We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
171
70
31
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
70
31
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews azul ocean club costa rica black sand san juanillo private beach swim up bar off the beaten path boutique hotel mango ceviche atv tour unpaved road breakfast and dinner minute drive juan jose rental car pool table
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 298 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2017 via mobile

Online, this location looked perfect BUT be warned. It says private beach, free wifi, and the photos look great, THEN you get there. FIRST, it's a 45 min drive on a dirt road riddled with potholes, I can't even believe our taxi's tires didn't blow out. The bridge to get there has s giant hole in it you have to drive around!! The area is stricken with immense poverty, and giant abandon construction sites covered in vandalism. It's clear this hotel was built before the economic collapse and now is hanging on to what little it has left. We arrive at the lobby and found the desk worn out, and ants crawling EVERYWHERE. I've never seen so many ants! The whole property is infested with them. Then we got to our room, which had clearly been big bombed as there were dead ants all over the floor, and they had used so much air freshener to mask the smell of the chemicals you can smell the air fresher from 50 feet outside your room. Upon entering the room, we noticed that the queen sized bed we paid for, was really a full/double. The shower, had LITTLE to no hot water! Hot water lasted about 3 seconds before turning cold. We then went down to the pool and beach to scope out the area. The pool was the local bird bath, covered with bird droppings and feathers. The beach is as many others have said, NOT SAFE to swim in. Giant rocks + giant waves and rip current make it far too dangerous not to mention clearly unenjoyable. Looking up at the property from the pool you can see the giant concrete skeletons of abandon construction sites covered in weeds and spray paint graffiti. We went back to our room to look up more on this hotel on our booking website only to find there was hardly any wifi to connect. After realizing the best place to get wifi was on our balcony we stayed out there trying to get some kind of resolution. WHILE OUT ON THE BALCONY, SOMEONE LITERALLY ENTERED OUR ROOM AND LOCKED US OUT ON THE BALCONY! I later discovered that the front door had been tampered with and the bolt for the lock although visibly turned in the lock position, did not lock the door!!!!! AKA anyone could enter our room at any moment! Thankfully we had placed all our valuables in the safe. I will never go back here. We called a taxi and left immediately and are now going to fight for our money back. Be careful and stay far far away from this hotel. It should also be noted that this hotel is for sale and clearly going under. The beautiful photos online don't depict the weathered and run down reality that is now this hotel. Don't stay here, for your own safety!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Walker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel E. J, Gerente at Azul Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2017

Dear guest, with all respect to you, we do not share your opinion an also a large number of clients that based on the excellent experiences they have had in the hotel made us winners of the Bravo and Excellence certificates from TRIPADVISOR, and awards from Booking.com and Expedia.com for 3 consecutive years until today, this from December 20th 2013 that the hotel opened its doors to the public.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile

This resort/hotel is only for certain people. The location is very remote, 1 1/2 hour drive on gravel roads, 2 1/2 hours from Liberia. We booked round trip transportation from the airport through the resort. Upon arrival, our ride was not there. We had to arrange another ride with a taxi company to get there. Then when we finally got to the resort after a long, very uncomfortable ride in a small car we were forced to pay the driver with cash ($150 + tip) because he could not get internet on his credit card machine. The resort told us they only had two cars available to them and one was on the other side of the country and the other one was broken down. They did not try to contact us. At minimum, they should have arranged an alternate. They should have paid for the taxi and added it to our bill.
Lesson learned, we should have rented a car for the week. Because of the remoteness of this resort, without a car, you are stranded at the resort. The resort is very small and besides relaxing poolside or eating in one of the two restaurants, there is not much to do.
We also went the first two days with sporadic hot water. After several complaints we finally were able to get a maintenance man to our room who explained that if we want hot water, we need to turn on the bathroom sink and shower and let them both run at the same time. Now we had hot water, sometimes scalding, sometimes still cold but no water pressure.

The pros, the grounds are very nice. The pool area is beautiful however they do have an issue with wasps at the pool. While there, we saw two people get stung at the pool. The food at the resort was all excellent. We never had a bad meal the whole week. The waitstaff did an excellent job.

The cons, we had a deluxe room that needed major upgrades. We not only had issues with the hot water and water pressure, but we found mold in the shower, rusty towel racks, broken toilet seat, the glass windows in the patio doors had lost their seal so there was fog between the panes so yo couldn't see out and the TV stopped working.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BlackMurano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel E. J, Gerente at Azul Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2017

We would like to extend our most sincere apology for the inconvenience that you experienced in your stay. Please be sure that this was an isolated unfortunate situation that, as you stated, we could have minimized with a prompt and diligent response.

Please be sure that we are taking the necessary actions to prevent these to happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2017

Lovely cottages with kitchen, living area, loft bedroom, sitting area, hammock, two-level porch--lots of space and privacy, in other words. Oh, and an indoor/outdoor shower, too. Grounds are well kept, black sand and white sand beaches, covered sitting, even outdoor beds, infinity pool and hot tub, swim up bar, two restaurants, terrific food and hearty breakfasts. Activities are available and transportation can be arranged into a nearby town if you want groceries, snacks, etc. It is remote, so probably not the best choice for someone looking for nightlife and shopping, but if you enjoy reading a book in your cabana and listening to the roar of the waves, strolling the black sand beach and feeling like you have the ocean all to yourself, or being awestruck by the starry, starry sky, this is your place.

Date of stay: February 2017
4  Thank Deeahgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2017

This hotel is pretty remote (about an hour down a rough dirt road), but well worth the drive. The rooms are large (ours was 2 bedrooms) and it even had an outdoor shower. My favorite spot was the hammock on the upstairs balcony. We were in room #8, so there was plenty of shade on the balcony and an ocean breeze. As an added bonus, we could hear the ocean waves hitting the shore. The pool was beautiful and the scenery was so nice. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2017

Service was excellent - Kary, front desk, Joel all stood out. The resort was beautiful, private and a good value. The black sand beach was spectacular- highly recommend. Rent a 4x4 vehicle to get there!!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews