We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crud yr Awel

Cosy, comfy living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy, comfy living room
Romantic Edwardian bedroom Patio terrace with mountain views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Cosy, comfy living room
Romantic Edwardian bedroom
Patio terrace with mountain views
Time for tea!
Gas-fired 'woodburner'-type stove
Fully-equipped, modern kitchen
Fully-equipped modern kitchen
Recently renovated bathroom with excellent shower pressure
Twin bedroom
A small cot is provided.  measuring 55x90 cm, height from mattress to top of the rail is 40cm.
Toys and teddies
Summer blooms in the terraced garden (steep steps)
Help yourself to herbs growing by the back door
Crud yr Awel / Cradle of the Breeze
View of the Moelwyn mountains from the rear terraced garden
Nearby Portmeirion Italianate village
Llanberis Pass, Snowdonia
Black Rock Sands, Porthmadog
Caernarfon Castle
Slate locomotive on display in Blaenau Ffestiniog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Peter H
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My wife and i spent a few days at Crud yr Awel in september what can i say, it is a lovely little cottage beautifully clean with everything in it one might need, we especially appreciated the hamper that was left for us after our long drive. The surrounding area of the snowdonia national park is outstanding. only slight criticism was the lack of TV signal as my wife does like her soaps but that aside we had a great time. Thank you Mary Ann for the warm welcome we received.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for writing a review. I'm sorry the lack of TV signal spoiled an otherwise lovely stay. This is due to the huge rock immediately behind the cottage and I have drawn attention to it in the description of the cottage on Holiday Lettings at Trip Advisor. Other guests have managed by watching their favourite programmes on iPlayer, as the free wifi signal is excellent.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil E
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked this cottage for my Sons 12th birthday as it was close to Bounce Below and we liked the look of it.

Having arrived late on the Friday we were met with a lovely hamper with some bread and other supplies, really nice touch and saves you having to hunt for the local supermarket (only a short drive into town).

The cottage is on a main road but not too busy or noisy opposite the rugby ground, has a lovely homely fell with the main bedroom downstairs next to the living room with the other (kids) bedroom upstairs, this worked well for us as the kids liked that separate feel and gave us both some privacy, the stairs to the kids room are very narrow but this does add to the feel of the place, the kitchen was really nicely done out and contained everything you needed to have a good stay, even things like foil and cooking oil.

The location is really good for getting about that part of Wales with Harlech Castle not far away and also Portmadog, went to bounce below which is about half a mile up the road.

The batroom was very nice and also the main bedroom, the kids said on several occasions on how comfy the beds were as they were the best they had ever slept in! the only downside (If you can call it that) is the lack of TV channels, for us this was fine as we liked going out and about and then at night relaxing and watching the many dvds that were also provided.

This really was a lovely little place to stay in somewhere you may not think of staying, worth a visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Alll of it
Liked least: The soke alarm going off which appeared to just be the heat as no smoke
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
What a lovely review, thank you so much. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, exploring lots of the local attractions and were comfortable in the cottage. Please do come back another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatherynH...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming, well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family and I stayed at Crud yr Arwel for five wonderful days at the end of August 2015. The cottage is charming, comfortable and extremely well equipped, the generous welcome pack was a lovely surprise on arrival. Our children (aged 11 and 2 years) had great fun discovering the books, DVDs and toy boxes provided. There was always ample parking outside the cottage, which we found extremely handy. Blaenau Ffestiniog is an ideal base to explore many wonderful attractions, and I would recommend the cottage without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: there is no TV signal ( not really a problem to us).
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely review; I am so glad you and your family were comfortable and enjoyed your stay. Please come back again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed G
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful home from home!”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I visited Crud yr Awel with our two children aged 20 months and 5 years during October half term. We could not have asked for a more welcoming cottage! Everything was spotlessly clean, and we have never been in a holiday cottage that was so well provisioned - even a picnic hamper! Lovely comfortable beds and the children absolutely loved their attic bedroom with its basket of toys just for them. We had a welcome hamper on arrival complete with a bottle of wine and a lovely note from the owner. It was also so nice to see bookshelves with actual books on them! Although there was no television reception because of the (incredibly beautiful) mountains surrounding the cottage, there was a huge selection of DVDs provided, and also a wide choice of CDs. We had brought some of both from home but they weren't needed.

Crud yr Awel has stunning views of the slate mines and was so well situated in this lovely part of North Wales. We had typical October weather while we were there but it really didn't matter - there is so much to see and do locally.The owner really had thought of everything that we could possibly need and was incredibly welcoming. The biggest accolade of all was our five year old daughter saying she felt as if she were at home on our first night there! A lovely find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views, welcome hamper, comfortable beds
Liked least: Welsh weather!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves and that the �hildren settled in and had fun. Please come back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0ctopus
Flintshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home-from-home in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Crud yr Awel is a lovely little cottage in the heart of Snowdonia. We found the cottage easily and there was no problem parking on the road outside. The owner had sent us several friendly and informative emails prior to our stay and had also left us a generous welcome hamper in the kitchen, which was much appreciated. The cottage is off the main road but the traffic was never an issue. Through the door we stepped into a clean, tidy living/dining room that had everything we needed for our much needed family break - comfy sofa and chairs, TV/DVD player and lots of DVDs (no TV signal but we didn't miss it a bit!), books and board games plus lots of local information to help with planning excursions. WiFi was available and access was good. The slate floors are beautiful and we'd been warned that they can be cold on your feet but we didn't find them so. To the right was the double room, clean and comfortable with a great view of the dramatic slate mountains opposite. Also downstairs, the kitchen and bathroom are well eqipped with everything you could need - no detail has been missed. A cupboard by the stairs hides the cleaning/laundry room. We didn't use the washing machine but it's a really useful addition to the cottage. Upstairs the kids (7 and 9) were delighted to find their twin bedroom with special mountain view window and boxes of toys/cuddlies. The stairs are narrow and steep but no issue at all. A child safety gate was provided, which we had no need for but it was a practical thought. Outside there is a small, terraced garden. We didn't use it but it would be fantastic in the summer. Throughout our stay we were warm and comfortable and, judging by the comments left in the visitors' book, this cottage is consistently presented to an excellent standard with the guests' comfort and enjoyment at the very forefront of the owner's mind. We would happily stay at this cottage again and would recommend it to family and friends if they were looking to stay in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely, detailed review! I am delighted that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay. Please do come back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimble15
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect touring location; exceptional hostess!”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely owner that gave us a discount for being soon-to-be-newly weds! Offered home comforts and all you could hope for in a home from home... great location for touring and for holidaying with your pet dogs! Very modern kitchen and bathroom... lovely three-tier garden for BBQ/sitting out on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome hamper!
Liked least: Main bedroom decor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Thank you for writing such a lovely review and I am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Good luck with the wedding and do come back as Mr and Mrs!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLS874
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We will definitely be back again!”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Wow.
We have just retuned home from our favourite family holiday so far!
Crud Yr Awel is such a beautiful family cottage. Its wonderfully clean and so well equipped with everything you could need from a juicer to a picnic basket!
The main bedroom is light and airy with beautiful solid furniture. The bed is possibly the comfiest I have ever slept on. Didn't have a bad night there!
The twin bedroom is perfect for children (Mine are 6 & 7) They loved the beds, the decoration, the toy chest, everything. There's a high chair, cot and stair gate for those with very young children.
The living area was the perfect size for the 4 of us (plus our 2 dogs) chairs and sofas were very comfortable with a dining table to one end. There's a lovely selection of books / DVDs / and board games to keep everyone amused.
The garden is very steep, so extra care is needed, especially when wet with the young children but it is lovely and the view is amazing.
Everywhere you look outside there is always something to see, you could never get bored of the views.
We will definitely be returning! Already looking forward to it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A real home from home experience.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Thank you for writing such a lovely review! I am so glad you were comfortable and enjoyed yourselves and I look forward to welcoming you back when you come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing