We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location. Great value.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Rey Apartment

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Competa, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Teresa F
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location. Great value.”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great stay at Casa Rey. It is very much as the pictures show. The view from the apartment and swimming pool is amazing. The apartment is clean, tidy and comfortable and fulfilled our needs completely. Due to the absence of the owners during the day, it felt like we were getting all the benefits of a villa at a fraction of the price. Debbie and Alick are really friendly and helpful. They are full of knowledge of the area and are happy to give advice as required.
We loved Timmy and Maddie, the two golden cocker spaniels. They are really friendly and enhanced our holiday immensely. If you want the dogs around you, Debbie and Alick are happy to oblige. However, by default they are kept away.
Car parking is adequate for any competent driver.
If you are looking for a peaceful and economical holiday, with the benefits of a lovely Spanish town within 20 minutes walk or a few minutes drive, this is the perfect choice. We loved it and plan to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool and views.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and you highlight perfectly what we see as our unique selling point; the benefits offered by renting a villa i.e. pool, peacefulness and relative privacy at a fraction of the cost. We hope you stay with us again. Timi and Maddie are also looking forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsay19...
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great value, great views, great hosts”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wherever you stay in and around Competa the locations are superb, once you get used to how to access them. Scary the first time.
You will be amazed by the scenery, the walks, the perfect climate and above all Competa town itself with the best selection of eateries of incredible quality and value anywhere in Europe.
Casa Rey itself has all the facilities you need for a couple . Comfy bed , good bath & shower, decent clean kitchen equipment, superb pool with fantastic views of the mountains down to the sea. Only thing missing was an ice box in the fridge to plonk cubes in my Gin.
Finally have to mention the dogs Timmi & Maddie wish we could have taken them home with us.................oh and Debbie and Alick weren't bad either !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: value
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and we take on board your comment re an ice box. We'll try and remedy this for future guests, which we hope will include yourselves. Timi and Maddie say,"Bowzie wowzie!"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike r
Dayton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dated, bug infested and disinterested owner”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Bugs invaded and owner gave us practically empty bug spray. Tough to find and no parking. dogs guard pool so did not use. Basement smell musty, power failure and ill equiprd kitchen and unit. No coffee pot. Owners not responsive. Needs updating badly

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
This review relates to a stay over a year ago, May 2014 and we are curious as to why it has taken so long to submit it and feel that the recollection of your guests may not be as clear as it might have been had it been submitted immediately following their stay. Infact some of the points raised are so inaccurate that we wonder whether they do relate to another property.
Additionally we do not regard this as a fair review as you did not stay at the property yourself. We had no idea that you were not the person who would be staying at the apartment until you brought your guests to us. Your guests clearly had not had any input into where they were staying and were expecting to stay in the centre of a village. They certainly did not know they were going to be staying in a rural setting. It was clear from the moment they arrived that it was not the kind of holiday they liked and they would have preferred to be on the coast where they could walk to everything and also so that they did not have to drive as he was not happy to drive a car with gears.
To address your particular comments:
a) Bug infested - the gentleman came and told us that ants were getting under the door to the apartment. My husband went down with some ant powder and liberally placed it outside of the door. He left the remainder of the preparation for the clients to use. We have a note in our visitors manual asking that people ensure that food is not left on the surfaces as, during the hot weather, it does attract ants. Unfortunately your guests did not take any notice of this and left food and rubbish bags in the apartment, hence the attraction to ants. We were not made aware of any other “bugs”
b) Difficult to find - we give comprehensive directions to all apartment guests. I am assuming that the gentleman who arranged the trip did not pass this onto the people who stayed in our apartment. These directions have been honed over the 10 years we have rented the apartment and we have only had a couple of people who have not found us first time.
c) No parking - we do have parking for three cars on the drive.
d) Dogs guarding the pool - We have a gate which leads up to the pool and the dogs will sometimes go down and sit behind it to say hello to visitors as they are friendly and curious. Anybody who has met them will vouch for the fact that they are not dogs that "guard", if only! As you will see from other reviews, many people have commented on the friendliness of the dogs and for some it has enhanced their holiday. We make it clear on the website that we have dogs by posting a picture of ourselves and the dogs. If people do not like dogs then they can make the decision as to whether Casa Rey will be suitable for them. If we are aware that guests are not that keen on dogs we keep them out of the way.
e) Basement musty. We do not have a basement so cannot comment on what might have smelt "musty", I can only assume this might have been another property that they stayed at during their tour of Spain.
f) Power failure - in Southern Spain we do still sometimes have temporary power outtages, these last for a few minutes and are now extremely infrequent.
g) Ill equipped kitchen. The kitchen is equipped with everything that we feel people need for a self catering stay, including a cafetiere for making coffee so not sure why they have said there was not a coffee pot, I particularly remember showing the lady where it was as this was the first thing she asked. We do ask guests on a regular basis if they feel that there is anything else that is needed in terms of utensils etc and have always been told that we have everything and more.
h) Needs updating badly. The pictures on the website show the apartment as it is. It has been updated since then to include a Smart flat screen LED TV and a Bluetooth music player and is painted at the beginning of each season.
i) Unresponsive owners – the only time we were contacted by your guests was regarding the ants and this was resolved straightway so we are unsure as to what this might relate to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annawii
Umeå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful & charming”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Rey is located in a beautiful area with the most fantastic view over the landscape and you can see the ocean from the house. The appartment was over our expections with a comfy bed, very fresh bathroom, a full quipped kitchen and very roomy overall. We got to use the pool as much as we wanted and the owners are very kind and helpful and they're dogs are super cute. It's 5 minutes drive from the most beautiful town I've ever been to - Competa. It's titally white and filled with cosy streets so we went there every day just so feel the atmosphere. It takes around 45 minutes to Nerja and it's also worth a visit.

We were very pleased with our week at Casa rey and will hopefully book it again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The poll and the area
Liked least: The only thing I didnät like was that the appartment didnät have a freezer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
estherwri...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“~X~ Perfect! ~X~”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My friend and I have just returned from staying at this beautiful studio. Tastefully decorated inside and most comfortable. It has everything you need including wifi! The owners Alick and Debbie are the perfect hosts. Most helpful, they are there if you need them and are not if you don't! as they do not impose at all. My friend and I were made feel most welcome, from the moment of our arrival until the moment we left. The beautiful swimming pool is perfect for the hot sunshine, and the breath taking views are absolutely stunning. This place is a perfect retreat to get away from it all. However it is also within easy walking distance to the beautiful and charming little town of Competa. It is a traditional little Spanish town that will capture your heart! Everything you need is in this little town. There are many restaurants and a few little shops that you can wander inside. In the main square is also a beautiful church, a must see! Occasionaly it has an English speaking service on a Sunday at 6pm. If you want to venture out of town there is a regular bus service, and also taxi service. In the town you can also hire a car if that is your preference. There are many places to go and see not far from Competa. Therefore you have the best of both worlds, either stay by the pool and totally relax or go and explore the many beautiful places surrounding the area! I would highly recommend this place I have no complaints, only that I did not want to leave! What made our holliday extra special was the adorable little dogs 'Timmy' and 'Madddie' they made our holliday feel 'home from home'. Like their owners they are there only if you want them to be! Overall this holliday studio and location, along with the owners service is such a great value for the money!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it!
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position, facilities and the hosts
Liked least: Nothing negative to say
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alison T
Surbiton, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place, great value”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This Apartment is in a lovely location not far from Competa. It is kept very clean and tidy and great views. Helpful friendly owners and I would defintely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of the property and views.
Liked least: Leaving the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing