We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
26
19
6
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
19
6
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 59 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2017

OK, so the location is good if you want peace and quiet but the facilities and service do not match the price. This is a very old hotel, but a few quid spent on maintenance would make the world of difference. The mattress on the bed was well past its sell by date and I spent the night fighting an uphill battle. See some of my photos to understand my comments, especially the mouldy shower.

After waiting 20 minutes for the young lad to serve us coffee on our first morning we realised we had made a big mistake. The breakfast was certainly not 'superb' as mentioned in advertising. The young lad serving us had his mobile 'phone permanently attached to his ear....

On the second morning we walked into the village for breakfast on the basis that it was quicker to get a coffee there than waiting for service at the hotel.

For some reason the owners seem to think that they can let the place run down and still charge guests silly prices. There is a lot of choice in Villa de Leyva; check out what is available before booking here.

Room Tip: The bed in room 20 has a bigger dip in it than the Grand Canyon.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chris1949York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded August 14, 2017

We are sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We do consider this 400 hundred years old house to be very beautiful and we will work hard to give a service that matches its beauty. We understand that you won't consider staying ever again with us, however, please do feel free to come and visit us. We are certain that this house, with its gardens and water spring, it's worth at least a slow walking thru.

Warmest regards,


Molino la Mesopotamia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2016

In our fast-changing world, there are not many places that never seem to change at all. The Hosteria del Molino de la Mesopotamia ist one of those few gems, that haven´t changed at all in over 40 decades. Let´s hope it remains like this.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

Its a beatufiful place to stay, if you are lucky enough to get the room 27 or 28... You will have a unique experience! Because you will be sourrounded by nature, you will have a classic pool in front of your room and inside you have a nice and warm chemey!! Strongly recomended...

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Dario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

This place is absolutely amazing! If you are looking for vintage Colombian atmosphere then this is the place. Great staff and customer service. The staff will make you feel right at home. The owner took it upon herself to help aid my sunburn with one of her freshly picked aloe plants. What a sweet woman. The location is ideal just 3 minutes away from the beautiful square. The complimentary breakfast is also wonderful. I greatly recommend this beautiful hotel to all who would like to enjoy their fruits of labor in Villa de Leyva.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danthony777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2016 via mobile

I had been here the first time in 1989 and since then in a few occasions over the years. The tremendous charm does not wear off and the entire complex remains a wonderful place off mere hospitality.
Very engaged staff offer the same regular breakfast every morning. However their kindness and the place itself makes it worth staying there. A little improvement on the building (e.g the bathrooms) would not be harmful. Despite the afore mentioned we will always return.
Have a great stay in that wonderful city

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Sven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews