture very far and prefer a sun lounger holiday. We prefer to get out and about, but on the occasions we fancied slugging on the beach or poolside for an hour or two there was never a problem finding unused loungers or sun-shades.

The hotel have a supply of hire cars that you can rent there and then the same day, or there is a tourist information office right outside where you can organise this and other excursions and hire. Other facilities on offer are tennis, volleyball, pedalos, kayaks and bikes, but you have to pay extra for all of those. If you go about 200 yards down the bay on the right there is a small cafe where they hire out the same, plus motor boats, speed boats and jet-skis at lower rates. Quad bikes were available from another place in the village.

There are good walks to be had on both sides of the bay and if you don't fancy the hotel beach (which is ok but not very interesting) there are loads of other coves and little beaches in walking distance with excellent snorkelling to be had. Look out for the secluded little cove on the left hand side near the bay entrance which is a really nice place to hole up in, although you can only get to it by water, or a very long clamber over rocks.

I recommend a visit to the villages of Mali Ston/Ston a little way north where you can walk over the mountain on top of the town walls - very interesting indeed.

We would definitely go back there with no hesitation.

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the sea are the rooms to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cyberdyne_T-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

A beautiful resort in a idyllic setting. The hotel is two years old and is supposedly a 5 star , lovely rooms and dining area virtually everything is first class. my only winge is the food although reasonably good, became very boring after the first week. Umbrellas were initially in short supply , when the russians turned up in some numbers the supply suddenly increased? The price of beer and all drinks were much to expensive, and very limited entertainment was provided. The area is gorgeous and nice walks to other bars etc where drinks were affordable. Because of the drinks prices and the food i class this hotel 4 star. But the setting and the building etc 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StockportPhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

From the moment you walk through the door you instantly feel a sense of peace and relaxation come over you at this lovely hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and very spacious. For the greater part the staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities are excellent. We enjoyed a lovely a la carte lunch as well as a good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NadiaStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slano
31.0 km away
Sheraton Dubrovnik Riviera Hotel
1.9 km away
Hotel Osmine
Hotel Osmine
#2 of 3 in Slano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
35.3 km away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
11.9 km away
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
22.8 km away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Grand Hotel

Property: Admiral Grand Hotel
Address: Rudera Boskovica, BB, Slano 20232, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Slano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiral Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Admiral Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing