We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
FindHotel
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
63
61
9
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
61
9
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 139 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish we could have extended our stay. We really enjoyed the views from our patio and the pool area. Cecile the owner was a wonderful host and gave us recommendations for food and made reservations for us. The breakfast had a big variety of food and drinks too which filled us up for our days of activities and swimming. Would highly recommend this lovely hotel, we will come back!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 171rachelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018

This is a nice B&B hotel in a tiny pretty village which is great value for the money. It has great views and a much welcome swimming pool. It is perfectly placed to enjoy the stunning local scenery and in particular the Verdon Gorge. Our room had everything we needed and was very clean. Being furthest away from reception on the north side against the hillside it was a little dark with no view and quite cool but there are heaters if you need them. However, we did not spend long in the room as there is so much to do in the area. There is good internet access in the lounge area but it did not reach our room. This was no great problem for us. There is no dining other than breakfast. We enjoyed dinner in the chateau which is great quality but not particularly cheap and easy walking distance. It may be worth booking this at high season as there are not many local dining options without driving. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. They helped us get the most out of our short stay. Breakfast was good an plentiful.

Room tip: South facing room might be better choice if available
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rob-0000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
402CECILE, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vieil Amandier, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

thank a a lot for your comment.,we are so happy that you appreciate the hotel , our so beautifull village and the famous gorges du verdon
we hope see you an other time
thank you
cecile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2018

If you are lucky enough to visit this hotel, you will find it to be quite a treat. The owner, Cecile, gives new meaning to the term "hospitality." We have just returned from an absolutely delightful three night stay and plan to return as soon as we can.

First, the basics. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated, with excellent bathrooms and mattresses. You can choose a room with a southern exposure looking out on the valley and mountains with a private terrace. Or you can choose a room facing the garden which is the same size but without a terrace. Definitely go for the terrace rooms because the difference in price is minimal.

Cecile and her daughter prepare a magnificent breakfast. There is home made yoghurt, cereals, cheeses, omelettes, boiled eggs, every kind of bread and cake you can imagine (much of it home made), fruit, and delicious local jams and marmelades--all served in the delightful pool area or the interior dining room if the weather is not cooperating.

Cecile is happy to inform you about your options for activities in the neighborhood, including how to take the most advantage of the nearby Gorges du Verdon-the French Grand Canyon. In addition to a tour of the canyons, we did two days of walks in the back country, following the expert advice of Cecile on the best routes to take. It was delightful! You should not miss a meal at the Chateau de Trigance nearby which Cecile will arrange for you. If you want something more down to earth, there is also a bar/restaurant in the village. Both these options are a five minute walk from the hotel.
Cecile can fill you in on the many other dining alternatives in the neighboring villages. For picnics, there is a small grocery store in the village that also sells wine.

The hospitality at Le Vieil Amandier is truly exceptional. Well worth the detour, as the French say.

Room tip: Best rooms are on the south side.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
402CECILE, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vieil Amandier, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

thank a lot for your comment I hope you are fine .It was also a pleasure to receive you .
We hope see you an other time
merci beaucoup
cecile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a trip to Gorges du Verdon. Lovely, quiet hotel with an amazing view and nice little pool. The owner was very helpful and gave me some tips about which places to visit. Great breakfast. All in all highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 271marijnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
402CECILE, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Vieil Amandier, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

hello thank you very much for your comment , I am happy that I can help you for your visit.
nice to see you an other time
cecile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017

On our recent cycle tour on tandem we stayed in this wonderful- hotel- the veiw were just awesome - the breakfast was excellent and on the owners suggestion we were booked in for Dinner at Chateau de Trigance (9th century fortress) - this was just the most amazing experience - as we were right inside this magnificent fortess - the food was incredible- and atmosphere so romantic - and evening to remember

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews