We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming cottage in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drive and parking area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Drive and parking area
Garden
bedroom
Garden
garden
Maentwrog
View from top of the hill beside the property
Maentwrog
Maentwrog
Ffestiniog railway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DinoKay
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Charming cottage in great location”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We are regular visitors to wales and have stayed in a variety of different accommodations over the years from caravans to lodges to cottages. We chose Tyn y cefn because of its central location to the areas around Snowdon that we planned to explore. With Betws-y-coed in one direction and Porthmadog in the other, it was easy getting around for food, sightseeing, trekking and shopping. A little further but easy driving were Caernarfon, Conwy and Llandudno for coastal trips.

The cottage is tucked away just of the main road, and we initially couldn't find it. The owners are lovely people, and when we called, Ian drove out and picked us up - we were only a 100 metres away! Throughout our stay we found Ian and Sheena to be very warm, friendly and hospitable. They live in the main house next to the cottage, and will certainly sort anything out if you need them to.

Once we had parked in the spacious courtyard, we were shown our cottage with its lovely private garden (we planned to have breakfast there but never quite got round to it!). The cottage has a kitchen, two bed rooms and a lounge. In the entrance area there is the WC with a shower. The cottage was rustic, clean, well decorated and we really enjoyed our stay.

There are a few small points which we feel people may find helpful in deciding whether this is right for them, which I have detailed below.

The kitchen is spacious and we loved both cooking and having our meals there, and sometimes sat and played games there. The lounge is also spacious with a log-burning stove that kept us warm and occupied for hours, the children and I enjoyed the whole experience of stoking the fire and getting it blazing. The bedrooms are a little small, but sufficient and functional.

The layout of the cottage means that the kitchen leads into the master bedroom, which leads into the bedroom with bunk beds, which then leads into the lounge - a traditional 'long cottage' layout. This was no problem for us, but some may feel it compromises privacy.

Set near a waterfalls, and in the middle of countryside, the cottage is completely at one with nature, so expect a few creepy crawlies, especially spiders around. When my children were younger this would have freaked them out, but it was fine - my wife did unfortunately have to make a few little creatures homeless.

The cottage does have wifi, but it is just about accessible from the kitchen and kept dropping signal. It was good enough for me to pick up messages, and well, it's kinda nice not to be wired in all the time as we are in London! There is also a wired connection, but we did not use that as my slimline laptop needed an adaptor for that which I didn't bring.

Our overall impression and experience was wonderful, and we plan to return again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service, log fire, location
Liked least: poor wifi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine D
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical cottage”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

After reading all previous reviews there isn't much I can add. We stayed with our 2 children in August and had a fabulous time. The cottage and surrounding garden are magical with elves, fairies and sun catchers. We were very well looked after by Ian and Sheena.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelly8076
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Me and my husband stayed at this cottage recently and we absoulty loved our week there the cottage is stunning it's beautiful both on the inside and the out the owners are great people easy to talk too and also really friendly and very welcoming our experience has been so truly amazing I would 100% without a doubt recommend it too anyone who needs a relaxing break Thankyou Sheena xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakutheca...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 stars because ....”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

* Ian and Sheena (Shiney) were lovely - they were great to chat to and couldn't have been more helpful.
* The cottage was wonderful. Clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable.
* The area is great. It's not far from Snowdon. There are many walks from the house. Easy to get lost :)
* Our party was 4 adults. We all stayed comfortably.
* Found our bedroom cool and comfortable.

We'll be back. Thanks for a great week!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ermomba
Carmathenshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I stayed here with my husband and 9 year old daughter for a week. It was the perfect base for a tour of the beautiful North Wales. The owners Sheena and Ian couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. The area has something for everyone with stunning walks all around and many attractions like Zip World,Beddgelert and Portmeirion all easily accessible. The property itself suited our needs perfectly and the wood burner was a lovely touch every evening after our travels. It is in a lovely quiet location, just out of town but near enough that you can pick up your provisions. We had great weather so were able to use the garden too. It was really good value and I would definitely stay there again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBowe...
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect welsh retreat!”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Tyn y Cefn was everything we were looking for in a holiday cottage it was both rural enough to feel away from the hustle and bustle whilst having amenities only a stones throw away. It was brilliant that we could take our St Bernard. Sheena and Ian were fantastic they were there if we needed them which suited us. The cottage itself is quaint and charming we would definitely stay again. Thanks again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie c
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and explore”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just returned from staying a week in the cottage and i can honestly say i didn't want to leave. The cottage is perfect for a base to explore North Wales. Its very clean and has everything you need including a lovely wood burner for the chilly nights..The owners Sheena and Ian and family are great and very good hosts ( especially on tic removal from one of our dogs !!! ) There are many walks straight from the cottage so you don't need to take the car and they have stunning views. We were lucky with the weather so it made it even better but we will be returning again hopefully next year as there are still lots more to see and do and i will recommend this place to family and friends.
Thank You Sheena and Ian for a lovely holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing