We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Deborah O
Burnley, United Kingdom

An almost perfect stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 1, 2024
Hotel and staff perfect in every way. Room clean and well stocked. Only negative was breakfast the following morning. Only one gentleman serving breakfast and he was run off his feet. Evidently it was the same the previous night. Clearly had staffing issues. He was most professional and friendly but clearly under pressure. The breakfast came after a longer than usual wait but we understood why that was. However when it came it was up to the usual high standard we are used to. It hasn’t put us off from returning and hopefully it will be better staffed on our next visit
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Annex on-suite double room.
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$72
  • Expedia.com
    C$73
5.0 km from Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$131
  • Priceline
5.8 km from Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.2 km from Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
Free Wifi
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.1 km from Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
  • Travelodge
5.8 km from Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.9 km from Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.9 km from Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.1 km from Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.9 km from Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
6.6 km from Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Wenvoe
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveller rating
347
189
85
33
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
347
189
85
33
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beefeater next door beefeater restaurant busy road air con family room the ground floor good nights sleep no lift plenty of parking room temperature both mornings continental breakfast first floor car park good size would stay again budget hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 693 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2024

Checked in late after the Wales v Poland game. Check in was smooth and staff were very friendly and efficient. Room was comfortable and quiet so we slept pretty well.
Breakfast was booked at 9.45 the next morning. Went to the restaurant where there were no staff present. Found a table and then went to grab some toast and a drink. Coffee machine wasn’t working and the juice jugs were all empty. Made some toast and went back to my table when a member of staff appeared and said we couldn’t sit there as these tables were for lunch. The table that were for breakfast were either occupied or needed clearing.
On mentioning this, the member of staff told us that she was the only person working that morning.
She cleared a table for us so we could have toast and cereal. All this time, there were plates of cooked breakfasts on the hot plate waiting to be served.
All the while more customers arrived and the solitary member of staff valiantly tried her best to keep up.
After 10 minutes, we hadn’t had our order taken so we left.
Mentioned breakfast to the girl on reception when we checked out. Unfortunately she seemed disinterested and very dismissive.
A shame as we’ve stayed with Premier Inn many times before and this has been our only bad experience.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnreynolds1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 26, 2024

Recently stayed at this location, definitely a great spot for visiting both Cardiff and Barry, about 10-15 minutes away from both. Originally chosen because of the location and free parking onsite, which was great.

All the staff we met were really nice and friendly, but the location was in need of a bit of TLC, particularly in the rooms. Beds and things were comfortable, but needed a bit of a paint job and some replacement of items around the place.

We had breakfast both days of the trip, and both times there was only one staff member doing everything. They did great jobs, but clearly would have benefited from some support as the continental breakfast was often low or no stock as they were busy seating people, taking orders, and running the hot food as this was made to order rather than buffet style.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tasha4253
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 13, 2024

Being a mum of 3 young children and one of which has autism I suffer alot when I am out in public. I actually have anxiety because my sons behaviour can be erratic sometimes and uncontrollable. Upon arrival at the hotel breakfast restaurant my autistic son immediately noticed balloons and wanted to take them off the wall and play with them. Although the staff tried to retrieve one of these balloons for my son it became apparent that they were stuck to the wall and could not be removed. However the staff went above and beyond with providing my 7 and 6 year old boys with fun activities to do at the table that my son didn't mind so much that he couldn't get hold of a balloon. On a normal day this entire experience would have been different as he would have a total meltdown and be disregulated. I cannot thank the staff enough for their empathy and understanding of the situation and the help they provided to make us feel comfortable and welcome. Honestly it bring tears to my eyes how nice they were and how I wish I was faced with humans like that everywhere I went with my children.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 308zenoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 16, 2024

We stayed for Saturday and Sunday nights in Wenvoe, as we were visiting family in Cardiff. The hotel was convenient and fairly basic, but we just wanted a good night's sleep and a decent breakfast with an evening meal on the Sunday. The staff on Reception were generally friendly and helpful, and the room had been cleaned and serviced although we only had one set of towels for two of us - Reception staff obligingly sorted us out some more. The bedroom seemed cold, and nothing we could do with the heating controls seemed to work - we found out when we checked out that we should have contacted Reception to override the "Cool" setting, not something we could do ourselves!
Breakfast on both days was excellent, well cooked and served. Dinner on the Sunday night was less good; we waited for what seemed ages to have our order taken, and when the food arrived some of it was lukewarm (my chips and sweetcorn), and seemed to have been standing around for a while. My chicken was tough, and my "side salad" was a small pile of rocket; not a great meal, and we passed on dessert.
Overall we had a reasonable stay, but I would not eat dinner in the Beefeater attached to the hotel again.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Coastal50288322379
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 23, 2023

Lovely staff who were talkative - comfy beds and great temperature room - lovely buffet at breakfast - overall brilliant stay - Particular Staff members made it a wonderful stay the night before xmas eve!!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews