We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
251
151
78
43
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
151
78
43
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue monkey monkey bar talay restaurant kids club tennis courts le meridien breakfast buffet fitness center ocean view bottle of champagne beach pool main building happy hour beautiful beach chaweng noi standard room shuttle bus
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 573 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is nice with great views of the ocean from the rooms n restaurant. Great size rooms n very comfy bed.Staff were also warm and friendly. what lets this review down was service..our pickup from the airport did not arrive n came an hour late after we called to enquire.Turns out the person whom we'd communicated with via email was not in that day so hotel was not aware of our arrival (why they dont use a group email I dont know) so this didnt make for a good start for the holiday and housekeeping was often late in the afternoon,we would return from our days excursions and find room not cleaned.On the upside, management rectified this when we pointed out.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, General Manager at Sheraton Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Dear Carol N,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Sheraton Samui Resort and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed a pleasant stay.

Please accept our apologies once again regarding the momentary lapse in service of our airport transfer. We appreciate this was not the best first impression to make and thank you for your patience in allowing us to recover from this situation.

We are delighted our friendly staff and comfortable rooms allowed you to enjoy a relaxing vacation and hope to welcome you back again to Sheraton Samui Resort very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Bruce Humphry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2016

As an SPG member I have stayed in numerous Sheratons and was very disappointed by my stay at the Sheraton Samui. While the premises were nice, they fell far short of a 5 star resort. The beach and pool were nice but our room had a definite musty smell to it, which was exacerbated by a serious leak that developed in the ceiling of our bathroom during our stay.

The service of the staff both at the hotel and Blue Monkey restaurant were abysmal and understanding of the English language was a problem. It would take 30+ minutes to fulfill an order of beers from Blue Monkey, and got to the point where I would see our beers sitting on the counter unattended for several minutes (getting warm) and elect to serve myself. It was also frustrating that regardless of the terrible service here, all bills included a 10% service charge. If you plan to order food from the Blue Monkey don't go hungry because your wait will be frustratingly long for mediocre food at best.

We had issues with the complimentary wifi throughout the duration of our stay that the front desk was little help fixing. Our wifi access was also cut off immediately upon our check-out, regardless of the fact that we were still spending the remainder of the day at the resort. On the morning of our checkout we had housekeeping staff bust into our room at 7am, far earlier than the actual time of checkout or even what we had communicated to the hotel. Then later that day we were planning to shower in the hotel spa before returning to the airport and the spa attendant tried to put my friend and I in the same shower - which took several minutes of back and forth explaining in broken English for her to finally understand that we did not in fact want to shower together.

Overall I was very frustrated and disappointed by my stay at the Sheraton Samui. It definitely does not stand up to the caliber of SPG properties and for the money believe other better options are available on Koh Samui.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, General Manager at Sheraton Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Dear Nancy C,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sheraton Samui Resort and for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear your overall experience fell short of your expectations on this occasion and there were several areas of disappointment during your stay.

We regret there was a temporary maintenance issue with your room that caused a small leak to eventually develop. We appreciate this must have been very inconvenient but unfortunately these issues can occasionally happen from time to time. We hope the way we handled the situation helped ease some of the disappointment.

Thank you for your valued feedback about the service issues at Blue Monkey and the anomaly with the Wi-Fi connection following your check-out. We have shared this information with the Heads of Departments concerned in order to ensure we make improvements in the areas mentioned.

Once again, please accept our apologies for any frustration you experienced during your stay. This was certainly not our intention and does not reflect the normal level of service we like to provide our valued SPG members. We do hope that you will consider a return visit to Sheraton Samui Resort on your next visit to the island so we can better demonstrate the level of hospitality you rightly expect from our resort.

Yours Sincerely

Bruce Humphry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Whilst the gardens and surrounds of this 1980s property are delightful the property itself is quite aged, very tired and in need of a major upgrade. Our allocated one bedroom suite was adjacent to ancient and very noisy external AC plant which serviced the main building and ran 24/7. The AC fan and motor had at a very audible daytime low frequency tonal signature which was very audible at night against low background noise. Offering the property's premium accommodation in close proximity to this offensive noise is difficult to understand - this AC plant operating sound power levels should be attenuated at least! Upon sighting this AC plant we reject the allocated suite and were then offered a lesser room some distance away which we accepted as there were no other options available. Upon operating the room AC the noise from the inside bulkhead unit was equivalent to that of a Mack truck with the remote hand set not able to reduce the fan setting to the lowest setting which meant the AC could not be used at night whilst we slept. Upon raising this issue with reception and having a maintenance man inspect the AC we were advised the "AC unit is very old and nothing can be done about the noise". A pedestal fan was provided in lieu of properly functioning AC.
At many times during our three day/night stay we were confronted with offensive sewerage odour not only within our bathroom but also whilst walking from our room to the breakfast restaurant. Our bathroom WC continually leaked water from the bowl onto the floor and the remote operated plug in the vanity basin often stuck in situ requiring manual removal.
Generally the furnishings in the rooms and throughout the public areas in general are quite tired and in some cases soiled and thread bear.
Staff on a whole were hit and miss, some quite good whilst others seemed to couldn't care less.This was particularly evident with some buggy drivers and at time of check-in when the female agent took 45 minutes to process my party to three rooms.
From my experience the property is not worthy of the Sheraton brand in fact the brand is being damaged by the property as it is and the manner in which is operated.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out room for AC noise; sewerage odour, leaking WC etc prior accepting
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, General Manager at Sheraton Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear Peter M,

Thank you very much for sharing a review of your recent stay at Sheraton Samui Resort and please accept our sincere apologies your experience was disappointing on this occasion.

Regrettably, one of the main air-conditioning compressors adjacent to your suite was emitting a loud noise upon your arrival. Our Engineers are investigating and will carry out any necessary repairs as soon as possible. We will also take into account your feedback regarding better soundproofing, as we appreciate how unwanted background noise can have a negative effect on a good night’s sleep. The A/C unit in your room is just over one-year old, so we will need to take it out of operation to investigate the root cause.

Thank you for also pointing out some other maintenance issues in your room. We are in the process of fixing these and are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.

Please rest assured that your feedback is very important to us and we have taken your comments on board in order to improve our services. Whilst your experience did not match your expectations on this occasion, we hope there will be an opportunity for us to better impress you during your next visit to Koh Samui.

Yours Sincerely

Bruce Humphry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2016

Overall our stay at the Sheraton was worse than expected. The majority of our issues were with the service at the Blue Monkey bar. We ate lunch there two days, and both days received incredibly slow service. We were the only people at the restaurant, and with three waiters, we still did not receive our food or drinks in a timely manner. We would watch as a waiter would bring an item back from the kitchen that should be served to our table, and he/she would place it on the bar for it to sit another 10-15 minutes before they brought it over to us. We also received a few incorrect items. I was surprised that in all my travels across Southeast Asia, this was the one place where many of the employees did not speak any English. I expect that in rural, less touristy places, but not at an American resort on a touristy island.

Additionally, housekeeping barged into our room at 7 AM ready to clean our room before we even checked out. I was kicked off WiFi immediately after checking out that morning, even though I was spending time at the resort before leaving for the airport. All of these issues combined left me dissatisfied, as I had expected much more from the Sheraton.

The facilities themselves are beautiful, pool and beach are lovely, but the service we received overshadowed all of that.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 809brittanyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, General Manager at Sheraton Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear 809brittanyd,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sheraton Samui Resort and for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are very sorry to hear your stay failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

The service you describe at Blue Monkey is not up to our usual standards and we regret this temporary slip had a negative impact on your stay. Please rest assured your feedback has already been shared with the appropriate team and action taken to prevent this happening again in the future. We appreciate your patience during what was clearly quite a frustrating experience.

You also raised some important points about our check-out procedure and identified areas where we can make improvements. We will ensure the transition between check-out and actually departing from our resort is much more seamless in the future.

Thank you for praising our beautiful facilities, beach, and swimming pools and we hope there will be an opportunity to better match your expectations with improved levels of service on your next visit to Sheraton Samui Resort.

Yours Sincerely

Bruce Humphry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

This is one of the e most amazing places I have been too.
The beaches are so clean and I enjoyed the jet skiing.

The restaurant on the beach is fantastic very good cocktails and all facilities like the jet ski jet board are all available right in front of the hotel beach restaurant. We feel safe at the same time we don't get conned into any frivolous issues.
It's the best place for a relaxed holiday with family

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Syed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, General Manager at Sheraton Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear Syed S,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sheraton Samui Resort and for recommending us to other travelers on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear you and your family had an amazing stay and enjoyed the cuisine at our beachfront restaurant, Long Talay. We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing holiday the next time your travels bring you to Koh Samui.

Yours Sincerely

Bruce Humphry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews