We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal location for a relaxing holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tigh na Boireach

The mountains of Harris are visible in the distance on a good day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The mountains of Harris are visible in the distance on a good day
We have made features of old artifacts rescued from the croft, like the anchor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The mountains of Harris are visible in the distance on a good day
We have made features of old artifacts rescued from the croft, like the anchor.
The shared drive gives access to the property.
Keep a look out for the Aurora Borealis (no guarantees though!)
A modern, fully equipped kitchen fitted in June 2014 featuring a solid oak worktop
Two small steps lead into the entrance
The modern shower is fed from a high pressure tank.
The 4 poster bed makes your visit even more memorable.
Guests are invited to pick fresh herbs from our herb boat.
Guests are able to experience that real croft experience by digging fresh potatoes.
The outside light feature is constructed from local pebbles,
Our alpine garden incorporates stone seating.
The ploughs were discovered in the field, and are now restored and mounted in the field.
The beautiful beach at Clachan Sands - it's busy if there is anyone else on the beach!
White sand and clear blue sea at Clachan Sands
Summer flowers on the machair at Clachan Sands, also many species of rare birds
Being on the West side of the island means that there are some spectacular sunsets
No light pollution is also an attractive prospect for the more adventurous photographer
The cottage is a short walk from the stunning beach at Clachan Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
FaeFife19...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal location for a relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We found Tigh Na Boireach the perfect place to have a quiet break. We were here for three days and it was a good location for seeing the islands. It is small, but for two people it is ideal, has everything you need and at a good standard. It was everything we expected it to be!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great cottage, disappointing location”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
16
people found this review helpful

This would be an ideal holiday cottage apart from three things, location, location and location. As soon as we turned into the shared drive/garden our hearts sank. This cottage is not remote. Overlooked by a larger cottage at the front, and corrugated iron sheds and the detritus of a fishing business at the rear, the cottage has no outlook. Privacy is gained by locking the front door to stop the wind blowing it open, and pulling the curtains tight. Not a romantic idyll. The Ordnance Survey and Google Maps have not caught up with this area. We have since discovered that the Google camera car has.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: It was on North Uist
Liked least: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
I am grateful to this reviewer for pointing out that Tigh na Boireach is not ISOLATED. It sits in a small community with 5 other cottages within half a mile, one of which is opposite our cottage as shown in the photograph on the Holiday Lettings advert captioned "The shared access drive leads to the cottage". It is however undeniably REMOTE. The garden is not a shared garden as stated by the reviewer. It is not fully enclosed, having the front section unfenced as we considered fencing this would be to the detriment of the cottage (hence its unsuitability for guests with dogs). We are working hard to improve the garden with a number of projects for next season, including a 'herb boat' from which guests will be able to pick fresh herbs. Watch this space!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmill
Knightwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic break at the cottage which was just as you hope from the pictures, a real home from home that was well equipped and very comfortable and relaxing. The beaches on the island are outstanding and if the weather is sunny you could be anywhere in the world. White sands and turquoise blue seas. It is a place that you step back in time a few shops and little shopping but making your own entertainment is the name of the game and we did that with pleasure.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monikawei...
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing