We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach just down from our house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The beach just down from our house
Sunset from our Lounge
St Kilda View Point
Lobster Pot
Garage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
North Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PaulaJA
Cumbria, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The best house we have ever stayed in . . . by far! Spacious, light, comfortable and with everything one could possibly want thought of. Loved having the WiFi. Great location - short walk to a wonderful beach. (And absolutely immaculate presentation.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments we are just so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our house and hope to see you again. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
50Lyn
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A week of WOWS!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The bungalow is superb - furnished to a high standard, yet welcoming with every attention to detail - just loved it here. Beautiful beach almost on the doorstep with lots of ,lovely walks. Its in a good location to see lots of places, and we drove to Barra to watch the plane land on the beach which was fantastic.
We also bought lots of fresh shellfish which was delicious as well as fish from the smokehouse.
We would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - modern, clean, lots of extras, location
Liked least: We liked everything about this property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review about our house and the surrounding area. We are always so happy when guests enjoy such a beautiful area as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessaF4...
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just loved it”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fabulous place
Everything has been thought of to deal with a somewhat inhospitable climate
We were lucky but even on the odd chilly nights had wonderful views/warm surroundings and every comfort

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warmth/views/lightness everywhere
Liked least: the wind preventing us from eating outside !!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we really appreciate it. Hopefuly we will see again so that you can enjoy the fantastic views come rain or shine from our house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temps58
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We know and love the Scottish west coast and islands, however we had never previously visited the Outer Hebrides. North Uist is a magical place with a stunning landscape and seemingly endless sandy beaches. You can also easily visit Harris by Ferry. Tranquil Sands is a top-class cottage, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. It has WiFi and has all you would want from a modern holiday cottage. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very modern nd comfortable.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2014
North Uist is a fanatstic relaxing place to visit and it is so nice when guests leave such lovely comments about our house and the surrounding area thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood...
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stunning property in a stunning location”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have enjoyed several holidays in the Outer Hebrides, from Lewis in the North to Barra in the South, but never in such a beautiful house as Tranquil Sands. The accommodation is spotlessly clean, well furnished and fully equipped.
The house is ideally situated, providing easy access to all parts of North Uist, Benbecula and South Uist.
We were so impressed by the accommodation that midway through our stay in June 2014, we booked to return for a further week in the summer of 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves in our house and look forward to welcoming you back again this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieNewb...
Newbury
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Idyllic Place in a luxury cottage”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A beautifully appointed cottage, well furnished for a very comfortable holiday. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are well appointed. The garage is a useful place to change out of muddy boots. There are lovely walks from the cottage to the local beach. Further afield are great lunch places such as Claddach Kirkiebost centre or the Lobster Pot on Berneray. The shops at Sollas or Bayhead sell everything you need.
The cottage is in a lovely position to visit South Uist, Benbecula and Eriskay and a lovely day can be spent driving down the causeways linking the islands.
Whilst we spent our two weeks at Tranquil Sands the BBC said it would be very wet but we only had one wet day although it rained at night. We love North Uist and are returning to this cottage in May to enjoy spring on Uist having been there in Autumn and summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, the sheep next door, the comfort
Liked least: Must remember shops are closed on Sunday so need initial provisions
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely positive comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip to North Uist and your stay at Tranquil Sands.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$547
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing