We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely amazing place and so friendly”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Finca Los Pinos

Pool and outdoor eating area surrounded by beautiful gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and outdoor eating area surrounded by beautiful gardens
Looking up to the honesty pool bar built into the rock above the pool The entrance to Finca Los Pinos
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Pool and outdoor eating area surrounded by beautiful gardens
Looking up to the honesty pool bar built into the rock above the pool
The entrance to Finca Los Pinos
Finca La Pequena at the top
The top of Finca La Pequnea beautifully decorated traditionally Spanis
Looking from the kitchen through the Spanish arches, across  two sitting rooms in Finca Los Pinos
View to the pool from the top of La Pequena
Views to the mountains and the sea from La Pequena
Log Cabin 1, double en suite hidden in the trees
Interior decoration of a log cabin, en suite, to Andalusian style
Looking into the en suite bathroom of a log cabin, all newly decorated
Every little detail thought of in the log cabins
Tea  and fresh coffee in every cabin, Andalusian style
Ralaxation on your balcony of a log cabin, Andalusian and Moroccan furniture
So Spanish
Andalusian and Moroccan themes
Looking up to a log cabin, angst the trees, from the yoga lawn
Yoga, tha chi, meditation,outdoor workout or simply Croquet the new real lawn , hidden in the trees
The breakfast cabin and games room at Finca Los Pinos
The yoga lawn in full swing
Attention to Spanish tradition and hstory
Walk, hike or bike through the surrounding mountains right from your doorstep
Pool side Honesty Bar
Outdoor dining area next to the pool. This year a new poolside bar, nestled in the rocks and trees
BBQ next to the pool,David will cook you the best South African bbq with hand picked SA wines
Relaxing decking area with dappled light and cushions and hammocks here in the Spring and Summer
Outside La Pequeña - beautiful poolside, 4 bed, self catering Cassita - very Spanish
La Pequena side view
View of La Pequña and the wall around the pool and the al fresco dining area
view down the drive and the side of the Finca/Villa - viewing the windows of the inside dining area
Rustic elegance. Double bed log cabin, furnished with antique wardrobes, dressing table and chairs.
Outside dining around the pool
Competa Main Square.
Excursions offered, waterfalls and turqoise rockpools, a hidden gem
Master bedroom en suite top of second villa, La Pequena
Master en suite bedroom in Main Villa, Finca Los Pinos
View from Pool Bar balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
10 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Competa, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy S
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing place and so friendly”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Beautiful location, dramatic walks, passionate hosts all equals a very memorable and enjoyable week. I celebrated a significant birthday whilst I was at this fabulous place. Dave and Sarah pulled out all the stops to make the day very special. Both Alex and I were truly thankful for the efforts they went to for my big day.
The nearby beaches are very good with Nerja being great for ice cream and mooching. We will definitely be returning to Competa again. Everyone we met was very friendly and accommodating. It really is a fantastic place.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An outstanding place to stay, beautiful accommodation, lovely scenery, helpful owner.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed as a group of 14 for a week's working trip away from our university.

The accommodation around the pool, and in more secluded huts was excellent, as were the hammocks,and chance ot gaze at the night sky. The owner arranged an excellent barbecue, and a hike as well.

Nearby Granada and Nerja are excellent trips out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all good.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stepherik...
2 reviews
“Finca Los Pinos was great, but the hosts and location made it exceptional.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Finca Los Pinos, I booked 10 days in the fantastic accommodation at the end of May to celebrate my wife’s 50th birthday with family and friends (13 in total).
Right from the minute I booked Finca Los Pinos I felt I struck gold. I enquired about this villa through Owners Direct and then started corresponding with the owner David Mills directly. David was very informative and I felt very at ease that he would be a perfect host for our holiday. The photo’s on David’s website were great but having been to this little patch of heaven I have to say the villas and log cabin surpassed my expectations. It would of course be impossible to show the scale of the accommodation, the quietness of the surrounding area, and the dark nights sky’s revealing stars and planets, which I haven’t noticed for years.
We arrived at the villa at 2am in the morning, David kindly waited up for us and showed us around our villa, he also put together a food and drink welcome pack so we could have a drink and breakfast before heading into the charming Spanish town of Competa for supplies.
Next morning we were introduced to Sarah and Dan who were also around to help us enjoy our holiday. Got to say that I have never met such helpful, considerate and kind people on holiday before. The level of personal service, which was free, would normally come at a big cost if staying at a hotel.
My wife’s 50th birthday was a huge success, David started the day by discussing the plan for the BBQ party including a birthday cake (Banana cake). Later Sarah brought up a fantastic bouquet of flowers and balloon’s. My wife was overwhelmed by this kind and generous gesture.
David spent most of the day preparing the food and in the evening we had the most fantastic BBQ, David, Sarah and Dan work relentlessly to make this party a success. Even my Grandaughter who is a fussy eater lapped up the rack of ribs, which is a big compliment in itself. The cocktails from the well stocked and competitively priced pool bar were also flowing very nicely.
During the week David and Dan organised and took the more energetic members of our party on guided walks into the mountains and the scenery was stunning, this gave everyone the opportunity to do their own thing. The villa complex had so much to offer. The kids (aged 10 and 11) obviously loved the pool and trampoline, but also the independence of the own log cabin, which was a fantastic adventure for them. I personally enjoyed the tranquility of the hammocks set amongst wind chimes and a slight African theme, which is part of David and Sarah heritage.
On our last night we asked David to do a curry evening, which again was perfect.
In summary Finca Los Pinos was great, but the hosts and location made it exceptional. Thankyou very much David, Sarah and Dan for a great family holiday we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent C
Bailleval, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet lookout at the doors of the National Park”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

First, we would like to thank David, Sarah, Dan and family. They were very nice and always very helpful and largely contributed to a great holiday.

We spent two weeks at Finca los Pinos in late April-early May. The house is located about 6-7 km south of Cómpeta itself, and easily accessible (about 20 minute’s drive from the coastal motorway). Accommodation consists of one main house, a smaller house and a few nice log cabins – the whole lot could definitely cater for a very large party. There were only four of us however, and we stayed in the main house, which is big enough for 4-6 people, very nice, cosy and has all you possibly need. Mattresses are also very good – this is rare enough to be noted!

The property itself is huge – my kids regularly went “hiking” within it - and consists of an olive grove, a respectably-sized pine forest to the back of the houses and a very well-cared Mediterranean garden in front of the house. It is limited on one side by a dried arroyo (gully) and by the National Park of Tejeda and Almijara on another side, which you can access directly from the house on a short but steep goat track (there are no fences). The terrain is locally rather steep, and has a natural “feel” to it, with some wild vegetation and the like – brilliant for adventurous kids (albeit probably not so for toddlers). There is also a trampoline and even a bar, both close to the main house. We spent a lot of time around the swimming pool and adjacent BBQ area, where you can relax and which offers great views on the Axarquía and the sea. Note that the swimming pool is about 2 m deeper at its deepest, and is not guarded by a fence. That was great for our kids, who swim well and like “real” pools, but extra care should be taken with younger kids.

Finca los Pinos is a very quiet place – neighbours are far apart, and it is actually the last house on the track. It is situated literally at the door of the national park. While the sea is easily accessible by car, the whole place has more of a mountainous feel, and Finca los Pinos is a great starting point for walks through Sierra de Almijara and Axarquía. There’s even some serious hiking to be done: the house is only a few km away from the Tejeda-Almija “gran recorrido” path (very well signaled) and a number of other long hikes, some with a almost Alpine character (the Lucero “climb”, for instance). Those are generally long but technically easy enough, albeit very poorly signaled – good walking guides and maps can be found in Cómpeta though. The Tejeda-Almijara park is not one among the better-known national parks of Spain, but is surprisingly big and wild, with a definite Alpine feel and some great views to the sea and the Axarquia. Vegetation at this time of year is blooming - it was much greener than we expected. Also, wildlife is quite rich: wild goats, in particular, are relatively easy to spot. In short, Finca los Pinos is a highly recommended base for walkers and hikers. There’s also a ranch (los Olivillos) a few km away, which offers very nice (but rather expensive) rides into the park, and will even cater for young kids.

Note for travelers in quest of “authenticity”: the Cómpeta-Frigiliana area sometimes feels a bit like an “English colony”, with a huge proportion of the local population made up of foreign residents (mostly from the UK and northern Europe). This is most probably a plus for non-Spanish speakers, who will be attended in English at most shops and restaurants. Note, in any case, that both Cómpeta and Frigiliana are very well-preserved, beautiful towns, with the typical “Moorish feel” of the white villages and are definitely worth visiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet/location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familygoa...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We arrived at the beginning of April and had a wonderful holiday. The accommodation was spacious and clean. The views were amazing, with a national park right on the doorstep. David and Sarah couldn't have been more helpful, providing us with advice on local restaurants and places to visit, and made us feel very welcome. We were a bit worried our two children (aged 10 and 14) would be a bit bored, but they definitely weren't - lots of swimming and table tennis tournaments! Days were spent visiting the local area, walking, eating in Competa (a lovely restaurant called Oscars). We would definitely like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clotilde2...
Granada, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“spot on”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Tranquil stay in beautiful surroundings. Sarah and David were so helpful, cooking us wonderful food and preparing the cottage with a warm fire for our arrival. My 8 year old son said he wanted to live there permanently, with a huge trampoline, a games room and the finca's own piney hillsides to explore. During the day we either went on stunning walks in the surrounding countryside or just chilled out on the property. The cottage was super comfortable. The holiday really recharged our batteries and left us with a great sense of peace. Can't thank you enough David and Sarah!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm welcome, tranquility
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrightM20...
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great family holiday in one of the most scenic parts of Spain”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We have been holidaying in Finca Los Pinos for many years and have always enjoyed it's facilities and space this villa has to offer. The swimming pool and surrounding area is perfect for our extended family and we all look forward to our summer breaks in Spain. Competa is a lovely village with good restaurants and local supplies. David and Sarah have added a cocktail bar and an option for guests to relax around the pool as they cook you a barbeque, this we would fully recommend. The main villa's showers do need updating but this wouldn't stop us returning and fully recommending this as a great holiday at a reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor lifestyle and location
Liked least: bathroom facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$553
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing