We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
33
14
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
14
10
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 61 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

This Hacienda is out of this world beautiful with delicious food to match. We absolutely loved the Colonial room with fireplace. The staff was extremely efficient and polite. We lucked out and strolled into Tibana for the Thursday market, rode the Haciendas well groomed horses and took in a hot stone massage. This is the ultate in relaxation ... Just be warned that its actually not in the town listed on TripAdvisor, but still only 2 hours from Bogota and situated in the most amazing valley full of lushness.
You will not be disappointed with this Hacienda paradise.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Awesome rooms with fireplaces which work and keep you cozy at night.

The staff is super helpful and go the extra mile to make you feel at home.

We went on a bike ride in the area--brought our own bikes--and had a great time.

Only suggestion is to offer more options for vegetarians.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank chaz_bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2016

My husband, 1.5 year old daughter and I recently spent 2 nights at the Hacienda Baza and we highly, highly recommend it. The food is very good, the setting is spectacular and they have a lot of nice little touches to make the place great. We received snacks of peanuts and popcorn along with a welcome glass of wine our first night, and they were incredibly kind about letting us use the kitchen fridge to keep some extra food for our daughter. The hike behind the hacienda is gorgeous and we loved having a fire ready to be lit at the end of the day. The manager told me it's very hot there in December/January/February and that people use the pool, but it definitely wasn't warm enough for that on this trip! They had big umbrellas and walking sticks for us to borrow as well. There are two big common rooms where you can hang out and play games and have drinks and snacks, both with huge fireplaces. Our daughter loved chasing the dogs around and jumping in puddles and enjoying all her freedom! I can't possibly say enough good things about this charming, wonderful place.

Room Tip: We paid a bit more for a bigger room and were in #15, which was gorgeous and spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 0410jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2015

It was our fourth stay in Baza after being absent for a couple of years (from Germany) but is has kept it's unique style you really need to look out for to find something so special like this place.

This hotel is really unique. Founded in 1638 as a residence of Domenican monchs it has been converted into a very beautiful hotel where almost every detail is placed with harmony. Here you get to know what the sounds of silence means.

Surrounded by extensive gardens it is the perfect place to find some rest and peaceful time and have conversations to interesting people who look for the same style of having some nice days without being disturbed by almost anything.

Getting there in fact is a bit uncomfortable when leaving the road that connects Bogotá and Tunja but what you experience is really worth the journey. It took us 4 hours to get there by once you arrive you forget about the journey. Take extensive walks in the forests or climb a mountain nearby and get back to join a good meal. Or take a horse trip to the village and forget about hectic life, especially if you want to get rid of the heavy traffic in Bogotá. Especially on weekends meet interesting people and have conversations with other guests that do appreciate that style as well.

The restaurant is good has a selection of wines. Enjoy reading or playing games in the bar or saloon. TV is only available in one salon but we haven't missed it at all. If you don't fear cold water, take a bath in the pool.

Perfect site for relax. Medical massage is offered by pprofessionl living in Baza during several months of the year.

All rooms are equipped with a chimney which during the night serves as heating for the room and gives it a very romantic touch.

Enjoy this beautiful place!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oliverfrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2015

Hacienda Baza is one of my favorite places to visit. It was an ideal couple's getaway before we were married it was an ideal couple's getaway. Now with children it's still a getaway for us and the kids can run around the rustic grounds, follow marked paths to lookouts and waterfalls, and explore the sprawling grounds without our supervision.

Hacienda Baza is located in the timeless countryside where poncho clad peasants ride horses and work their picturesque fields There is no TV or touristy activities at Baza and only 11 rooms. These are all advantages to create the tranquil environment. Baza attracts a mix of interesting, well educated and traveled Colombian and foreign visitors. Great conversation!

Need more info? The are fireplaces in every Spanish style room, friendly efficient service, and delicious meals served in the dining room by white gloved servers. By day, you can play croquet, lounge in hammocks, hike in nearby hills, walk to nearby Tibana, a 476 year old village as unchanged as the countryside.

l could write lots more, but you get the picture. I cannot understand why anyone would want to bother with the hassle, hustle, and crowds of Cartagena or even nearby Villa de Leyva. This type of experience is priceless. For about $200 per night including all meals.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank tigershark6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews