We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach,Great Views, Bedrooms let it down”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Isle of Barra Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Isle of Barra
Reviewed 10 May 2012

As it says the hotel overlooks a simply stunning beach. The Island is full of these views and worth the trip to see it for real and not just in the magazine pictures. The Beach Hotel staff were very friendly and even put on a meal for us when we arrived a bit later than expected. I could deal with the bright and open 70`s retro image to the lounge looking over the beach but It was let down a bit with the bedrooms oh for a makeover!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robansandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

The location of this hotel is frankly idyllic - right on the beach as it says. However, the interior is such a great disappointment. Retro may be in and if you like the real thing then this is the place, Frankly I was lying in bed during our stay thinking how very easy it would be to renovate/refurb this outdated interior. Orange breeze block walls with dirty looking old fashioned wall lights and what seemed to be original 70s furniture. Quick trip to IKEA and a few pots of paint would have made a world of difference. Bathroom was old wooden dreary, not at all the seaside hotel experience you might expect.

Asking for a glass of wine in the lounge was brought mini bottles of the type you get 3 for a fiver in the supermarkets but the charge was ridiculous for plonk. Not a crisp or peanut in sight too....

The owners should look to some of the outstanding seaside hotels elsewhere eg Cornwall to see what folk expect at the prices charged. I loved Barra and will return but not to this hotel unless they get their act together.

Room Tip: Go for the best rooms overlooking the beach - at least you can look out on something nice then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank CatandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

owners were very rude stunning island locals are nice and friendly but horrible owners who pay no attention to you, i would advise other people visiting the island to find other accomidation than this, the beach is amazing and awsome and jumpin with babes and beer
amzing pub and barrafest would have been better if we had stayed in a tent rather than here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank bibly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I defy anyone to find a more beautiful location, right on the cliffs of one of the most stunning Hebridean beaches. However, this 1970's design classic really needs a revamp. Rooms are located down a labyrinth of subterranean corridors, all rather scruffily furnished and windows not clean enough to see the wonderful views. Great collection of red. orange and brown leather sofas in the lounge area with associated 70's kitch but somehow it didn't work

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JillandJohnBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

For years we have always said that Scotland has the best scenery, beaches, etc., and this is one place you should not miss - the views over the bay were wonderful, beach with silver sands where there were folks out swimming and sunbathing despite the fact that the weather was not all that good.
Hotel even has a private helicopter landing pad, and if you want to do one of "the 100 things you need to do before you die" then fly into the beach airport at Barra with FlyBe - fantastic , and the hotel staff / even the boss will pop round to collect you.
Hotel is modern , has a big comfortable lounge, a small cinema where we watched "Whiskey Galore" and a big dining room with views over the bay. The menu was first class, matching many much better known establishments in and around the world.
If you do not fancy making the journey on your own , there are several coach companies doing all the leg work for you - we used David Urquart Tours for this trip ( but it would have been nice to fly) maybe next time.

Room Tip: Get a room on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuartBlaikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

After staying at the hotel in August of this year I would urge other tourists visiting this stunning island to find other accomodation. Vastly overpriced for what you get and the female co owners attitude is very strange. Why she ever thought to get involved in hospitality is beyond me as she has no patience and is incredibly rude.
After voicing a complaint about the service in the dining room, she simply looked at me over the top of her glasses and shrugged her shoulders. lol. I was shocked. This was not an isolated incident. Despite our stay being a short one she managed to make several comments which would indicate we were not welcome. Her husband/partner seemed to have more of an idea about friendly customer service , but the visit to the hotel was ruined by the lady who you would expect to put in the most effort.
Like a few others who have posted comments about this hotel earlier I would question the validity of some of the previous reviews praising this establishment. The only positive thing I could take from my visit to the Isle of Barra Hotel was the view and the beach.
Much better quality accomodation is available in Barra at more reasonable prices. I will never stay here again and would advise anyone visiting this splendid island to go elsewhere or wait till you can.
Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Therambler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The hotel is an award-winning 1970s design; some may find it dated, but fellow fans of '70s architecture will love it. The view across the beach and hills is what this hotel is all about. Simply stunning!

The hotel is family-run, and this is reflected in the friendly B&B-type service; no identikit Holiday Inn automatons here. The rooms and meals aren't cheap, but the location is really what you're paying for. Barra is a very expensive place generally. The bar area/lounge is beautiful; perfect for watching the stunning sunsets. The drinks selection is satisfactory, with a good choice of single malts; the high prices being normal for Barra.

The hotel even has its own cinema room, with a selection of films, including Whisky Galore, of course.

The pub area is nice, with friendly staff, but is a bit dingy due to not having any windows. The bar menu is limited and expensive, but the haddock and chips was quite simply stunning.

There was a good menu available for dinner, in the restaurant area, although you need to book beforehand.

There were a few minor niggles: one serving of haddock was undercooked, there was no fresh fruit, hot chocolate, or kippers available at breakfast (a big mistake in Scotland), and disabled access is a bit limited.

The capital, Castlebay, is only 2.4 miles away, and is easily accessible by taxi, bus, or on foot.

I would recommend the hotel, as long as you know what to expect, and are not on a limited budget. It is certainly worth a visit during the day, just to appreciate that view!

Room Tip: The upper floor has fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harb0urmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Isle of Barra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Barra Beach Hotel

Address: Tangasdale Beach, HS9 5XW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Isle of Barra
Price Range: $149 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach with wonderful views of the Atlantic ocean. Restaurant with locally sourced ingredients, fish and meat. The hotel has an extensive wine and malt whisky lists. Guests enjoy a free cinema with over 2000 different films, bicycles, canoes and other extras. Car and electric bicycle hire is also available to guests ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Isle Of Barra Beach Hotel Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing