We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$75
Booking.comUS$75
eDreamsUS$75
TripadvisorUS$75
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
14
9
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
9
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2019

This is a good location near the main square, easy access which was appreciated. The staff was friendly, breakfast was decent, and served relatively quickly even when all tables were full. Filtered water was available 24/7 in the dining area to fill your water bottle. Check-in and check-out was efficient.

The room was cleaned daily and was spotless. Very good housecleaning and attention to detail to keep it clean. Courtyard was nice looking and people stopping to take pictures who were walking by on the street.

Hot water ran out a couple of times in the morning showers. Not sure if it was because our room was just above the kitchen. Wifi was ok, but not the strongest signal, that could be improved.

Although we didn't drive, they did have off street parking available in an enclosed walled area adjacent to the property. It is a grassy area, so our kid ran around in it too to burn off some energy.

For the price we paid, we felt the room was a little on the small side compared to nearby properties where our friends stayed. They paid about $10 more per night and had rooms which were 2x the size or larger, and one of them even had a fireplace in their room.

Room tip: Not above kitchen.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2017

Like a little hacienda while being in town. 1 block away from the main street of nicer stores, restaurants. This is not on the bus station side of the town.... much quieter and peaceful. I have stayed here 3 separate times. Seen most all the rooms and they were nice. Brought a group of 12 people one trip and the owners were very helpful and accomodating. The husband and wife team take very nice care of their property. A very traditional kitchen is located on the first floor where they make breakfast. Nice options and super sweet wait staff. I like that some of the apartments are two story and have cool wooden details. You feel like you are out in the country in a very old, well maintained Villa. They have rooms with at least 3 beds so you can bunk up together if you like traveling as a group. They also have nice rooms for couples with a Queen size bed. Nice dark heavy wood furnishings. I think they have parking too. I think this a great hotel that would appeal to anyone. Very clean, nice bedding. Lots of blankets too.
It's a kind of small hotel that remembers you when you come back, even a couple years later.

Room tip: Some of the rooms have two levels and are pretty cool to stay in.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaPortalVilla, Manager at Posada Portal De La Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

Dear Nathalie, Thanks so much for your comments. We are glad that you enjoy your stay. All the efforts to offer the best service possible is motivated by our guests. And. Yes, you are right, we have private parking that is charge-free.
Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2017

This quaint B&B run by an adorable Colombian couple named Carlos and Rosalba is the perfect place for a relaxing and romantic stay in Villa de Leyva. The location is absolutely perfect, located in the historic center of Villa de Leyva, just a 10 minute walk from the bus station, and only a block or two away from the main plaza. It's close to all sorts of shops and restaurants, but is far enough away where there isn't too much foot traffic and it's nice and quiet.

Our private room was super spacious, with a couch, a large closet to hang our clothes for the weekend, and a large bathroom. The best part however, was the great big window that showcased amazing views of the town and the mountains off in the distance. The views were also wonderful from the balcony, looking out into the B&B's main courtyard and the mountains on the other side of Villa de Leyva.

This B&B is a restored mansion from the 17th century, with Spanish colonial architecture, high ceilings, and 14 rooms arranged around a central courtyard. The property is so well maintained, with lush green grass and beautiful flowers throughout the property, and also has all sorts of interesting little odds used for decoration. My favorites were the vintage electronics on display, like the rotary dial phone, 1950s television set, and their clock collection. Although it was very traditional in the sense of its colonial architecture, I really enjoyed the quirky little details that gave it even that much more character.

My stay at Posada Portal de la Villa was so relaxing and really added to an excellent experience in Villa de Leyva. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a low key atmosphere with beautiful old world charm and touch of romance. Sometimes, I felt like I had stepped back in time, and it was a really wonderful feeling!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank wanderluluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaPortalVilla, Manager at Posada Portal De La Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

Dear Lauren, Thanks so much for your comments. We are glad that you enjoy your stay with us. Hope to see you back again ;-). Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

Low prices, clean and comfortable rooms, is perfect if you want a simple place to sleep and hang around town during the day.

The shower has limited hot water

People is really nice. During the day the doors are open but in the night you have to ring a bell so they open to you...

The 3 Breakfast options fit in everyones diet.

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaPortalVilla, Manager at Posada Portal De La Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

Dear Laura, Thanks so much for your comments. The closed door in the night is for security reasons :-). We are glad that you enjoy the breakfast. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2016 via mobile

Very clean. Nice little hotel very well located. Like 2 blocks from main square.
Nice rooms with lots of character. Breakfasts was very good. Service is good and everybody was friendly. There is parking within the property. There are no amenities in the hotel, besides this everything else is fine. Little bit over price. But then, almost every hotel around here is.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jucas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews