We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exactly what we needed!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Engine House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living accommodation Private lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Living accommodation
Private lake
Living accommodation
Rear courtyard
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Private lake
The Engine House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Christow, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
984pauly
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Exactly what we needed!”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We booked for 9 nights in late Aug to early Sept 2016.

Booking with Lisa was straightforward and easy and directions provided were perfect.
George phoned beforehand to offer any help he could, and came by to welcome us early in our stay. He provided great tips on the local area, beaches and pubs.
We can recommend the "Nobody Inn" and the "Artichoke" is closer to the property.

The walk up to the lake is very steep - but just take your time,
It is well worth it once you get to the top.
Fully equipped BBQ provided and a stunning lake all to yourself!

In our review we noted that the property would be "disabled friendly" as it is all on one level, and really is perfect place to relax however the walk to the lake would prove to be difficult for some.
George was very accommodating and happy to help where ever he can.

The photos and other reviews accurately describe the property. Beautiful views. Very clean & tidy. A peaceful place with everything provided for your stay.

Lots of activities in easy reach, with lots of information provided.
A good local shop nearby but we shopped at sainsburys as we came thru Exeter and then topped up locally.

George, Lisa & Family we cannot thank you enough. We had a great break in your perfect property - The Engine House!
Thank you!
Cheers to you all!
Paul & David

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & Quiet... and seeing the Stars!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for a such a lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPJ61
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to get away from it all.”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great place to get away form it all. Ideal to base for visiting the Devon Coast and Dartmoor which meant there was plenty for the whole family.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikelong2...
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“relaxing and beautifull ... a real gem ..”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

wonderful place to stay, christow village is very nice and only a short walk away ( 1 mile ) .. although i would recommend christow cabs .. very step hills , ( £5.00 to anywhere local ) .. very secluded and quiet .. the lake is amazing .. caught a very large rudd .. massive carp cruising on the surface .

can totally recommend the artichoke pub in christow .. food is excellent.. . sam the landlord is very friendly .. sat nav can be a bit of a pain around there as it will try to direct you down the very narrow lanes, so best to ignore it and use a map .. tried some other local pubs when we didn't want to cook and always seemed to go back to the artichoke .. good prices too .. did some walking, golf and fishing .. lots of wildlife , deer , hawks and the like .. the owner was very friendly and introduced himself .. when i got a puncture i phoned him and he was more than happy to help .. great guy and a wonderful retreat .. we would go back again tomorrow ..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: remote .. amazing lake
Liked least: no wifi !!! ... ( joke !! )
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gazarhya
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in October 2015

I Stayed here for the first lime last year, early Autumn and at first I was not sure how long I could stay. The Owners were very accommodating regarding my unknown length of stay, as it turned out, i stayed for around 10 days.
I was blessed with good weather and also a solar eclipse. I recommend you take a camera and get up just before sunrise, as it was bliss to watch it light up the valley with a nice cup of coffee!.

Walking boots are a must if you want to explore the Owners nearby estate, there can be some steep sections.
Regarding internet/phone signal. On Three UK If you put it in the right place, you MAY get a signal, but only outside. O2 faired a little worse. After about 3 hours though, i fully embraced the lack of phone signal, to the point where I almost didn't want to regain coverage!

I will definitely be staying here again.
If anyone is interested, I did film a little of the place and made a couple of videos mainly consisting of pics I took during my stay here. I don't want to advertise it here, but search on the "Popular video website" and you'll find it!

Thank's for reading!

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifu69
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Perfect Christmas”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We wanted somewhere really quiet to shut ourselves away for Christmas and New Year, and the Engine House was perfect.

We arrived in the middle of a storm to find the lamps left on, and the whole place warm and cosy. There were Christmas decorations, and a bottle of wine waiting for us. We spent loads of time in the 'grotto' in the back garden, drinking wine with candles going and a fire pit to keep us warm.

We were lucky enough to be invited up to Bedrock for an afternoon with George and Janet who are 2 of the nicest people we have ever met. We thoroughly enjoyed walking up to the quarry on most days, we love the fish and there is so much wildlife. Spotted the deer twice, but only for a second despite our best efforts!

We really love this place, and hope to return as soon as we can.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K
1 review
“Fantastic in a fantastic environment”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a comfortable and pleasant stay (9 days) with our kids. Towels provided, beds ready upon arrival.
Once we had found the adjacent lake, we'd like to stay at the lake for ever. So beautiful, so much fun with the boat, the small barn etc.
Proprietor Mr. Smale came to visit us and was very helpful, had useful advices. Most of all: should you get stuck or get lost in the maze of the windy roads in Devon, just call Mr. Smale and he will come and help you. Quite a relief during our first stay in this environment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the lake, the deer, birds, hares
Liked least: Lack of wifi / interner
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-Loui...
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My escape to the country”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Engine House is located in a small, beautiful village. It is on the edge of the Dartmoor Forest and so surrounded by trees and we saw deer, squirrels and a fox during our week long stay. The house was well equipped, clean and the interior modern. We found it quiet and private and not a sound at night. The owners were close by and introduced themselves early on and we had phone numbers in case we needed anything. They were very friendly and helpful and offered to take us in their four wheel drive up to the lake. We accepted this offer and were treated to a beautiful sight of lake and forest. Christow village is small but is quaint and has the best pub - The Artichoke. Contemporary menu and a great community spirit. The only downside was no WiFi or mobile service. The roads are very narrow with high hedges and lots of blind corners but the scenery is stunning. I highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it was located in a beautiful, private and tranquil setting.
Liked least: No WiFi and mobile service, shower located over bath
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$416
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing