We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun, would return to the hotel not Kavos”
Review of Olympion Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olympion Village
Ranked #2 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Kavos
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The Olympion Village was a really nice hotel, particularly in comparison to the rest of kavos and for the money we paid. There are rules e.g no bringing other people back but you can see why as there are some families at the hotel. I definitely wouldn't reccommend families to go here, not because of the hotel (its probably the most suitable for families in kavos) but because kavos is in no way suitable for children or people looking for a relaxing holiday with culture etc .... kavos is very english.

We were a group of 4 girls so got one appartment with 2 bedrooms, for girls I definitely would say its worth getting two rooms if there is 4 or 5 of you, boys may not be as bothered. Rooms were really nice and spacious. We paid about 29 euros each to have 2 rooms with air con and a safe. I think the safe was 5 euros and each air con for a week was 12 euros but the air con is definitely worth getting. The kitchen is VERY basic, there was a kettle and a cheese toastie thing that we made some not so toasted toast in.

All the staff are lovely, happy to help you (particularly the staff at the hotel restaurant). The food and drink at the hotel is quite cheap, 2 courses for 7 euros. A pint of local beer is 2 euros. There is a supermarket on site which was occassionally useful. There's also an on call doctor that is 5 mins down the road who was really nice but I would advise taking out health insurance with a small excess, I came up with an allergic reaction and had to pay a £125 excess. The pool is also a nice size, easy to make friends.

We went with first choice and didn't plan to do any of the twentys stuff but somehow ended doing it, we went on about 3 nights out with them and personally I'd say we were ripped off. We paid around 30 euros for each night e.g. to do a bar crawl and a school disco and it seemed great for those who had never gone away but we all felt we could of saved the money and taken ourselves to bars. The nights out tended to include entry to a club and a free bar for a few hours.

Kavos itself is ok, not a very nice beach its very small and not exactly white sandy shores. The main strip during the day is dead but at night it is amazing, we had so much fun in all the bars. If you go to kavos you HAVE to go to the Drunken Squid restaurant for dinner its chinese/tex mex and literally the best dinner we had, we went back 4 times. Also go to TKD's for a cocktail, their food wasn't as good as the Drunken Squid but they do the best cocktails in all of kavos. As with most foregin places there are always PRs standing all the way down the strip harassing you to get into the bars but you just have to run past them. Watch out for the greek gypsies, my friend got her camera and phone stolen by them and they try and sell you cheap crap for like 5 euros and then they'll steal your purse/wallet.

Overall a really good holiday, I only wouldn't return to Kavos for a holiday as once you've been there once you've done it all but it is such a good holiday for going out etc in a big group. If I did go back I'd definitely stay at the Olympion Village.

Room Tip: Quite a quiet hotel really, as you're set back from the strip so there's not much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Canterbury2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

In total there were six 18 year old lads and we went for two weeks. After reading the reviews, I wasn't expecting much but, honestly, who writes these reviews because this was amazing! The hotel was set aback from the strip, and you have to walk up a poorly lit road from the strip to get to the hotel. Whilst we were there, a moped drove past this girl and snatched her handbag. As a lad, I walked up there on my own a few times and never had a problem but I'd suggest definitely walking up there in a group. I'll start with the hotel; Olympion Village is easily the best hotel in Kavos. When we were there, several acts stayed at the hotel: Benga & Young Man; Wretch 32; and Dirty Sanchez. They do have a few rules: no bringing guests back; no noise after 1am; pool closes at 7pm; you have to hand your room key into reception before leaving the hotel; you can't eat or drink anything around the pool not bought from the restaurant bar due to 'tax reasons'. This sounds bad, but really it didn't affect us. You can ask the security guard to let you into your room if one of your mates came back early, and if you go to the strip before 1am it's dead anyway, so you're out of the hotel at 1am and then when you get back you just want to sleep at like 0530 am anyway. Air Con was extra per week and safe was extra for the duration of our stay. I can't remember how much - sorry - but I'm sure it's on other reviews.

During the day, the maids will come into your room and tidy round you whilst you sleep. If you want, you can get up and they'll change the beds but they don't force it on you (like some reviews said they do). A tip as well, keep your balcony chairs inside your hotel room because otherwise people from neighbouring apartments will take them, and then you'll get fined €20 per chair that is missing / broke (all chairs have room numbers on the bottom of them). We found this out the hard way, but our rep managed to get it down to just €20 as we admitted breaking one of them. The beds were comfy enough. The shower area was pretty small but that's irrelevant for lads; girls may get a bit annoyed at it.

The restaurant food was really nice, and the cheapest you'll encounter compared to any restaurant on the strip (plus Karen, the waitress, was really friendly!), but if you're going down the strip to eat out you should try Drunken Squid at least one (most expensive, but really big portions. The quality of food is only slightly better than anywhere else). Don't just walk into a restaurant either; you should mill around outside until one of the PRs approaches you and offers you 15% off or something. Albeit the Drunken Squid is the only place that doesn't give you offers. If there was anywhere that I'd say to avoid, then it would be Sizzlers, but only because of the appalling customer service that the waitress offers; she was horrible.

There's a mini market on site, which has good prices; no different to the markets down on the strip. The shops on the strip do have more variety for alcohol though. Cigarettes are only €3.60 for 20 [courtesy of Charlie West].

The only excursion that we did during the day was Scuba Diving with the Kavos Diving Centre. It was €44 per dive and I've dived in both Barbados and Spain and of course this wasn't as good but hey, if you haven't done it before it's a great experience :) Everyone we met at the hotel said how great the Booze Cruise was, but we could never be bothered to get round to arranging it :( We also went Go Karting, which was €15 for half an hour. It was a good laugh. Just go to a shop that advertises it, tell them
that you want it and they'll ring the place who will send a car to you. It's a 2 minute drive, or 20 minute walk if you wanted to walk.

When you go down to the strip at night, there is a bar on the left hand side called JC's Bar (assuming you're staying at Olympion Village) and you have to try the Haribo drink! €6 a pint (average price in all the bars) and you get Haribo sweets in it! It tastes really nice, so nice you can get through three or four in half an hour without meaning to, and they get you pretty drunk. There's a fair few speciality cocktails that JC's do, all of which taste great, and the DJ in there is an awesome guy! We started our night off here most nights and they gave us so many free shots for being regulars. People mention how the PRs are annoying trying to get you in their places, and to an extent I can see why they can be, but if you can just banter and have a laugh with them then it just becomes part of a great night out! Towards the end, a PR would walk up to us and before he could say anything we'd tell him the offer he was about to give us! It was a laugh, though some of the offers are pretty good. The free bars are alright, but you're limited to only a certain type of drinks. A place called Rocky's did three drinks, two shots and a fish bowl for €5 each. Buzz Bar is a really good bar to go to because of
the music and flashing lights etc. There is a club called Venue that is only open twice a week, but has acts on each time, and it's €20 a ticket for a free bar all night. It's a really disgusting club (I'm sure you have one in your area) where the floor is horrible and the toilets are etc. but we've all been in one, and you just accept it. A free bar sounds good, but whatever you ask for they don't pay any attention and will give you a vodka and sprite or vodka and orange (the ratios are 50:50... the drinks are disgusting). If you're going to Venue, you should probably get obliterated before you get in there!

Negatives about the strip would be that Kavos has a law whereby music has to go off at 0130 am. This doesn't happen, unless the police drive past, and then they'll shut the music off and turn it back on when the police go. It was random how many times it would happen in a night. One night though, there'd been a fight and so the police car parked in the middle of the strip and all the bars had to turn their music off, so that night finished pretty early. Another negative is the gypsies. The women will try to sell you roses and other useless items, and the children will just be walking around, some will do break dancing (to their credit, they were awesome at it), but this is to distract you whilst they try and pickpocket you. If you go skinny dipping on the beach, expect to come back to all of your clothes being stolen as some gypsies are stationed on the beach waiting for you to do this!

The beach is not really very nice. It's sandy, which is something, but where the sand meets the ocean it's just seaweed. There is a place called the 'Secret Beach' (which is where we went Scuba Diving) and this is really nice and quite secluded. It was about a half hour drive but if you get a taxi it may be something you want to do for one day if staying in the hotel all day is getting tedious.

That's about everything. To summarise, Kavos was my first lads holiday and it's one I won't forget. It was an absolutely amazing experience that was added to by the quality of the hotel. If you're going to Kavos, stay at Olympion Village.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank DanFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Stayed here a few days ago for a week with a group of 6. on entering the room (215) first impressions were excellent, it had a little kitchenette with all essentials, walk through more we had 2 beds with a generous amount of storage and spce, upstairs we had the third bed and toilet which was very clean and very wel decorated, the shower curtains were not the best as the water would quite easily flow past and onto the batroom floor but there was a little drain in the center to collect this. outside was the pool area, with a pretty big pool, the deepest it went was 1.8 meters, sunloungers were all around. there were 2 pooltables charging a euro a go but if you put 50c in the table near the eating area it will work. there is also a ping pong table it costs 2 euros for renting the bats n ball, but ucan buy some balls from the shop just outside the hotel if you want to play some beer pong, as i mentioned there is a shop, and it is literally just outside seling all essentials including drinks for very competitive prices. in the mornings you can get a bitish brekkie for 2.50 which is fantastic value and tastes good, however in the afternoon and morning when you fancy lunch or dinner, everyone found the food poor/average but 4.90 for 2 courses, its still very good value, I had the chicken fillet mexican style, the chicken itself was a bit hard, dry and tasteless, I recomend going to the lemon grove hotel restaurant where they offer same offer including desert for same price and food was much better, my chicken fillet got a 10/10 there. theroom service as fantastic, we made so much mess and the cleaners did a fantastic job keeping it to an acceptable standard, the only thing is they will literally all march in your room and be on madness which can be a bit annoying after your nursing that hangover from the day before.
tips for you lot include:
- be nice to hotel staff and locals, if you treat them nice they will treat you nice
- dont go to too many 50c bars as we all know that dodgy alcohol is around
- dont count on going to beach too much, becasue it is rubbish. get a buggy and drive 8km out of kavos to go to some cracking beaches, my personal favie being santa barbora beach.
final thought: best hotel in kavos deffinitly...
this has been another PaddyD review... trust with confidence

Room Tip: room 215 is on the ground floor, but do not let this put you off, would much rather prefer this to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paddyakahectic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Didn't pay that much for it, expected it to be a sort of budget place with the basic stuff. But it was so much more, rooms were spotless and cleaned regularly, restaurant was better than average and very reasonable (2 courses for €5.90), staff were brilliant and very friendly and the pool was perfect.
a few annoying things though, soft drinks were €3 a pint, air con €50 per ROOM, not per apartment, and the pool closed at 7 o'clock due to 'chemicals being put in' however its probably to stop the drunks swimming at 6 in the morning.
otherwise it was perfect, had the best holiday ever and i would thoroughly recommend it to any of my friends.
also dirty sanchez & benga both stopped there while we were there so it appears to be the best hotel in kavos. :)

definitely not for anything apart from a drinking holiday.

Room Tip: Had three rooms between our group, all the same price but varied a little in size and quality. Guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aabbcc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

12 of us stayed here and it was the best hotel in kavos by far!!! staff there were brill and super fun and liked giving us free shots and cocktails!! food was amazing and all very cheap. we had the best time ever! we'd recommend buzz, 42nd street and maddisons down on the strip ALSO do the booze cruise with the 20's reps. it was the best!!! beware of the gypsies (especially the children ones they're the worst) they will try and steal your bags but shouting at them gets rid of them easily.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhizzoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We went to Kavos as a group of 8 18 year old girls celebrating the end of A levels, and were prepared to take a hotel that was cheap and sacrifice luxuries so that we could have more spending money for alcohol! However while Olympion Village was cheap, it was easily the best hotel in Kavos! We had a few celebrities such as Wretch 32, Reggie Yates and others staying there while they were out to perform in some of the clubs, so its obviously a good choice! The hotel was absolutely spotless, with a restaurant open most all day for snacks, and in the evening a 2 course dinner of really tasty food was less than 6euros, and the menu was very varied! They have a bar thats open from7pm to 5am, which has happy hour from 10pm-1am, the drinks were still a bit more expensive than on the strip, but they tasted nicer, and quite often you'd get free drinks off the bar guys who offer to pour shots out the bottle down your throat! The rooms were really nice, they all had a balcony and were plenty big enough, the only downside is that the shower in our room wasnt particularly powerful yet flooded the bathroom quite easily, and wasnt hugely hot (although that wasnt a bad thing in 40 degree heat!) Apart from that they were lovely! The pool was absoluely massive and a lovely temperature and was always spotless, with loads of sunbeds we never struggled to get 8 together. All the staff were really friendly, we made friends with most of them and dont have a bad word to say about a single one of them. At our welcome meeting with our rep, she explained quite a few rules such as strict pool operating hours (so that it can be cleaned) no music after midnight, its the only hotel in kavos that wont let you bring non residents back to the hotel etc, and it struck us as a bit excessive, but you soon realise that that is what gives it the safe secure lovely atmosphere it had. Edmund the security guy was there all night, and used to have chats with us when we got back, get our keys for us etc, and as a result the hotel felt really safe as you knew exactly who was there, and that you were being looked out for, unlike others we met in other hotels who frequently got stuff stolen. Air con and the safe were both essential purchases, but very reasonably priced. It was in a perfect location, about a 2 minute walk from the middle of everything so far enough away that you could get an early night if you wanted it, but still very much easy walking distance. I'd advise you not to buy everything off your reps, its very tempting as they do a very good job of selling you their stuff, but our best nights out were the ones we did alone - we went on their bar crawl on our first night to familiarise ourselves but that was it, and i know a lot of people who booked it all then regretted it, although 'Trinity' (on a wednesday night) is meant to be good, but we didnt bother with that. Keep an eye out for posters as to whats on as we got tickets to a beach party where calvin harris was performing which was amazing, that the reps never even once mentioned. If you're not fussy about what you drink then you can get some amazing deals, most PRs are desperate to get you into their bars, and you can deals such as 1euro drinks all night, 50 cents a shot, 2 cocktails 2 shots and a fishbowl for 5euros etc etc - feel free to barter, we often did and you can quite often get some better deals out of it! The best bars were Rockys, 42nd street, Buzz, Maddisons, Snobs and Rolling Stone, in terms of clubs the only I'd reccomend is Atlantis which is a beach club so literally is just an outdoor club, right on the beach - its open the latest so everyone normally heads here after 4/5 when everything else closes - we sat and watched the sun rise on our last night and it was lovely! Its got free entry but the drinks are pricey so we used to drink more elsewhere and maybe have 1/2 in there. The other clubs werent as good and were expensive to get into, but the drinks were then cheaper/free on some nights. The only other thing to watch out for in Kavos is gypsies that send their kids over to sell you roses and glo sticks, and then pick pocket you when you least expect it... it happened alot so its best to ignore the emotional blackmail all together, and put your hand on your bag when they're around and they leave you alone.

In all we all agree it was easily the best holiday we've ever been on, and the best hotel in kavos... we only got back today and we're already thinking about returning and doing it all again next year!!!!

Room Tip: You dont really get a choice but the 3 we had were all lovely (studio appartments)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lou_1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

booked with a group of 12 friends for end of A levels and it was even better than my expectations! The rooms were lovely and roomy and cleaned everyday, the pool was very nice and big and the resturant was fab value for money with really friendly staff and good food! Close enough to the strip but we never heard any noise from it at night (may be also due to the fact we didnt get back till 6am every night!) Rooms were pretty basic but there wasn't anything that was missing really and we didnt spend much time in them. Would recommend face bar at the end of the strip for pre drinks (6 euro each for 3 fish bowls a shot and free bar for an hour!!) Saw other friends appartments and our was the best by far! Kavos 2011 <3

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kittykat8893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kavos
1.4 km away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.4 km away
Quayside Village
Quayside Village
#4 of 14 in Kavos
369 reviews
0.9 km away
Morfeas Hotel
Morfeas Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kavos
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
533 reviews
23.1 km away
Karina Hotel
Karina Hotel
#13 of 17 in Benitses
77 reviews
1.4 km away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kavos
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympion Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympion Village

Address: Kavos 49080, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kavos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Kavos
Price Range: $31 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympion Village 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Olympion Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympion Village Studios & Apartments Hotel Kavos
Olympion Village Studios And Apartments
Olympion Village Kavos, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing