We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of The Wave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wave
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed at the Wave in September 2011 and had a great time. The rooms are basic but clean and bins etc emptied daily (except Sundays). The family are amazing hosts, very friendly and good fun - they made our holiday!! We ate in the restaurant quite a few times and the meals - all cooked by Mama - were fantastic and not at all expensive.
The pool is very nice, and there were always sunbeds available any time of day.
Air con and deposit box for the two weeks was approx 70 Euros and it was only 15 Euros to have another room for a late check out.
It is a 10 - 15 min walk to Sidari from the apartments which is fine as long as it's not in the middle of the day in the heat! In the evening there was quite a bit still going on in Sidari even though it was the end of the season. A few places were closed but not many. One benefit to going this time of year was that the beer prices went down as they touted for trade in the bars!
We would definitely go back to the Wave if we visit Sidari again - Thank you Nick, Chris and the family :0)

Room Tip: We were at the back in the separate building to the restaurant. We didn't see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    24
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
51
98
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I agree with the comments made by kabe2537. The place would be great if the hygiene was improved. However, if you do stay at the wave keep your eye out for the parrot behind the kitchen. It's in a cramped cage and is often left in the sun. It likes a fuss and plumb stones. It might also need water. Unfortunately there is no RSPCA in Corfu to my knowlege. I don't think the guys who run the wave are intentionally cruel but they lack the knowledge to properly care for this animal.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nandosliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Wave is a family run hotel on the outskirts of Sidari. It is fronted by two brothers Nikos & Christos, who are both friendly and make you feel welcome. It is about 15mins walk from the hustle and bustle of the main Sidari strip and the views where a delight. Eating breakfast by the sea followed by a leisurely walk along the beech was lovely. Our ground floor twin room was very basic, with old furniture, a small kitchenette and bathroom. Let me be absolutely clear that basic is what was expected and we were fine with that, as it was a low cost holiday. The problem was that the level hygiene was less then basic. The lampshades were covered in dust and cobwebs and the shower had mildew on the grouting. The bathmat was made of foam rubber and was still wet from previous occupants (it went outside on the first night). Our first night was spent cleaning other people’s hair off the bathroom floor and spraying Detol at the handles and touchable surfaces, which in the main were sticky. The pillows were hard and my sheet was so threadbare it was see-through (much to my sister’s dismay). It seemed pointless complaining because the linen on the line looked much the same. Safe deposit boxes and aircon were available at a small cost. The restaurant served food (the steak was good value) and it had a pool. We largely ate at Cappricio and used the pool at the Beach Star Hotel. Corfu on the whole does not seem to have changed since my last visit 15 years ago. It is in serious need of decorating. The beaches are dirty and there are piles of rubbish everywhere. The local authority needs to spend some money cleaning up. Despite our gripes we did have a lovely relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be basic it is very quiet and all the rooms are much of a muchness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kabe2537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

First the good bits: This is a family run business with a small hotel atmosphere and everyone is made to feel part of the family as soon as they walk up the path. The two brothers who run the bar and deal with bookings etc do a superb job and are real characters, something which adds to the holiday experience. They both speak excellent English but I will guarantee that by the end of a week here you will know some basic Greek! This of course adds to the whole holiday experience.

The hotel itself is very good. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the food prepared at the hotel is excellent. The pool area is a really good place to relax with a small area for younger children.

Now the "not so good" bit. The rooms are quite small and as far as I know there are only two family rooms so if you want to take children you need to book early.

The only other matter is the 900m walk to town and the fact that this is a 7€ taxi ride each way because the bridge over the river is only a foot bridge.

Overall this is one of the few places that I really like and if we go to Corfu again it will be my number one place to stay.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lightweighttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
2.8 km away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#7 of 39 in Sidari
268 reviews
1.6 km away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
487 reviews
3.2 km away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#4 of 39 in Sidari
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 km away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
35.9 km away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,232 reviews
1.8 km away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wave

Property: The Wave
Address: Agios Ioannis, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wave 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments and studios for rent in Sidari"the Wave" are ideal for couples and families who prefer a relaxing holiday in Corfu, the Emerald Greek Island. Our apartment hotel offers pleasant and well organised Corfu holidays with all standard amenities for enjoyable moments on a good value for money offer.A large swimming pool is located next to the bar which offers refreshments all day long and our restaurant features delicious Greek food and European cuisine catered lovingly by "Mama Irene". The hotel restaurant was founded in 1983 and and since then our guests' pleasure is always our main priority.A children's playground to entertain our young friends lies in our big yard and of course there is a spacious parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wave Sidari, Corfu, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing