We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domaine de Brandois
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Mothe Achard
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Paradise”
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Great location - easy to find.
The decor is very very impressive.
the surroundings are like paradise.
the Room is MORE THAN 5 star.
The restaurant is perfect (AMAZING)and
the best place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestGentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    127
    33
    18
    10
See reviews for
52
211
2
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Although no reception desk, but rather a salon, we were greeted very welcomming upon arrival, with info brochures of the region. Breakfast is served at table (when sunny outside), with a variety of bread and hot drinks, cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad and orange juice, ...

Very clean toilets. Garden well maintained. Pool is spotless, many deckchairs and nice setting with lots of flowers. Gated, so safe for children.
Stables too very clean.

We stayed at the Verger. No luxury, although tv and free Wifi. Daily fresh towels and good duvet, good cleaning. Free bottles of water. No noise. Minus: warm water takes long to reach furthest rooms.

Some extra facilities would be nice: jeux de boules, badminton, ... Grounds are big enough to ensure tranquility, but given children are welcomed, it would be nice.
If you have children who like kiddiesclub and disco: don't go! Lots of space to frisbee, play with a ball, ... (to bring yourselves).

Enough to do in the region, also for kids, but car needed. Beach at 15min, swamps with boattrips at 45min. La Rochelle and Ile de Ré just over an 1hr, old castle with kids animation at 20min, ... In village (walking distance): nice garden with veggie shop. Guided walks, treasure hunt for kids, "touch, taste and smell"

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitafor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2008

The hotel is made up of a small late 1800s chateau and some out-houses for more basic accomodation. It is very chilled out and a great idea for anyone wanting to really relax. A very pleasant 13-15 meter pool set in a walled-garden and surrounded by trees. The restaurant had a very high standard with an impressive menu (especially deserts), however the red-wine was chilled or stored in too cold a setting. The service was friendly. Since it's such a small hotel, there is no room service available (only breakfast).

Our room was a "first category" room , large with high ceilings, with contempory feel. Bath and sink were in the actual hotel room (which I liked, but some may not) and separate closed toilet. The room was very clean and with contemporary design (although the design appears a little haphazard, the carpet would be better place in a school computer room) and large flat LCD TV. Even though everything is clean, modern and comfortable. You cant help but feel this hotel was a DIY design job, with little serious design consideration and the building is so beautiful it deserves better.

It seems like a new project and lacks a certain professionalism. At one stage the very friendly cleaning staff entered the room and notified us that it was their last room and when could they do it. Also, we were woken at 4am one of the nights with a fire alarm. Being on the top floor of an old chateau we decided to get up as did everyone else. It persisted for a good while and there was no staff in the building and no explanation. It eventually stopped. The day after when we mentioned it to the receptionist, she had not known about it.

This hotel is generally very good, but needs tweaking (small tweaks but many of them). If you're in this region I would definitely check it out. In terms of cleanliness, facilities, comfort and relaxation I would rate it very highly. It definitely is better than it's 3 star ranking. I would rate it as a 5 star guest-house, 4.5 star hotel.

If you have not been in this region and are thinking of coming for a long weekend close to La Rochelle, I wouldn't. Not much here. Les Sables D'Olonne has some nice beaches, but if I was coming again, I'd go to Ile de Ré instead.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank purtyrancor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2008

I selected this Chateau specifically to have a relaxing weeks holiday with my partner. The website shows a magnificent building with a contemporary twist and this appealed to us.

The accommodation is in three buildings, the Chateau itself with comfort or superior rooms, the Priory and basic accommodation in the Orchard. I booked a Castle room superior.

Having driven for many hours we arrived to find the Chateau had been very poorly refurbished. The interior is badly decorated on top of original features, obviously a cheaper option than to restore it to its former glory.

The entrance does not have a reception as such, just a room set-aside as an office with desk and office equipment.

What happened next left me outraged. I was told the Chateau was full and that I had been allocated a room in the Priory. Because it was getting late I viewed this room. It was very small with hardly enough room to walk around the bed. It had one very small window and a shower in the same room. Needless to say this was not acceptable. A far cry from those depicted on their and other websites so be warned!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancophileKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mothe Achard
33.6 km away
Hotel Thierry Drapeau
Hotel Thierry Drapeau
#1 of 1 in Saint-Sulpice-le-Verdon
165 reviews
17.9 km away
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa les Sables d'Olonne MGallery Collection
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa ...
#2 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
921 reviews
17.7 km away
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Hotel les Embruns
Hotel les Embruns
#1 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
384 reviews
17.0 km away
Mercure La Roche Sur Yon Centre
Mercure La Roche Sur Yon Centre
#1 of 15 in La Roche-sur-Yon
411 reviews
20.3 km away
Club Les Jardins de l'Atlantique
Club Les Jardins de l'Atlantique
#2 of 6 in Talmont Saint Hilaire
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Brandois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Brandois

Property: Domaine de Brandois
Address: Allee du Brandois | Les Achards, 85150 La Mothe Achard, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > La Mothe Achard
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Mothe Achard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Brandois 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine de Brandois ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine de Brandois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing