We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalala Samui Resort
Ranked #1 of 68 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

What a great looking hotel. Dont let the entrance scare you. Once youre over the little bridge you will be in a little paradise... Service is great, the staff is so friendly, to bad that a lot of the staff do not speak english, thats the only downside. The rest is just perfect, perfect, perfect! Especially the beach... We go back here again next September....

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisy1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

Do not be put off by the view from the road. We arrived at night and were taken to our bungalow. We found this is room only but we had a fridge and they kindly supplied kettle and 2 bottles of water daily. Next morning we walked through bungalows past swimming pool and found restaurant on beach. Heaven! Rooms are very basic . Pool towels supplied and all linen changed daily.
Take cash for payment of hotel as 3% charge on cards even debit cards. Credit card would not work in their machine although UK c.c. company stated no one attempted to use it. 24hr convenience store over road. American breakfast consisting of fresh fruit or juice, 2 eggs bacon.toast, tea/coffee for only 180 bahts at restaurant. Other meals very good and reasonable. Quickest way to town is along beach (hard sand) and cut through hotels.
Going by road on converted truck 50 baht. Fireworks and chinese lanterns all along the beach in the evenings. Massages and treatments at hotel very good and reasonable lasting about an hour. Staff very friendly and had many laughs with them.Only 8 sunbeds on beach but always managed to get one. Plenty of bed round pool and staff always willing to get extra beds or move them around. Reception advised us to take laundry next door as it was a lot cheaper. Trips around island by boat or bus were really good. Lovely meal included on boat trip. Koh Samui airport must be best small airport in world. Free drinks and snacks provided at boarding gates.

Room Tip: The higher the number the nearer the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanandMick4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Excellent location, right on the beach, the north of Chaweng beach. There are around 12 bungalows.It looks like Smurfs village, so picturesque, with nice swimming pool area, the beach is occupied with restaurants tables and chairs, however there are some spots for sunbeds as well. Reasonable prices, amazing cleaning service, great restaurant service, very relaxing place. The fridge and TV and WiFi in the room, but no coffee maker in the room. The safe box was at the reception, which was accessible from 8.00 am to 11.00 pm.It is nearby a busy centre of Chaweng beach 10 minutes walk from busy centre,but not too noisy, no parties,no airplanes like in the middle of Chaweng beach. 7 eleven corner shop right on the door step. We loved that place, the staff was so polite and professional. It is PARADISE, a hidden gem, the best place we stayed in Thailand so far.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tereza16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The hotel is located at the north end of Chaweng Beach. It is on the quieter side of Chaweng but just a bit further from the center for my liking. It is very close to the airport about a 10 minute drive away. The property itself is rather small and there are about a dozen or so units at the property. All the units are small little bungalows. I booked a sea view bungalow but the descriptions really aren’t very accurate. None of the units have a sea view however it’s not the end of the world as you are only steps away from the sea. There are two convenience stores right across the street from the property (7-11 and Family Mart).

The beach in front of the hotel is rather narrow. The hotel uses most of the beach for tables for the restaurant and the sun beds are right up against the water. Chaweng Beach after the flooding in the spring has lost a lot of sand so many parts of the beach (in particular around the area of the Chalala) is a lot narrower than it was in the past.

Inside the bungalow, the room had a TV but no safe. You can store any valuables in the lockers at the reception. The beds are located on a platform a few steps up. Wifi at the hotel was free and worked surprisingly well. Breakfast is not included but there is a restaurant at the hotel. I found the hotel restaurant a bit pricey relative to other places but the food wasn’t bad. The good thing is at you get to eat right on the beach. I was there over New Years and one nice thing about the Chalala is if you’re going around that time is that they don’t have a gala dinner requirement. Most of the hotels around the area have a gala dinner requirement that range from 3000-5000 Baht per person.

The Chalala is priced quite a bit lower than its neighbours. It is good value compared to its neighbours but the location is just a bit too far at night for my liking. During the day it's fine you can walk along the beach to the center but at night the road is on this dark part of the main road.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gord_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We were in Samui in May 2011. We were staying just up the beach at the Amari Palm Reef. We visited this place most afternons for something to eat and drink. Found the food excellent and reasonable plrices. We used to leaver our stuff with the staff after eating to go for a walk - never any issues.

Looked round the hotel and rooms and it looked very nice but obviusly not so many amenties say like the Amari.

Have to say we loved eating at this place it soooooooooo relaxing.

Would certainly give this place a look it you are on a budget. Close to all the night life - about 10 mins walk away.

We certainly enjoyed our afternoons there

Room Tip: Please note I have not marked anything on the rooms as we did not stay there so would be untrue to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryderj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sirpa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
0.1 km away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
901 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#12 of 104 in Chaweng
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,895 reviews
2.2 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,485 reviews
1.3 km away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalala Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalala Samui Resort

Address: 119/3 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road | Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range: $54 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalala Samui Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel have only 15 Bungalows totally. We are service mind for all our guest and helpful.We wish guest stay in our hotel with feeling of relaxing and comfortable like stay at home because all of our guest is our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalala Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalala Samui Resort Ko Samui, Thailand - Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing