We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Room 99 at all cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Certificate of Excellence
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Avoid Room 99 at all cost”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on a craft weekend for the last four years. It's in a lovely position high on a hill, but some of the rooms are badly in need of updating. This year I was in Room 99. AAaaarrgh. It's what I affectionately called 'The Cave'. There is a wall around 3ft from the window, so no light in the room. It is also behind the swimming pool complex so it is noisy from 10pm to morning when they do the leisure area cleaning. There is the sound of a generator/pump all day and all night and after 10pm the sound of a weird tapping noise (sounds like someone in the room above jumping on the bed!!). I spent two sleepless nights in there and having paid a supplement for single occupancy I wasn't impressed by the managements help, or lack of. Basically the manager tried to fob me off with 'problems with the chlorin levels - it won't last long' and various other excuses. Why wasn't he just up front and explain the problem. This room should never be let to paying guests!!!

I complained to Best Western who basically said it's not our problem we don't own the hotel and passed it on to the person I was complaining about, said manager. Some of the reception staff are lovely and helpful, others not so. Don't mention mobile phone signals (you won't get one in Room 99) because you'll get a lecture from the receptionist who 'knows a lot about mobiles' to quote her.

I won't be returning to this hotel. Not because it's a dreadful place, but because there is a lack of customer care on the part of management. If I pay to stay in a hotel I expect respect and not lies.

Room Tip: Room 217 is a suite with a jacuzzi bath - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Dear Jeanieb.
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor and as we have already dealt with these problems via e mail It is not my intention to go over old ground only to say there were a number of lessons learned and I am glad that you feel we have resolved the situation.
As you said in your review you have attended these Craft Fayres for 4 years and we are delighted that you previously enjoyed them.
Once again please accept our apologies.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    271
    100
    42
    22
See reviews for
221
259
21
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Having stayed here numerous times over the years have seen big improvement the hotel has always been a nice hotel but is now being updated which is good to see,we got married here many years ago an they were fantastic it felt like they just opened the hotel for us personally ,the staff were that good and then recently my sister got married here and again they were fantastic the food was a hog roast at night supplied by the hotel Amazing....dont think you will be dissapointed on a stay at this hotel..

Room Tip: lovely village of frodsham down the hill lots of nice little pubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairet222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Dear ClairT
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review on Trip Advisor and i would like to thank you for your kind comments of which i shall take great pleasure passing onto our team here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel.
We have plenty of offers on in the new year so keep an eye on our website and we shall look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Food in the cafe overlooking the swimming pool was not good. Scampi was under cooked. Very slow service. Not a cosy room!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Dear Madjamie
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor.
I would like to thank you for describing our hotel as a pleasant Hotel and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I would like to offer my apologies for the aspects that you did not enjoy and give you my firm assurances they will be addressed by our team here at the Best Western Forest Hills.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stayed here recently with my husband, sister and brother in law. My sister bought this on a KGB deal. The room we had was a little like a 70's throwback, but the hotel does appear to be updating the rooms and having said this the room was warm and the bed comfortable. We had no view as we were at the back of the hotel, so cannot comment on the views in the rooms but the there is a nice view in the restaurant if you get a table by the window. We arrived on 11/11/2011 and the hotel was doing an £11 three course meal and £11 bottle of wine, so we booked. The food was good, especially the lamb. Breakfast was very good. The staff where very helpful and friendly. The swimming pool area was one of the nicest I have been in at a hotel, I especially liked the low lighting (we swam in the evening), very relaxing. The only thing I noticed when dining was that the waitresses uniform had seen better days, the blouses where far from pristine and the girls needed to put their hair up as they looked very untidy. All in all we had a lovely two nights here and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel, possibly because we had booked on a cheap deal. This room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Lozandpau.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed the experience.
The KGB offer has been very successful and we will be running more offers like that in the future.
If you keep an eye on our website we have some excellant offers if you fancy a break in the new year and we promise to give you a room with a view.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is one of their modern, purpose-built hotels, rather than a converted country house. The staff were cheerful and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and warm, and the bed was comfortable. The menu in the restaurant was fairly limited, but there were no problems with the quality. It will be my hotel of choice the next time I am in the vicinity.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear JBD47
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor giving us such positive feedback.
We have only recently joined Best Western and its proving to be a very benefical move.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Having just stayed for a long romantic weekend at this hotel I am compelled to write my first ever trip advisor review. I had read previous reviews stating the rooms were a bit dated, this may have been the case, but certainly no longer as rooms have now been updated as part of a recent refurbishment. The staff were extremely professional and food was fantastic. Excellent views over the Mersey and surrounding area.

I would highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: Room 107 had an excellent air bath with the highest water pressure I had ever seen (deep bath filled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Jackie P.
Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
I will take great pleasure in passing them on to the team here at the Best Western Forest Hills.
I am glad we were the first hotel you have reviewed and you had an enjoyable romantic weekend.
Its nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
We have lots of offers coming up in the new year so keep an eye on our website for them.
Yours sincerly
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orimattila, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I would have scored top points to this hotel without unfortunate fire alarm in the middle of the night. No advice what so ever from the staff. You need to figure out yourself when it was safe to go back in again. Very poor performance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turmanow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Turmanow
Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip advisor.
I am sorry you feel nobody gave you adequate instructions on when to re-enter the hotel,our policy whenever we have an alarms activated during the course of the night is to evacuate the premises and investigate immediately due to the reduced members of staff that are on duty in the building at the time.
I have discussed this with the duty manager who was staying in the hotel on the night in question and he has informed me that when it was discovered it was a false alarm all the customers who had left their rooms were informed that it was safe to re-enter the building as he and the night porter had verified the problem.
The safety and security of our guests is of the most paramount importance to us and we will never compromise this or put people at risk.
Once again many thanks for your comments
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
0.9 km away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
199 reviews
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
700 reviews
11.8 km away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
184 reviews
11.3 km away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
12.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest Hills Hotel

Property: Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Address: Overton Hill, Frodsham WA6 6HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Forest Hills Hotels a modern 3 Star Hotel.Situated just off the M56 yet set amidst beautiful Cheshire countryside.The panoramic views across the Cheshire Plains and the Mersey Estuary instantly tells you that the Best Western Forest Hills is something different.Set amongst quiet woodland,away from the hustle and bustle of the city,for a perfect nights sleep,yet just minutes away from the M56 which opens up the delights of Cheshire and North Wales and just a 20 minute drive from Chester.A perfect base for exploring the countryside,with the sandstone Trail on the doorstep.Ideal for families and Leisure Breaks.Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village for shopping and fun for the family at Chester Zoo,Blue Planet Aquarium and Gullivers World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Forest Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing