We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A good hotel, desperately in need of some care and attention” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol La Palma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol La Palma Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Naos
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good hotel, desperately in need of some care and attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

We stayed at the Sol La Palma hotel in March 2011. Initial impressions were good... we booked the hotel and a transfer through the Sol Melia website. The transfer was punctual, and on arrival our room was ready as booked.

The entrance and public area give a great first impression....clean, light and airy. There's a coin operated internet station, but 2 of the 4 terminals were broken for the duration of our stay.

We'd booked a superior queen room with a corner sea view and huge balcony. The room came with a fridge, TV with standard european channels (and the wrong remote), and a decent selection of bath products to start with, although these were never replaced (4 tissues isn't enough for 2 people for 2 weeks in my humble opinion !). Extra pillows turned up as soon as we requested them. The bedroom and bathroom were both in need of a bit of attention...tatty paintwork, torn bed and chair coverings etc.

Breakfast was included in our package (most other guests seemed to be All Inclusive), and initially looked very impressive, with a full range of hot (we'll come back to that description later !) and cold options, breads, cereals, fruit etc. Unfortunately once we sampled a few of the 'hot' offerings it appeared that they'd been left out for quite some time and were warm at best. Have you tried cold Churos ? NOT recommended !! The breads, cheese and cold meats were fine, but got a bit dull after 2 weeks.

The breakfast room / restaurant had a nice balcony, but many of the chairs were spattered with bird droppings, and never got cleaned in the time that we were there.

There are 2 pools - we used the one that was described as 'heated', although that obviously lost something in translation ! There were plenty of sunbeds, but they were all in need of re-covering, and many of them were broken. The pool bar opens about 12:00 for a couple of hours.

The rest of the guests seemed to be middle aged Germans who spent their days hiking the surrounding hills, leaving the pool nice and quiet for 2 lazy Brits !!!

The resort of Puerto Naos is a 2 minute stroll away along the promenade. Although it's a small resort it has a selection of bars, restaurants, tourist shops and supermarkets. Our favourite restaurants were Mambo (good paella and fresh fish), Il Forno (best pizza in town), and Don Quijote, who don't have an english menu, but managed to turn out some fabulous tapas with a bit of waving and pointing !!!

Overall we enjoyed our stay, and the weather in March was a lovely, mainly sunny, 20-22 degrees.

The hotel seems to have the makings of a nice 4* hotel, but with staff and maintenance policies which seem to be determined to make it into a very average 3* one.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheenaandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    323
    201
    92
    44
See reviews for
185
423
61
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

We chose the Sol La Palma for its location on the sunnier west side of La Palma and in a good location for exploring the marvellous scenery of the island. We were not disappointed. The hotel is set among banana plantations overlooking the small pleasant resort of Puerto Naos. It's a large hotel with probably over 200 rooms, though I estimate that only a third were occupied during our stay in February. Our bedroom was a reasonable size with comfortable beds and plenty of wardrobe space. We had a small balcony with a view through palm trees looking south along the coastline and this was a definite bonus as we had not specified a sea view. The staff were helpful and efficient and able to deal confidently with enquiries in English which was probably an infrequent experience for them as the great majority of guests were German or Dutch. Catering was on a buffet basis and offered a huge variety of choice of hot and cold dishes at breakfast and evenings, there was certainly something for all tastes. The range and cost of drinks were what you would expect for a four star hotel. The swimming pool and sun lounger area are spectacularly located on the top of a low cliff overlooking the sea and the resort. We enjoyed brilliant sunsets most evenings. If you get bored with the pool, the hotel is adjacent to the small beach of Puerto Naos and there is a pleasant promenade with the usual mix of bars , restaurants and tourist shops. It is a small resort with no great night life so if you enjoy clubbing, this is not the place for you. The hotel runs entertainment each evening with cabaret acts, and yes, Spanish Elvis is still strutting his stuff with a kiss for all the ladies and a handshake for the men. On the evenings with no cabaret, a two piece group played and some guests enjoyed dancing to their music. Perhaps the Sol La Palma's USP is its own observatory in the complex. Twice a week guests had the chance to view stars and planets through a telescope with an informative and helpful commentary from a member of the entertainments team whose hobby is astronomy. La Palma is famous for its group of observatories in the mountains and its light pollution controls and this was a fascinating insight. Gripes? Only minor ones really: A kettle was provided in the room, but cups and saucers were only provided if requested and tea/coffee and milk were not, which we then had to buy from the supermarket in the complex. This seems a rather mean attitude for a four star hotel. The space available for car parking in the hotel forecourt and approach road just about coped with demand in February so I suspect there may be problems in peak season. There is some waste ground between the hotel and resort centre which may be a solution, but its a long drive round from the hotel forecourt. Finally, the computers available for internet access by guests were out of order for six of our seven days there. As we were there to get away from it all, that wasn't a problem for us.
Puerto Naos is located on the west coast and enjoyed sunshine every day we were there, unlike the other side of the island. The town of Los Llanos, the Caldera Taburiente and the volcanoes at the south of the island are all within easy reach, and Santa Cruz and the Airport are a comfortable 50 minutes drive. All in all, we couldn't have asked for a better location to explore La Palma. With a 50% discount for booking in January it was great value too. We would certainly come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark_and_Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan,France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

I have really mixed feelings about the Sol La Palma. Stayed for 10 nights in Jan/Feb,and there is no doubt that there are many strong points. Fantastic seaside location,picturesque views, great sunsets,spacious rooms,lots of facilities,bags of atmosphere. But there's something missing. The staff seem to lack passion. there doesn't seem to be much pride in the hotel. Jobs are done efficiently enough,but no-one goes the extra mile to make your stay memorable. I think it's something to do with the fabric of the place. It's 25 years old now,and time and the Atlantic have taken their toll. To put it bluntly,the place is in need of a top to bottom refurb. Bathrooms need replacing. Rooms are a little shabby. The restaurant has seen better days. The bar is functional. Food is very 1990's. The whole place,though clearly deserving of four stars when it opened ,is now only 3 star standard. It would be difficult to say anything was really poor,but it could ,and should ,be so much better. I suspect that the German tour companies who are,by far,the big clients here are prepared to pay a certain price,but no more. and thereby is Sol Melia's problem. This place could be a stunning hotel,at least 4*,but only if they spent an arm and a leg on it. And then they'd lose a lot of their regular guests,as the prices would have to reflect it. Overall it offers good value for money,and,for anyone who is prepared to overlook a bit of wear round the edges,it's a good place to go for a seaside hotel holiday in a stunning island.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnPerpignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

I booked this hotel because I knew it would be full of Spaniards and Germans. I speak a little German and am learning Spanish. I also wanted to see the sun setting over the sea. My wife and I had spent a previous holiday with Thomsons on the east coast and had visited all the interesting sites, so we were quite prepared for a relaxing fortnight. I had booked a flight with Thomsons and superior room in the hotel with Sol Hotels.
Our room and bathroom were both large, but the L-shaped balcony was immense, about 50 square metres, with magnificent views of the sea, the beach, the small town of Puerto Naos and the steep surrounding hills. The balcony also had a pair of loungers and a parasol, and it was like having your own penthouse. We spent a great deal of time on our balcony. It had 15 large plant holders, but there wasn't a geraniium in sight, unlike the balconies above and below us.
The quality and variety of the food were both good, the house red wine was very drinkable, and the Spanish gin and tonic - always with plenty of ice - was very acceptable.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I was able to speak to them in fairly basic Spanish. It was "no problema". Both pools were quite pleasant for swimming, and the water in one of them was warm. Wonderful ! There was a very mediocre trio of an instrumentalist and two singer who performed four times a week, but we also had Spain's own "Elvis", who looked, sang and moved very well, and a "Boogie Disco" with two coloured American singers who were great. All the entertainment finished at 11.30 p.m. Puerto Naos has its own little charm and we walked around it each day. An added attraction was watching the paragliders coming down and landing on the adjacent beach. We also joined the locals for Saturday evening mass in the town at 8.30 p.m. Altogether it ws a most enjoyable holiday with some magnificent sunsets. Good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerryStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

This is a very large hotel, and during our stay there were only two other English people in the hotel. On the positive side, the rooms are comfortable, with good beds and pillows. We were given a quiet room which I'd requested and we had a good view of the beach, town and sea. There are two major pool areas with plenty of loungers, and a few other areas in the gardens for sun bathing.
The hotel has adopted an all inclusive policy, and consequently there was no a la carte restaurant available. We booked on a bed and breakfast option, which we did through Expedia and got a very good deal. Two nights we ate in the hotel and didn't find the buffet very exciting.There are plenty of restaurants in the town, but all served a similar menu.
The only entertainment on offer was a keyboard player, although there was a very large "theatre" space with stage, but no shows.The bar opening times were very hit and miss.
We were comfortable in the hotel, but doubt that we would return

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisPNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

A big hotel, more or less the standard tourist establishment. Hotel staff is very helpfull (breakfast normally startsat 07.00 pm, but on the day we had to leave early a 06.00 breakfast was no problem at all). The towel service for use at the pool was OK, food was good (although not too warm), room was OK. Parking- space a bit limited. Drinks not expensive.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Windsheim, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

We stayed in the Sol Hotel for 14 days/nights for our vacation. This is the only hotel in Puerto Naos by the way. All other places mentioned to be in Puerto Naos are apartment buildings! If someone mentiones the 'Hotel Puerto Naos', it is the same hotel.

Puerto Naos is a small place on the west-coast of the island of La Palma. There are some tourist stores selling all kinds of stuff for a day at the beach or souvenirs. There are many restaurants as well which are not very expensive. Puerto Naos is a pure tourist place though. Most tourists are from Germany, Spain and the Netherlands. You will mostly see older people. Puerto Naos is not a place for the party generation which was very good for us although we are below 30 years old.The weather was nearly always nice, we almost never had rain or clouds during our stay. Rainy season starts in Octobre though.

The rooms in the hotel are good and we had a nice view on palm trees and the sea in the distance even though we did not order 'sea view'. The rooms were cleaned every day and this was without any problems.
It had a shower and a tub, a hairdryer and a small fridge.

The hotel itself has more than 400 rooms now. It looks a little bit old from the outside but that was not something which disturbed us. There are 2 or 3 pools, several bars and palm trees all around the hotel. Nearly every night there are some actvities like native dancers or singing groups.

The restaurant was very nice and big. There was buffet every night which changed every day: Canarian, Asian ... and so on. And the food is changing, to disagree with some of the older posts here. Prices for alcoholic beverages are ok in my opinion. They have different beers, a huge selection of wines and cava. The service was good.

Distance to the beach is only a few meters. Do not go to the pool, go to the beach! The beach is black and is very hot when the sun shone for a few hours. It consists of bigger and smaller stones as well as sand, depending on which part of the beach you are. I recommend aqua shoes.

There is another beach approx. 2 kilometers from the hotel. It is calles 'Charco Verde'. I recommend going there, the beach is smaller but nicer and the water is more clear. For directions: Just leave the street where the entrance to the hotel is, turn right and follow the street. There are several streets going to the right but follow the street until you see the sign reading 'Charco Verde'.

All in all our stay was very nice and I can recommend this hotel.

To see something from the area book trekking tours from Natour-Trekking. They do tours to all parts of the island (volcanos, Caldera de Taburiente and so on) in all languages. Try it!

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — Lifts sometimes needed long times to respond :)
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ruandrettert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Naos
7.3 km away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
9.5 km away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 7 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
16.5 km away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 4 in Playa De Los Cancajos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 14 in Brena Baja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
16.2 km away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#1 of 4 in Playa De Los Cancajos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.8 km away
Las Norias
Las Norias
#2 of 9 in Tazacorte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol La Palma Hotel

Property: Sol La Palma Hotel
Address: Puerto Naos s/n | La Palma, 38769 Puerto Naos, La Palma, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Puerto Naos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Naos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol La Palma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set overlooking the tranquil Puerto Naos beach, this 4-star hotel complex is located in a small town on the sunny west coast of the island of La Palma. Sol La Palma has several swimming pools, a gym, tennis court, children's playground and professional star-gazing facilities. There is also an activities programme and a wellness center. The local area is ideal for outdoor activity enthusiasts. You can rent bikes, do paragliding or go scuba diving just opposite the hotel. Sol La Palma is located 8 km from Los Llanos de Aridane and 35 km from the airport and Santa Cruz de la Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sol La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Puerto Naos
Puerto Naos Sol Melia
Sol La Palma Hotel Puerto Naos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing