We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Star Beach Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$97
OZOHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Talay Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samui Resotel Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaba Cabana Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$67
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sarann(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
420
182
59
25
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
182
59
25
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuite villakoh samuioutdoor showerdream weddingrefreshing drinkthe cottagesnice balconydirect accesswould recommend this hotel to anyoneswimming pool isminute drivesea viewfisherman's villagebaht per personan upgradehappy hourmassage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It seems that the reviews of this property has everything to do with "expectations" and price they paid. We had the basic, lowest priced room and were extremely pleased. There was no ocean view and it was a 3 minute walk to restaurant/bar/pool, but the room was very large and had a nice balcony. The breakfast room has great ocean views and the food was extensive. The pool is very large and you can see the ocean from it. Sitting areas near the ocean is extensive, although the large supplied towels need to be replaced due to wear. The beach area is extensive and it is easy to spot and avoid the somewhat large rocks in the water. If want to walk the beach, you can walk 10-15 minutes in one direction and an hour + in another direction (Chaweng beach is easy to get to via a bridge over a stream). BTW, Chaweng beach is nice but it has one after another small hotels; in no way is this a classy area. The only think we disliked is that you are 15 minutes by car from center of town where most restaurants are; a shuttle will take you there (and even take you to a specific restaurant if you ask/insist) and then you take a taxi back that is not inexpensive. There is a happy hour at noon-1:00 and 5:00-6:00 where drinks are 2 for 1. Oh, the special beach barbeques are great and worth the price. I wish its game room was enhanced/fixed up so that there would be something to do when it rains.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael-ECC, Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear eHealth

Greetings from New Star Beach Resort

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed ‘Lovely Property’ review.
We are pleased that we met your expectations and found the hotel facilities to your liking. Thank you for your valued improvement comments and we are currently on process to sort the beach towels out.

With this said please do send us an email directly as we will be delighted and welcome you back to New Star Beach Resort.

My best regards,

Michael Eccles & Team
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

The resort, rooms, pool area and furniture are dated. The beach is short and very average being steep in many places and having rock outcroppings. This beach is cut off from Chaweng beach so do your research better than we did. No opportunity for long beach walks or dropping in at beach bars and restaurants. A cab or shuttle is required to go anywhere interesting from this property. We are in Thailand for 2 months so burning 5 days here is not the end of the world but it is overpriced for what you get. Not sure who hands out the stars but this is an average 3 star property

Room Tip: Not sure because we were stuck as far from everything as is possible
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 8trueadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael-ECC, Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 8trueadvisor

Greetings from Samui

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay here at New Star. Your additional comments about things to do on the island has been noted and we are currently in the process of additional excursion training with the team. We continually strive to meet each of our guest’s expectations and are ever improving our service and facilities with valuable guest feedback like yours.

Best Regards

Michael & Team
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We did not want to be on Bo Phut beach in a big resort so we sought out a smaller scale place. Our beachfront villa was really terrific, very spacious. We loved the beach and beach chairs, towels, etc...all good. We were disappointed in the quality of the food in general, breakfast was rather basic and dinner just wasn't good. Too bad. We had a lovely pool, water feature outside the entrance to our villa that obviously should have been "flowing" but was not operating. Signs of wear and tear overall - could use some refreshing. Other than that, we found the staff to be attentive (although several had pretty limited English...hard to complain) and for getting away from the masses of the Fisherman's Village area, this is a good location and a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael-ECC, Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Good afternoon Rhonda R

Thank you for writing your review here on Tripadvisor.

I would like to extend my most sincere appreciation to you in choosing to stay with us and for also finding the time to share such positive comments about the attentive team.

All the team truly hope that you will be able to return to New Star Beach Resort and it would be our pleasure to be able to host you here once again.

With kindest regards,

Michael & Team
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We’ve never had such a great stay at a hotel before. The hotel area is so nice, the room with balcony is more than “a room” - with a long hallway, three showers, a bed area and a very nice balcony. The staff at New Star is really the best. They are SO sweet and they make an effort to give you the best holiday. The areas around the pool, the beach and the bar are really really nice. Their smoothies - MUST TRY! SO SO good. If we could give the hotel more than five, we would. Absolutely recommendable!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank stephaniefasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael-ECC, Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear stephaniefasen

Greetings from New Star Beach Resort

Thank you for posting your ‘Absolutely Recommendable’ experience from your recent holiday here with us at New Star. It’s great to hear that you found the service from the team to be the BEST and our smoothies to be so so good.

Whenever your travel plans take you back to Thailand and Koh Samui, please do send us an email directly as I will be delighted to welcome you back to New Star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Sunny regards

Michael Eccles & Team
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

Nice view but no service. My husband and I did not feel welcome in this hotel however I saw all staff only welcome western foreigners. So if you are not western foreigners, you really need to reconsider seriously when making yr decision to book this hotel.
Booked hotel car pickup but the staff held up the paper with wrong name on it. I had to seek help from other hotel's staff to find the driver from New Star. Most of the staff (including the manager (I guessed he was the manager) who just passed by us nearby beach and pool side bar did not greet with us) (only had about 3 staff were courtesy and greeted with us) . We stayed in pool villa in the first 2 nights. However the airconditioner had noise in the mid night intermittently from 3am to 6am and We had been woken up. We complained but no one apologised to us. We called front desk and complained at 5am. The staff said we could change room as there s room available. She told us whenever we were ready, we just called front desk or went to front desk. However when I called around 10am, the staff received my call without courtesy and did not have any record about our case. That showed there had management problem and bad internal communication. After we talked to front desk manager again, the problem was solved. So we could have better sleep for the last 2 nights. Tried Bbq seafood dinner buffet on the beach but the food was cold and really regretted to make such decision

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ada C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael-ECC, Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Ada C

Thank you for taking the time to fill in the tripadvisor review. Comments / Issues good or bad are always brought up in our morning meetings with all head of departments and we try to rectify these as soon as possible.

Please accept my sincerest apology for the below experience and expectation that you endured whilst you were staying with us at New Star Beach Resort.

Please let me point out a few issues that you experienced and try to clarify.

When you arrived at the airport you may not have been aware that you were in the area arrivals hall and as per the e-mail that you received prior to your arrival that the hotel pick up will be at the meeting point area. The driver was standing by for your arrival in this area with your correct name on the sign. You asked the W Hotel airport representatives (Desk) and they kindly helped you to find the meeting point area.

Unfortunately the air-condition issue we were not able to resolve this within the time frame of 1 hour (You rejected the offer of an instant room change) so the team upgraded you to the remaining stay to the highest category room type the Beach Front Villa so you were able to enjoy the rest of your short stay with us.

I do also apologies that I may have been a little distracted as you may have seen the team and I were conducting a ceremonial wedding near your beach front villa.

Whilst it is disappointing that you felt your stay with us was regrettable, should you decide to reconsider a return visit in the future, we would welcome the opportunity to demonstrate the usual high standards of service New Star is more frequently praised for.


Sincerely,

Michael Eccles & Team
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews