We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Quayside Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quayside Village
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kavos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival we really did not have a good feeling about the hotel as we got of at our stop around 3am and we were really worried about what we'd paid for.. the reps took us down this dark alley street with no lighting and abandoned buildings. We got to the reception and thankfully we got block b, from my understanding it is block a or b you want as they're actually in the hotel, the other blocks are a bit further down the strip! Got to our room and it is very basic but after the first few days you get used to it! It's close enough to the strip but far enough not to hear it throughout the night which is the best part. Right on the beach too which is always a bonus and the staff are very friendly. We only paid £160 each for a week here and considering what we paid I believe it's been an enjoyable stay.

Only thing I'd say for them to improve on is the sheets as they do have stains on and also the beds are very hard....

Me and my boyfriend had a really good time here and everyone's lovely. Sometimes reps can be quite pushy with the wristband deal but you can usually get them cheaper on the strip. The only bonus about buying with a thomas cook rep for example is you leave for a bar crawl every night as a big group so it's social but you don't get discounted drinks and our wristband hasn't gotten us anything cheaper..

The reps are such a laugh and everyone's always friendly so you'll definitely have a good time even if your room isn't amazing!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Becca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a joke. It's dirty , smelly , unhygienic and rude. No one says hello apart from the cleaner who is lovely even though she does see some sites. Our room had dead mosquitos on the walls and on the floor. Our linen had stains on it even the clean ones that we got daily. The basic kitchen equipment that was provided was dirty like it had already been used and not checked. The floors all over the hotel were either covered in dirty puddles or had dead bugs everywhere.

Very basic room. A couple of plug sockets that are nowhere near the bed. The beds were hard.

The area is lovely if you are looking to party. Everywhere is cheap so you will never go hungry. Lots of things to do and see. But the cleanliness of the hotel was diabolical and was more like a hostel than a three star hotel. I would not recommend this to anyone and feel like it needs a re vamp and deep clean before the next season

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Myself and two others reserved a week's stay in Quayside, attracted by the lovely photos and reviews which boasted its central location to both the strip and the beach. It's important to note that our accommodation was not in the hotel itself, but in the 'annex building' a few minutes walk further down the strip. We were aware of this before we made the reservation. Damage deposits of €50 per person are requested on arrival - a fair requirement given the location. Air conditioning is also an additional €40 for the week, and the hotel does not have free WiFi. The surroundings of the hotel itself - the loungers on the beach and around the pool, the bar areas, and the second pool area (called 'The Boulevard') are fabulous.
Our room in the Annex Building was relatively clean and simple yet spacious, it had a kitchen area containing a fridge/freezer which was very useful and a cooker, which we didn't need to use as restaurant prices were very reasonable. The shower consisted of a shower tray and hose - no frame/panels. We had a balcony which looked out on an overgrown type field and it was shared with our next door neighbours. Anybody could have walked on to it from outside, with the simple turn of a corner - not a major issue, for us. Glass doors were made secure by locks and there was an additional metal shutter to lock again over that. There was also a night watch-man there during our stay, Nikos, who was very helpful, friendly and always made us feel secure.
The location was great, Kavos itself was filthy but lots of fun and we were enjoying ourselves to the full. When we arrived back to the room on day 2, excited to get ready for the night ahead, we quickly realised our room had no running water - no shower, sink, toilet, etc. Disgusted and in a panic, we reported the problem to reception who informed us that "the whole of Kavos had no running water, we can't do anything". We then conferred with several neighbours in the blocks surrounding ours, to quickly learn that it was just our block that was affected by this problem, reception staff lied to us.
The following day we approached reception again, stating that it was unacceptable to leave paying customers without the very basic of running water. The "whole of Kavos" excuse was used again, we weren't accepting that for a second time. After a lengthy discussion, it emerged that our block's water tank was unable to support the number of guests staying in it. Outraged, we explained we simply would not put up with this, so we were given the key for a room in another block which was "guaranteed running water" to use as our own until departure, we couldn't permanently move there as there were only two beds.
While this situation was not ideal, it was better than nothing. The additional room was a short walk from our own block so we left shampoo, etc. over there for convenience. Accustomed to our new procedure, we were content and even shared the key with our neighbours in our own block, they were very grateful.
The following evening, a lady from reception appeared on our balcony, requesting that we hand over the key for our additional room as "there were guests moving in the following morning" and "others needed to use the shower" - conflicting reasons. We explained to this lady that we were given this to use as our own until departure and were clearly told nobody else would be moving in. She then demanded the key, to which we informed her that the guests next door were using it, at the time. Because we were not prepared to hand over the key, this lady then became very forceful and aggressive in demeanor, she began to shout very loudly in our faces and we felt frightened and intimidated. We explained we would not tolerate this type of treatment from staff of the establishment we were paying for customer service in and requested the manager. We did receive an apology from him, and he reiterated that the key was in fact ours to use until departure.
Overall, we enjoyed our holiday but the incident with this receptionist caused a lot of distress and discomfort. Although the situation with the (lack of) water was dealt with to some extent, it is simply intolerable for any establishment to sell rooms to paying customers where such a basic right is not guaranteed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel block are guaranteed running water. Rooms in the blocks down the strip (annex bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gemmamcdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

On arrival myself and my friends were a little unsure about the hotel as it was down a little side street on the main strip. It is 50euro deposit per room and if you want aircon it is 40euros for a week which can be taken out of your deposit - so its basically free. This hotel doesnt have a lift so we had to lug our suitcases to the second floor with great difficulty. We had two separate rooms as there was 6 of us travelling. The rooms were adequate, clean and spacious. Just what you need for a party holiday. However, there was only 1 plug socket in the room which slept 3 people - so i advise you bring an extension lead with you. Balcony space could easily fit 6 chairs on.
Round the pool its chilled out when there isn't a pool party going on, when there is it is crazy. Drinking games, loud music and drinks offers that you cant refuse. Be aware there is NO lifeguard. Also the pool bar food was well priced and amazing with generous portions. At night the bar offers 10euro bar for an hour.
The hotel is very well placed as it is literally a 10 second walk to the main strip. The beach is literally on the doorstep of the hotel with the boat parties boarding outside the hotel.
There is always after parties going on until the morning as the police shut all clubs down at 2am except from 2 of them. This didnt affect us too much.
Sydney our rep told us on arrival that there is only one rule of this hotel - there is no rules. You can do what you want in this hotel as the staff are so laid back - obviously within reason.
Overall this hotel is perfect for a partying holiday in the sun with your friends.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view, pool facing rooms are better on the second floor, the end rooms on each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Upon first arriving at the hotel I was concerned that the coach drops the guests off in the middle of the strip without any indication as where to go. This is then followed by a short walk down a dark alley with boarded up houses that fills you with dread as you wonder where you have ended up. When checking in you are then asked for a 50 euro deposit towards any damage you may cause. At first I was appalled by this but after realising that the hotel will probably receive regular damage from drunken guests I understood so this was fine. However the hotel does not come with air conditioners or wifi both of which have to be paid for. In addition, breakfast is served from the pool bar as there is no breakfast room or restaurant. As well as this the only thing that is included in breakfast is a toastie or continental breakfast with everything else having to be paid for. But this is where my criticisms end as the rest of the week paid off. The hotel is clean enough and does do a good drink deal with you being able to pay 10 euro for an hour of free drinks which will get you drunk. The place is on the doorstep of the beach and the strip meaning you're never far from the action. Overall a good experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JackAsbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Myself and two friends did some serious research for before deciding where to spend our first girls holiday- I can tell you now that staying at Quayside was one of the best decisions we’ve ever made. After being warmly greeted by reception, we made the choice of paying for air-con (which is well worth it because otherwise good luck trying to sleep in an oven) and the safe which is next to reception and monitored 24/7. Sydney, our rep, then made an appearance providing us with a plethora of deals for every kind of party under the sun- he made sure we had something booked for every night of the week. This man is one cheeky sod, you’ve gotta love him!

The rooms at Quayside are simple but provide everything necessary for the kind of holiday you’re after in Kavos. Our 3-person room was a surprisingly large annex with a balcony across the strip. Having read that we’d need a set of earplugs to get even a wink of sleep, I was slightly apprehensive, but as a great lover of sleep I can say it really wasn’t an issue. By some form of accident, we figured out that we could turn our mini fridge into a freeze- freezing bottles of water from the shop across the road is something I'd strongly advise.

The location. I’m not sure the hotel could get much closer to the beach if it tried. There are plenty of sunbeds on the beach and round the pool, so there’s no need to go all German on it and wake up at the crack of dawn for a bed. On that note, you MUST stay up, get yourself to the end of the jetty and watch the sun rise. There is nothing more beautiful. At this point the pool bar will still be playing music so why not just carry on the sesh? The bar and the pool area its self is always clean and tidy.

The staff are absolute angels! Trudging down to the pool early afternoon we couldn’t have been more thankful for them serving ‘breakfast’ until 1 each day. It’s the little things guys. These people are honestly the biggest part of what makes staying at Quayside so amazing. The Kantas family who run the hotel are far too kind and generous for their own good. See the five of them at the Friday pool party and you’ll understand the true meaning of family goals. If you don’t feel like heading out to the strip for pre’s, the pool bar does a free bar from 10pm. Best thing- Dan the barman djing and drinking as much as you can in an hour for €10. You know it’s going to be a good night if Danny boy is around.

Having been repeatedly told "you're going to die in Kavos" I was nervous to say the least, but I have never been so pleasantly surprised in my life. Of course it's total filth I mean come on what do you expect but it's the best kind of filth. So why bother looking any further? This is the only place worth staying in Kavos. You’re guaranteed a class time and will meet some beautiful people. I promise!
Kavos destroyed me and is full of absolute nutters but I wouldn’t change it for the world… so Kavos 2018 sounds like a plan to me!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Would recommend Quayside to everyone coming to Kavos! Only hotel on the strip with something going on. Room was fine with balcony would recommend staying in the main block as the rooms are definitely better and more secure. Hotel is situated right on the beach and hotel has a 24 hour bar which comes in handy as strip closes early. Our rep Sydney was amazing, we booked events through him and were not disappointed, there was an event on nearly every night including a evening boat party which I would really recommend! Stay here if you want a lively holiday and to meet loads of new people, already want to go back.

Room Tip: stay in the main block when possible - bit more expensive but
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank m56895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kavos
1 km away
Morfeas Hotel
Morfeas Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kavos
804 reviews
1.5 km away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
1.5 km away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kavos
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 km away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
1.6 km away
Ionian Sea View Hotel
36.1 km away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quayside Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quayside Village

Address: Kavos 490 80, Greece (Formerly Freestyle Village)
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kavos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kavos
Price Range: C$19 - C$92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Quayside Village 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This page is solely designated for the Hotel and Facilities of Quayside Village in Kavos, Corfu. Reviews and Comments regarding Club 18-30s, Thomas Cook, Airlines, Transfer Companies and their representatives in the resort of Kavos should be addressed directly with these companies as we do not have influence on their company policies. If you are considering booking Quayside Village for your holidays, please check with your travel agent which part of the hotel you are booking. Quayside Village is composed of 8 buildings. Our 2 main buildings are located near the pool and beach. All other 6 buildings (named 'Annex' on most websites) are located near the hotel or near the Kavos main street and reachable within a 2 minute walk from our reception. Quayside Village is the perfect hotel to complement your clubbing experience in Kavos, Corfu. Quayside Village is the place to be for people looking for a vibrant holiday where the fun and action never stops. If you are looking for a hotel with round the clock entertainment, Quayside Village is the place to be. Book Now to avoid disappointment – Summer 2017 selling out fast. Check-in takes place at the main reception in the main block, where safety deposit boxes and air-conditioning can be arranged for an additional charge. A deposit of 50 Euros per person is payable upon check-in (cash only). This deposit is refundable on check-out, subject to no damage to your room or its contents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quayside Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quayside Village Hotel Kavos
Freestyle Village Kavos
Quayside Village Kavos, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing