We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern Luxury”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach just down from our house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The beach just down from our house
Sunset from our Lounge
St Kilda View Point
Lobster Pot
Garage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
North Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeff K
1 review
“Modern Luxury”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Everything the four of us needed for a great holiday. The design, build and decor of this property are superb. We would have booked our full three weeks here next year but we have been beaten to it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Privacy of bathroom and ensuite
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday to the islands and thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments about our house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgchamber...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully equipped accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very well appointed and equipped cottage in a quiet location close to the sea. As a bird photographer it was sited close to a number of locations I wanted to explore. For the general visitor it had all you would wish for. It was in fact the best holiday accommodation I have ever stayed in. When we arrived it was spotless and the whole interior was pleasing and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully equipped
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive comment. It is always very satisfying to know that guests have enjoyed their stay and that they like our island so much, especially for the bird watchers taking pictures.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieNewb...
Newbury
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Happy return”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We've returned to Tranquil Sands with my parents (aged 86 and 87) so they can experience North Uist. They considered Tranquil Sands their favourite cottage to stay in, appreciating the well appointed home from home and the lovely setting it is in. The ensuite is ideal for less mobile people.
Our week was mainly dry with some lovely sunrises and sun sets. We enjoyed seeing Hosta beach on a lovely bright day and visiting each of the islands across the causeways.
When we return to North Uist we will return to Tranquil Sands our favourite cottage on the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views in every direction, seeing the lighthouse in the atlantic
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your return to us and that your parents also had a lovely time on thier first visit to North Uist. Thanks for your lovely comments and we hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaJA
Cumbria, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The best house we have ever stayed in . . . by far! Spacious, light, comfortable and with everything one could possibly want thought of. Loved having the WiFi. Great location - short walk to a wonderful beach. (And absolutely immaculate presentation.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments we are just so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our house and hope to see you again. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
50Lyn
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A week of WOWS!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The bungalow is superb - furnished to a high standard, yet welcoming with every attention to detail - just loved it here. Beautiful beach almost on the doorstep with lots of ,lovely walks. Its in a good location to see lots of places, and we drove to Barra to watch the plane land on the beach which was fantastic.
We also bought lots of fresh shellfish which was delicious as well as fish from the smokehouse.
We would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - modern, clean, lots of extras, location
Liked least: We liked everything about this property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review about our house and the surrounding area. We are always so happy when guests enjoy such a beautiful area as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessaF4...
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just loved it”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fabulous place
Everything has been thought of to deal with a somewhat inhospitable climate
We were lucky but even on the odd chilly nights had wonderful views/warm surroundings and every comfort

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warmth/views/lightness everywhere
Liked least: the wind preventing us from eating outside !!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we really appreciate it. Hopefuly we will see again so that you can enjoy the fantastic views come rain or shine from our house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood...
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stunning property in a stunning location”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have enjoyed several holidays in the Outer Hebrides, from Lewis in the North to Barra in the South, but never in such a beautiful house as Tranquil Sands. The accommodation is spotlessly clean, well furnished and fully equipped.
The house is ideally situated, providing easy access to all parts of North Uist, Benbecula and South Uist.
We were so impressed by the accommodation that midway through our stay in June 2014, we booked to return for a further week in the summer of 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves in our house and look forward to welcoming you back again this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing