We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful views”
other travellers have booked this property
View from one of the balconies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from one of the balconies.
Bedroom 2 with balcony and sea view Front of Property.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
View from one of the balconies.
Bedroom 2 with balcony and sea view
Front of Property.
Bedroom 1 with balcony and seaview
ensuite bedroom 3 with jacuzzi and sea view
Bathroom 2
Living room
Living room
Living room cont...
Kitchen area
Al fresco dinning
View from villamar
Sunset and wine.....perfect combination
garden area
BBQ
BBQ cont...
Garage with toilet facilities
Sun set view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ribeira Brava, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
JA89UK
Bletchingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We found Villamar just right for our week in Madeira. The house is modern and well-appointed, with safe indoor parking for our rental car (Celio told us his trusted neighbour has a car rental service, which we would have been happy to use if we'd thought to ask!). We stayed as a pair, but there are certainly enough facilities for anything up to 6 adults, plus a baby. We did experience some noise from the construction work going on next door, but of course this won't be going on forever and doesn't reflect badly on the quality of the house. Anyway, the real star of the show is the huge sea view from the balconies - perfect for an early evening book and glass of wine, with lovely sunsets.

As a host, Celio was very helpful and offered to buy in some food so we had something for our first night, which was useful for us. He also provided clear directions, was there to greet us at the property and made it clear he was available to help if we needed anything - we didn't. Highly recommended overall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and views
Liked least: Beds a bit too firm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in a not to distant future.

Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review.We are glad you enjoyed our place and look forward to see you again in the future.

Take care
villamar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lake Oswego, OR
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the house
Liked least: The somewhat scary drive up and down the hill
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review I am glad you had a great time staying at our place.We hope you come back in the future maybe for a longer stay.

Thank you and take care

Villamar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DTY2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Easy to book, very responsive owner, gorgeous house and idyllic location”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

It really was lovely. My daughter ran around it saying "this is better than our own house" which is probably true! Celio the owner is a Madeiran and you can feel he is part of the local community and is passionate about it and his house, as he is very on hand at all times to ensure you are happy (even though he lives in the UK). The views were stunning, the house very well equipped and comfortable and it was well placed for many outings across the whole island. Madeira is stunning and amazed me every day. Perfect climate, no bugs or seagulls! The only reason I haven't given 5 stars was the constant building work going on next door - with a crane (started before 8am and went on till 5.30-6pm, and WORSE was the tomato farming opposite - where they blared euro-pop music till 6-7pm all week, making the peaceful balcony a no go area till after 7pm most evenings.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.I am glad you enjoyed Madeira and also the house.With regards to the new villa being build to the very back of ours..it is something we cannot control but have requested that when possible to try and keep any noise to a minimum.. when possible as this is a temporary thing.The guys working in the tomato picking are normally in the green houses that are quite far away from our villa and I know they have a small radio that is kept in the green houses and never near our house even when they carry the tomatoes to the van on the road.The only thing they normally do when placing the tomatoes in the vans is talk to each other.….I have never come across any loud noise either from the green houses( that are far away anyway) or them directly,having said that we will look in to it as soon as possible.and check.
Once again thank you and and accept our appologies for any inconvenience that it may have caused and we hope to see you again in the near future
Take care

Villamar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therobert...
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“geared up for infants, beautiful location , spacious luxurious villa.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is a terrific villa in a beautiful location. From our point of view it was fantastic that it had a high chair and a very clean and comfortable cot for our one year old girl. It is two minutes drive up and over a twisty hilly road to the free municipal pools next to the sea at Ribeira Brava. Parking for a couple of hours is generally about a Euro there. There is a garage under the Villa to park your hire when back at base. (Electric gates and electric garage door).
The kitchen is well stocked with herbs and spices and there is enough cutlery and pots and pans to produce a banquet. You are going to want to dine alfresco in the magnificent outside space.
There is a handy utility area with a washing machine and a clothes horse to dry. The owner very kindly supplied detergent and softner.
Every detail seems to have been considered to improve your stay at Villamar. Celio the owner is in touch by phone a couple of times during your stay to ensure that everything is okay for you. The owner was in the hospitality industry and has continued his exceptional standards in this modern fully equipped, beautiful holiday rental.
In conclusion if you are hiring a car there is no better value for money rental of this quality on Madeira.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views and luxury
Liked least: hard mattress
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.We hope to see you again soon.

Take Care
Villamar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.I am happy you had a good time and hope to see you again in the future.

Take care
Celio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Port Talbot
Reviewed January 1, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jan 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very happy that you had a great time visiting Madeira during the Christmas period and also enjoyed staying with us.It is my personal believe that all guests should have the best treatment possible in order to make your stay even more enjoyable(after all you are on holiday)
It was very nice to also meet you in person and have a chat.

Once again thank you for your kind words and I hope you visit us again in a not to distant future.

Have a great new year

Celio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing