We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$249
View deal
Booking.com
Travelocity
Expedia.comUS$249
Orbitz.com
Hotels.comUS$249
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
212
76
21
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
212
76
21
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river visiting france lovely chateau glass of wine bed was very comfortable grounds are beautiful bordeaux city euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 339 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2021

We originally booked a two-night non-refundable stay at the hotel for November 2020, but due to travel restrictions from Covid, we were unable to visit France at that time and so asked to change our booking to June 2020 which the hotel agreed to. Recently with travel restrictions in the UK extended, we asked the hotel if we could move our booking back again to August. The hotel immediately refused to change our booking again and cancelled our reservation without any offer of a voucher or refund. There was no understanding from the hotel that the situation was not our choice and we were extremely disappointed with the customer service and lack of flexibility.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ahumphries89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2020

My Borderlais partner and I booked this Chateau for our wedding whilst living abroad, so we didn't see it. The alarm bells should've rung when our wedding planner visited, and provided terrible feedback on the unfriendly staff, and location which has factories and other industrial type structures near by. Regardless, we ignored this, as we loved the idea of the venue being by the river (big mistake).
I will say that the ladies on the desk were always friendly to exchange emails with, sadly the manager didn't follow his lovely staffs' professional and friendly attitude.

When we finally visited Grattequina, we were not asked if we'd like to be shown around, we were just left to it (even though our deposit had already been paid.
When booking our wedding here, there was absolutely no negotiation on anything whatsoever. This included asking if we could use chairs outside, whether we could use the pool on the Sunday for our Sunday brunch (we weren't even permitted outside of the brunch room, let alone to use the Chateau grounds), if we could access the room early for me to get ready in, if we could stay outside past 9pm, etc. This was all feeling very disheartening. Then, Covid struck and our wedding was inevitably and sadly cancelled.
We were first offered to move the wedding between October-March (we didn't want a winter wedding, as ours had been booked for June). After a series of emails, we were offered until next year, but we were hesitant to move this in case Covid had not been resolved. Bittersweet that we didn't take up their offer of October, as France is now experiencing curfews, and up to 15 people for weddings (ours was up to 150 people).
We asked for our deposit back instead, and that we'd rebook once the world is Covid clear, we were told no. This is thousands we have lost, our money that they have stolen from us.
I understand that so many businesses are suffering right now, but so is everyone. Had Grattequina offered to repay our deposit, or even meet us half way, then we'd of course rearrange our future wedding here, but of course that won't be happening now due to their lack of courtesy, and the bitter feeling this has left. There are so many of our suppliers, the little people who have given our deposits back, who we will certainly use in the future, then there's the mean ones.
Sadly I should've listened to my wedding planner after all.

Room tip: Don't bother.
Date of stay: June 2020
    • Service
4  Thank TalyaBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2020

We stayed at the Château on the way back from a long drive through Spain at the end of July this year purchased the last room got to this beautiful château dropped off at Berks had a swim a relax and a glass of wine went back to the room and cleaned up then had a dinner on the terrace absolutely stunning surroundings and very niceStaff very recommendable

Room tip: Well worth a visit
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gareth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2020 via mobile

lovely Chateau but I would not say it was worth the amount we paid (nearly 330 Euros). It was about a 15min drive to centre of the city - you need a car. The staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds of Chateau were lovely but they had dug it all up so muddy and no flowers not very pretty when you enter. The wine machine they had was great.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dily1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2020

We booked this hotel on our way through France to Spain. It looked nice from the pictures. We were greeted by a friendly man who showed us our room, fortunately my daughter who booked this had organised a bottle of wine to be ready for us in our room as it turned out there was no bar, just a machine you put money or credit card into which then decants a glass of wine, sorry but since when does wine come from a vending machine, this is meant to be the home of good wine and they can't just serve wine from a bottle!!! Also this is meant to be a 4 star hotel!!! Also food is only served in your room as their is no restaurant area, only a breakfast room. So pasta is pretty much the only thing on the menu, oh and Caesar Salad. Very basic and Pasta was heavy and stodgy, again how did this Hotel get 4 stars?. We had a nice room with a balcony overlooking the river and the bed was very comfortable, linens were good quality. Bathroom was well appointed. But that was about it. Breakfast was basic. The most irritating thing though was coming to pay when we left. From the breakfast room we overheard another pair of guests checking out and supposedly their credit card had been refused so they were asked to settle in cash. When we came to pay surprise surprise , our card was was refused too!! as were 3 other cards I tried to pay with. Eventually I called my bank and was told there was nothing wrong with my card and that no attempts were even showing up on their system Hmmm. I confronted the girl at the reception about this and she said that their internet must be down, which it wasn't as I had been using it 10 minutes earlier booking another Hotel. It is a common scam particularly in France to get people to pay cash out of season so they don't have to declare it. We refused to pay cash so they had to eventually charge my card, but beware if you travel in the low season as this has happened to us several times before in France.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Réception G, Gérant at Chateau Grattequina, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed the quality of our rooms.

However, we are sorry to hear that our services didn’t match your expectations.
We do serve drinks: soft, liquor and wine by the bottle. Since three years, we have this wine machine to serve wine by the glass.
Our guests are always pleased by this service that allows them to have a glass of wine whenever they want.

Regarding food, we serve fresh food: salads, tomato mozzarella, charcuterie, cheese, foie gras, pasta…
We apologize if you thought that your only option was to eat in your room as our breakfast room is turned into a dinning room during the day and the evening. And the terrace is also used for meals.

We understand your remarks and will take them into account in order to improve our service.

However, we cannot accept your accusations of us trying to force our guests to pay in cash in order to, supposedly, not declare part of the income of the hotel.
What you are stating is simply not true but also offensive.
Your comment hasn’t enough detail for us to know when you stayed with us, but it does happen once or twice a year that our payment terminal doesn’t work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews