We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great but - friends shouldn't let friends go to Koh Samui :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Sausalito, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great but - friends shouldn't let friends go to Koh Samui :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This hotel was great, nice room, nice staff, GREAT Thai food at the beach restaurant etc. my only criticisms are these: the hotel should get a better wireless router so guests don't have to go online in a hot open air room by the beach, and they need more music for the beach bar ..... the same Sade album played so much i think it was even driving the bartenders crazy... ...
Koh Samui is a weird place... I think younger guys go there to get tanked and oogle pretty Thai girls - or worse than oogle is more like it,...and it's clearly for sale which is sad to be around. .. additionally - prices on the island are not even that good for the distance traveled (especially if you came from the US) so i really didn't get why so many people go there. If you're set on going though - Here are the highlights: this hotel was very nice, Eranda spa is beautiful, they pic u up and drop you off and give great deals... the caberet shows in Chaweng are hilarious fisherman's village in Bohput is nice. You will have to go snorkeling but it's just not all that....for people from the US especially - if you've been to the Carribean then the beaches in and around Koh Samui will be a disappointment....sorry to say it but it's true.

Room Tip: this is a beautiful hotel with beautiful grounds. i would stay near the large pool with the swim up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Jeanne M,

Thank you for your frank comments and for staying with us.

As someone who has visited much of the Caribbean, there indeed are many magical beaches. However, I do think that each destination has its charm and specific characteristics - such as Koh Samui.

Exotic culture, warm waters, endless beaches, world class food, traditional handcrafts and local nightlife combine to offer a one of a kind experience which I think, is not to be missed.

I hope you agree and will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    529
    173
    64
    57
See reviews for
402
791
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Regent. We stayed for 10 days at the end of April. The tempetures hit mid 30s (celsius) most days and peaked at about 38 dergrees. Whilst it was extremely hot, and at times unbearable in the direct sun the resort has excellent air conditioning so it was magic returning to our room.

We stayed in the deluxe room. The room was huge and the bed was massive!! We had a lounger in the room and a large balcony. The TV was modern and large with a good range of channels and a DVD player. The bathroom wasn't overly flash but did have two showers and a separate toilet. My only complaint about the room would be the shower pressure and on occassions it took a long time to heat up. The staff left rose petals all over our bed on arrival and the house keeping was outstanding. Everytime we returned to our room the bed had been turned down and sprayed for mosquitos.

The pool area is outstanding. The garden pool has the swim up bar and plenty of loungers. The beach pool is amazing and is surrounded by loungers and there are even more on the beach. The water is literally no more than two metres from the loungers and a reef incircles the resort so it has a private pond like bit to swim in. It isn't deep but it is nice to relax in. The tempeture of the beach water can be like a warm bath in the afternoon so the pool is a better option. However on our first two days the pool water was also like a warm bath but it seemed to get better after that and was much more comfortable. However it still needs to be colder to be really refreshing. The bar/restaurant and their staff is excellent around the pool and beach, they literally bring the food and drinks to you.

The gym is also very good. Its not massive but it is far better than what I expected.

The resort itself is in a perfect location. You can walk out the front gate and straight onto the main shopping street in chaweng with all the bars and restaurants at your doorstep. However, when you enter the resort all the lights and sounds disappear and its like being in another world.

It seemed to be off season and whilst it was still reasonably busy it was obvious that they normally cater for FAR more tourists. The bars and restautrants were relatively empty but the street is always busy.

Koh Samui is amazing. It is a fantastic place to either relax with friends or have a crazy getaway with mates, or honeymoon like we did. Chaweng caters for all walks of life. There seems to be way more action in Chaweng than Bophut or Lamai and all the bars and restaurants make it an amazing place to stay and the hundreds of little markets give it a good blend of culture. I would recomend the elephant trekking and hirering a scooter to check out the island.

Oh and definately get breakfast included. It is AMAZING!

The Chaweng Regent Beach resort is a fantastic resort and seems to be the most popular from walking along the entire beach. Definately recomended!

Room Tip: Some people we talked to complained about there room being small so go for the deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaunlingard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Shaunlingard,

Wow, what a lengthy review. Thank you not only for your time and enthusiasm in reviewing us, but for also choosing Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

What can I say other than I am happy to know when we meet and exceed our guests expectations as in this case and will share the feedback with the team. It is also nice to see that prior comments from travelers like yourself have been actioned and the results show - such as breakfast.

Again thank you and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Spent four nights and wish it was more - whilst the main street outside the front of the hotel gets a bit hectic and noisy you can go out the other side of the resort that leads straight onto the beach.
Along the beach are great bars and restaurants.
The beach is great. The sea warm.
Hotel rooms high standard (we were upgraded on arrival from a superior to a deluxe).
Great breakfast - must be one of the best ever - has everything including a chef cooking fresh to order food as well as a wide range of hot and cold dishes available 6.30am til 11am

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyB1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear AndyB1250,

Thank you for spending your holiday with us and for taking the time to offer your feedback to the world via this forum.

Your comments about all, especially breakfast, will be shared with the team.

Again thank you and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Have just had another truly wonderful stay at the Regent (our second in a couple of years) and cannot recommend it highly enough. Both times we have stayed we have been upgraded to a an ever more beautiful room than what we had originally booked . Words cannot describe the breathtaking gardens,swimming pools, fishponds and boardwalks. The hotel itself is in the best location - close to everything! A beautiful beach one side and busy Chaweng Rd right outside your doorstep.
What makes the Regent stand out though is the amazing staff!! Honestly, they cannot do enough for you and ALWAYS ALWAYS with a smile and a friendly word. Special mention must go to Daniel and Sunny in management and front reception area who worked tirelessly to ensure that everything was just perfect - and it was. Also many thanks to "Joke" who was poolside and at the bar, "Nud"our gorgeous housecleaner and everybody from gardeners to gym staff. Your efforts made our stay unforgettable. We have been fortunate to stay in many hotels in Asia but seriously none have ever made us feel we were leaving behind good friends.
Every best wish to you all - we can only hope we will be back in Koh Samui soon and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else (you have spoilt us and have set a new bar in customer service) Lah gorn and Korp kun ka (ps work on the plumbing)

Room Tip: Bungalows are a little small. Poolside rooms have a beautiful outlook and upstairs they catch a bree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dickanddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear dickanddeb,

Your comments are well noted and I will make special mention to Daniel, Sunny, Joke and Nud.

Plumbing upgrades are underway and I am sure that when you return again, you will not notice anything but excellent service, wonderful facilities and relaxation.

Until then, be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel all I can say is what an enjoyable stay it was the staff will do anything for you breakfast was good plenty of choice and the evening meal on the beach was great hotel is so close to all the evening entertainment at night I can't see what people have to complain about most probably they are comparing it to the ritz will definetly be returning to this hotel note to the manager please recomend sorn t from the poolside bar always had a smile on his face for your happy to serve moto.also thanks to all the other staff.Paul & rachael nottm uk

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulnffc1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Paulnffc1968,

Paul and Rachel, thanks of your comments and for staying with us.

I will certainly recognize Sorn for his accomplishments and on behalf of all, look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was our first time to Koh Samui and were unsure where to stay and what to expect.
We are so glad we chose this resort.... we absolutely loved it. It’s location is perfect overlooking the beach and close to shops. Staff and extremely friendly and service is fantastic. Did I mention the many resort activities to choose from. We travelled with friends that had kids and they could not be more accommodating ...extremely friendly and always remembered our names.
Just beautiful, we will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaAllison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear PatriciaAllison,

Thank you for spending your holidays with our family here at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

Glad to know that your friends, family and kids all found something on offer to entertain and excite during the holiday and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Myself and my family visit Thailand every Easter and we always stayed at Chaweng Regent up until about 4 years ago. We found it had drastically gone down hill with poor service, expensive and unclean.
However after a few positive comments from people we knew we decided to return there again and give it another try.

Thank goodness we did! Something had clearly changed back to how it once was. The location is fantastic pools are brilliant service is excellent rooms are lovely and clean, beach is beautiful, breakfast was fantastic, staff never ever stop and are so friendly,all in all it is back to its fantastic self.

Only one small issue was the price of wifi, in a hotel of this standard we felt it should be included and free for guests. The prices of drinks are a little expensive but we bought from a small beach bar and there was no issue with that.

People over react on here saying its terrible and awful. Clearly they don't have anything better to do! Would definately recommend and we will be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielleclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Danielleclifford,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us again. I am thrilled you are happy with your choice and that we lived up to your expectations.

As for the WIFI, I agree and we have already adjusted the pricing, as well as offer free WIFI in our Chom Talay restaurant beachside thanks to comments like yours. As for the drink prices, indeed there are cheaper drinks in Samui and on Chaweng Beach but I would say that the variety of pricing and venue offers a different level of safety, cleanliness and guest experience for all.

Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
5.0 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
4.5 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
4.5 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#6 of 103 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
4.5 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
5.0 km away
Samui Paradise Chaweng Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Address: 155 / 4 Chaweng Beach Rd, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing