We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach”

Father Rooster Beachfront Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Father Rooster is the premier beachfront bar & restaurant on the northern Pacific coast of Costa Rica. The location and scenery combined with top quality (yet very simple) food and our famous frozen drinks makes Father Rooster a must see on your next visit to Costa Rica. This is the place where the locals and tourists sit side by side sipping cocktails, eating fresh Mahi-mahi and Tuna and watching the sunset over the Pacific. This is the place where Hemmingway would have hung his hat and the place that Buffet would write songs about. Its the place that you have been looking for all of your life... Come on in, and enjoy!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food and drinks.. The location and atmosphere on the beach at Playa Ocotal is great. We used the carry out service. We could walk there from the condo we were staying at.

Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve G, Owner at Father Rooster Beachfront Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review Kenneth! I hope that next time you can join us for a few hours, perhaps at sunset, to enjoy the atmosphere along with the food. We have live music tonight, Wednesday, at sunset. That is the ideal time to visit. And, we just brought in a bunch of fresh catch. Chef Mario is preparing a special sushi menu for the evening.

Thanks again for the great review and for your business.

Steve, Luis and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 952 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2018

What a great place to have dinner on the beach. the food and service was great . I had fresh grilled fish very tasty. A very fun place to out to .

Thank sawyerrj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve G, Owner at Father Rooster Beachfront Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thank you very much Sawyerrj79! I am very happy that you ordered our grilled fish. It is, in my opinion, one of our very best plates and made with fish caught right in the Gulf of Papagayo in front of our restaurant. Thank you very much for your business and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Please come back again soon!

Steve, Christine and Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our dinner last night at Father Rooster. The best part was that the weather was great the the temperature was very comfortable. I had the fish and chips with mahi mahi and my wife had the taco sampler. We started with an order of patacones. Good food. Friendly waitstaff. Prices weren't bad either.

Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve G, Owner at Father Rooster Beachfront Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thank you very much for the great review Bruce T! We appreciate your business and taking the time to share your experience with the world. I will pass on your compliments to the chef and to the waitstaff. Again, thanks for stopping in!

Steve & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

We had a great dinner at this place service was very good. And we stay at the beach all day.
Will definitely come back

Thank verclaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve G, Owner at Father Rooster Beachfront Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review Verclaco! And, thank you for your business. I am very happy to hear that you had a good experience at the Father Rooster. Please come back again soon!
Steve, Christine and Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018

First the good news. The service is good. The atmosphere is fantastic on the beachfront in Ocotal. You can sit inside, or outside on the sand under an umbrella. The food average beach food and fairly tasty. I had the seafood tacos. The taco shells were too small to pick up and eat without getting food all over your hands and dripping all over. (Unless you have a really wide mouth). The shrimp taco contained 2 medium shrimp. The fish taco was generous. The tuna taco was sort of icky because the "seared" tuna was substantially overdone. The frozen lemonade was very tasty.
Now for the bad news. The prices are expensive, but most of all is the end of meal surprise. In Costa Rica it is the LAW that all prices in restaurants include tax and service. However, there was a tiny square on the menu saying it was not included. Easy to miss. And also against the law in CR. So my $16.00 tacos, which was a bit high, ended up costing almost $20.00 for 3 tiny tacos. So if you just want atmosphere, fine. But if you want a good meal at a fair price, skip it. The food is just average and the prices speak "haute cuisine". There are many other beachfront restaurants where you won't get ripped off.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Marla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Father Rooster Beachfront Bar & Grill also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Father Rooster Beachfront Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing