We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great position and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dara Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great position and hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

i stayed here for 4 nights starting on 16th may 2012 in a villa closest to the beach ( about £150 a night).
the service was excellent, and the room was clean and comfortable. the position of the villa was wonderful, very close to the beach and pool.
the position of the hotel was ideal to go out in the evening.
only problem was the sea where the hotel is positioned is not ideal, but a short walk would take you to a good swim area. but the pool was excellent!

Room Tip: villa rooms were ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    277
    84
    46
    41
See reviews for
139
327
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I was with a group of friends and the hotel rooms can be a bit hard to find if you walk through the wrong area or maybe that was just me. I found the rooms to be very pleasant and comfortable with all the amnemities you could need. The room had it's only balcony area which was nice to just step out and enjoy the morning sun. The hotel is situated right where the road forks into a one way street so it makes this a very convienent location to be exploring from. There is a motorbike shop right next door to rent from if you wanted to explore the island. The hotel restaurant had live music while we were there making dinner a great experience with fresh seafood. There are also many restaurants in short walking distance if this doesn't fit your pallete.The breakfast selection could of been better as most of the food seemed to be out too long and not tasty.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aznboi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed for 4 nights, long enough to get a fair opinion. Nice enough hotel, but no sparkle. Average rooms however housekeeping was inconsistent to the point of annoyance. Restaurant forgetable. That said, good location, nice beach front, good for a few days on the beach. Accessed from the main road of what is a busy (noisy) resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The food quality is overall acceptable, but a dirty tablecloth badly covered with a napkin is regrettable. Besides they cheated us with the weight of the fresh fish: 400 grams for a little squid! neither our complaints were sufficient to revise the bill. Even the music band accompanying the dinner was poor in term of quality

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greatgatsby79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

After staying here in a superior room for 5 nights, i have mixed feelings about this hotel. On the plus side, the location on the beach is great. The staff are amazing, especially at breakfast and the poolside bar/beach lounges. So friendly, happy and smiling. The main road at the entrance to this hotel is busy at at times quite smelly all the way along the street. The large number of steep steps from the pavement to reception/lobby makes it very difficult to carry cases up to check in. The rooms themselves are an ok size, beds quite comfortable but very limited storage space for clothing. Bathroom a good size, however looking a little dated in places. Water pressure was hopeless and never kept a constant temperature - fluctuating mid shower from hot to cold. The grounds are well kept, as was the pool. Laundry service here is quite expensive, we ended up using one of the many services along the street for about 1/5 of the hotel prices. The hotel charges on a 'per item' basis, whereas the local laundry services charge 'per kilo' - a huge difference. We were disturbed at night by fireworks going off at all hours, as well as noisy neighbours both next door and above our room. Chaweng beach is noisy and busy (and at times smelly), and has a general party atmosphere. If its a quiet and peaceful area you are looking for, i would not stay here - next time we will stay at Lamai.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetcheeks800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have a chance to go during my last business trip. And sure, complimentary room from the hotel. Dara Samui located in the central of Chaweng area. The atmosphere is Thai, i wouldn't called it pure traditional because it seems to have some of Bali sense.

The room is average-good, not sure maybe we have the lowest category. The service is good but if you check-in at night, you might have to wait for someone to meet you at the front desk.

There's a nice restaurant infront of the lobby, so in case you dont want to walk anywhere, it could be a perfect choice.

The bed is ok, the size is ok. For us 3 Adults, seems to be too small.

The only bad point is that the corridor (the walk way) to our room is too far and a bit dark. and the dorr is really hard to open (go try yourself :)).

The BF is nice, A La Carte menu to choose, next to the swimming pool, with the nice view and service.

If you want to take some rest in the middle of Chaweng, this hotel would be a good choice.

Room Tip: Try night life of Samui, 10 mins by walk. Sweetsoul could be a good choice. I recommend everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polar b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed with three friends (in two rooms) at the Dara Samui for four nights near the end of March, and we thought it was perfect for what we were looking for.

The lobby area is lovely, although open air so it can be a bit warm. We were greeted with cold towels which were remarkably refreshing. The rooms are very large and have some unique features, like the large soaker tub with window that can open into the room, and the wooden slide door lock for the washroom. The only complaint that we had about our room at all was that the Air Conditioning wasn't very strong. The service was great from housekeeping as well.

The pool and beach area is lovely, and spent the majority of our day either sitting in the pool staring at the beach, or sitting in the ocean staring at the pool! The pool bar service was wonderful and the staff were incredible friendly. While you do have to check in and out your beach towels, it was a very easy process and much more relaxed than I have experienced in Mexico where their goal seems to be able to charge you for 'losing' towels. The staff in general were very friendly and eager to help at all times.

Wifi was only so/so - doesn't work in the rooms at all, but worked fairly well in the lobby and at the pool bar.

If you have a chance to have breakfast included (on Agoda, our room was only 3 dollars more a night for breakfast, so 1.50 a person) do it! The breakfast buffet includes only toast, fruit and juices but there is a full menu that you can order anything you want from - they had no issue with us each ordering two mains (they are relatively small dishes).

Most of the complaints we read prior to going was that it was too loud near the hotel. Chaweng is a busy area, so both the street front and beach are quite populated - if you are looking for something quieter, the area (not necessarily this hotel) is not really for you.

We were really impressed with the hotel, the food and the service. If I was ever back in Chaweng I would definitely stay at the Dara Samui again!

One note - Hotel likely not idea for anyone with mobility issues, as there are stairs involved for all guest rooms.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, as for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.3 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,782 reviews
0.5 km away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.1 km away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,416 reviews
1.1 km away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#15 of 104 in Chaweng
360 reviews
0.5 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Samui Beach Resort

Property: Dara Samui Beach Resort
Address: 162/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dara Samui Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dara Samui has beachfront location centrally located on Chaweng beach and walking distance to shopping and night life areas. Hotel offers free high speed WIFI in all rooms. Rooms size start from 42-128 sqm or 455 sq ft - 1380 sq ft with full Air Conditioned rooms. The hotel is a 4-star Thai Lanna-style boutique resort with 4 rooms categories. Relaxing, sports activities or shopping, whatever is your pleasure all are within easy reach at Darasamui. You never run out of things to do, unless you wish to. 2 Restaurants, 1 Bar,Swimming Pool, Beach, Sun Deck, Concierge and many more facilities are awaiting you... Try once at our Best Romantic Beach restaurant "Dara Serene" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dara Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dara Samui Beach Resort And Spa Villa
Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa Hotel Chaweng
Dara Samui Beach Hotel
Dara Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand - Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing