We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish beachfront hotel on Dubrovnik Riviera”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Admiral Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Stylish beachfront hotel on Dubrovnik Riviera”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We spent 1 night at the Admiral Hotel as the Rixas Libertas was overbooked and bumped us.

It is on the bay of Slano about a 45 minute drive from the old town of Duprovnik. Everyone in our group enjoyed the hotel and was glad we had to stay there. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and stylishly furnished, with folded robes on the bed. (No tea or coffee in the rooms in Croatia). There are large indoor and outdoor swimming pools, and it is right on the beach, with a spa facility as well. There is a long outdoor terrace where you can kick back with a drink and watch the ocean a few metres away. Breakfast was very nice. There are some little restaurants over the road from the hotel as well. We didn't have dinner there, as we went into the old town.
We would happily return to the Admiral Grand, as the customer service was much better than many hotels in Croatia

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aus2Argie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    119
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
102
227
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This is an impressive hotel, especially if you are a fan of sleek minimalism. The atrium is stunning even if the glass elevator is reminiscent of a shopping mall. The bedrooms share the same style, but also have comfortable beds. The doubles are double (or king-sized), not two singles pushed together. I am not a great fan of air-conditioning, but the Admiral's is the best I've experienced. The indoor and outdoor swimming pools are excellent, but can't beat swimming in the bay at Slano. I had two bugbears during my stay. The reception and cleaning staff were excellent. The buffet was also replenished very efficiently. However the waiters lacked polish. Dinner is supposed to be served until 10pm, but after 9pm the staff are absorbed by setting up the tables for next day's breakfast and dinners are regarded as an inconvenience. One day I dined at 9.15pm. The waiter asked if I was dining and after I said yes he disappeared for over 10 minutes before bringing plates and cutlery. These were then whisked away between the first and main course so the farce had to begin again. Nor was I given the chance to order an (overpriced) drink. I still enjoyed good food and the view across the bay, but this should not happen if the staff are properly trained and supervised. My other gripe is the profusion of towels on otherwise unoccupied loungers. Very tiresome, particularly as there are ample loungers available.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank apt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

NIce clean modern hotel with really picturesque view situated about 30 minutes ride from Dubrovnik. Rooms very comfortable, and breakfast was great.
Having said that, they charge for ice! I needed some ice packs for my blistered toe and this so called 5 star hotel charged me 15 kunas (= a bottle of beer). Maybe I'm ignorant of the traditions in the Eastern part of the Europe, but never in my +15 years of business and holiday travel in Asia, North America, and Western Europe did I ever see a case where you get charged for ice. Don't 5 star hotels usually stuff your ice buckets for you whether you want it or not? Even the cheap motels in America offer all you can get ice! I thought ice was commodity - seems like it's a valuable in Croatia.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yhc218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Hotel and service was excellent. We will come next year definitly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SanyBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

An incredibly well-maintained hotel in an extremely picturesque location, spotlessly clean with nice furnishings, exceptional atmosphere, very, very attentive staff and very, very tasty food. A perfect spot for pure relaxation, as well as exploring the region.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nubijska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel deserves every one of its five stars. this ultra chic ultra sleek hotel is positively luxurious with attentive, friendly staff and all the amenities one could wish for. Breakfast is a feast, delectable with plenty of choices, hot and cold,on a par with other well-known 5 star hotels.The setting right by the lake is peaceful and serene.Whether you stay for a couple of days or a fortnight,you are guaranteed to come away relaxed and revived.The hotel offers all treatments at the spa and the indoor, outdoor pools are truly inviting.The rooms are beautifully appointed with fantastic bedding!!!!
Only 30 minutes from Dubrovnik, with a bustop just outside the hotel, do not take your car and enjoy the view all the way in to the Old City and back. You won't be sorry.The Admiral Grand is a grand hotel without the silly pompous attitude of some 5 star hotels. It has conference facilities as well as a great place to bring the family. Do not go anywhere else as this is a hotel of your dreams and I am a fussy customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mirike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed here for the first week in July this year. Impressed and very happy from start to finish. Everything was clean, well maintained, well staffed and in top order. The staff all appeared very friendly and mostly speak pretty good English.

Room was spacious and comfortable, plenty of cupboards and drawers, air-con worked well and had an excellent private balcony overlooking the beach with superb views. The sound-proofing and light-proofing qualities of the balcony doors and curtains were also excellent.

Food was really excellent and plentiful. We were half-board and there was a wide variety of hot and cold breakfast choices, plenty of fruit - plenty to smuggle out with you for lunch also! The evening meals were superb - massive choice of meats, fish etc and plenty of veg options, we both ate far too much. The restaurant was open from 7-10 for breakfast and again 7-10 for dinner, so very flexible hours and they never seemed to run out of anything or mind if you turned up for a late sitting.

The one trivial annoyance was the over-zealousness of the waiting staff in terms of their plate/cutlery collecting: i.e. the instant you finished with something then a waiter would swoop in like a hawk to take it away. Almost every evening we had to ask them to leave our plates alone until we had both finish. Maybe this is just their custom, but they got the message in the end.

The other guests seem to consist mainly of Russians with some Germans, Dutch and French: not many other English guests, which I didn't mind at all. The Russians don't seem to venture very far and prefer a sun lounger holiday. We prefer to get out and about, but on the occasions we fancied slugging on the beach or poolside for an hour or two there was never a problem finding unused loungers or sun-shades.

The hotel have a supply of hire cars that you can rent there and then the same day, or there is a tourist information office right outside where you can organise this and other excursions and hire. Other facilities on offer are tennis, volleyball, pedalos, kayaks and bikes, but you have to pay extra for all of those. If you go about 200 yards down the bay on the right there is a small cafe where they hire out the same, plus motor boats, speed boats and jet-skis at lower rates. Quad bikes were available from another place in the village.

There are good walks to be had on both sides of the bay and if you don't fancy the hotel beach (which is ok but not very interesting) there are loads of other coves and little beaches in walking distance with excellent snorkelling to be had. Look out for the secluded little cove on the left hand side near the bay entrance which is a really nice place to hole up in, although you can only get to it by water, or a very long clamber over rocks.

I recommend a visit to the villages of Mali Ston/Ston a little way north where you can walk over the mountain on top of the town walls - very interesting indeed.

We would definitely go back there with no hesitation.

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the sea are the rooms to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cyberdyne_T-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slano
35.3 km away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
2,491 reviews
31.1 km away
Sheraton Dubrovnik Riviera Hotel
19.7 km away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#16 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,726 reviews
11.9 km away
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
20.8 km away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Grand Hotel

Property: Admiral Grand Hotel
Address: Rudera Boskovica, BB, Slano 20232, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Slano
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiral Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing