We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saltgate House
Nearby Hotels
The Kings Head Hotel(Beccles)(Great Value!)
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waveney Inn(Burgh St Peter)
US$117
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winelodge Hotel(Lowestoft)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wherry Hotel(Oulton Broad)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkhill(Lowestoft)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
127
5
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
5
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb blocal producewonderful hostsher husbandonly stayed one nightlovely propertywealth of local knowledgegranoladelicious breakfastwhilst attending a weddingevery amenitycomfortable bedlovely townfresh fruitrooms are lovelya lovely staycooked to perfection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We're regular visitors to both Beccles and Saltgate House and the excellent accommodation on offer at Saltgate House makes a massive difference to our stay. A beautiful listed building in the heart of the town, there's a nice lounge with a big selection of DVDs should you not fancy going out. The rooms are all a good size, clean and comfortable, and the en-suite bathrooms are all modern with a power shower. Breakfast is always excellent, with a good choice of both times and food options - if you want it, they'll try their best to provide it!
Carol and Steve could not be more helpful; nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, even going so far as to help you plan your stay outside the B&B as much as they can. In the last year, they've kindly kept us tickets for both Beccles Ghost and History Walks (both of which are also recommended!).
We always look forward to going to Beccles, and the opportunity to stay with Carol and Steve again is a large part of that.

Room Tip: One of the rooms at the front has a four-poster bed should you be feeling extravagant - rooms at the front of the house are larger but the two at the back are quieter as they're not on the main road. None of the rooms are noisy though!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Easy to find, once you've negotiated the Beccles one way system anyway, Saltgate House is a handsome blue-painted town house in the heart of the Suffolk town. We were greeted warmly by Carol and taken up stairs to our cosy twin room overlooking the pretty garden. The beds were gloriously comfortable, a benefit we appreciated particularly on rolling into them after a late night wedding party nearby. The room was so quiet and the thick curtains so good at keeping out the morning light I was quite resentful at having to get up for 9.30 breakfast - why do B and Bs never allow lie-ins??! The bathroom was a bit small, too small in fact to accomodate a towel rail! The shower was wonderfully powerful but had a mind of its own and drenched the entire room as soon as you turned it on. Breakfast was very tasty with fruit and cereals followed by a well cooked full English.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinchoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The excellent service my Dad Pete and I received at Saltgate House B & B was so good that I felt compelled to let others know!
We arrived and were greeted by Carol who offered to carry my Dad's case, shown into the comfy living room and shortly after Steve presented us with a tray of tea and biscuits and a handy map of Becccles. This was such a pleasant surprise and just what we needed that it put us in a good mood straight away.
After mentioning to Carol that we would be walking alot during our stay she brought us a couple books to help us out, it was this thoughtfulness ( just one example of many ) that really stood out for us, as well as the great location, comfy room for three nights and excellent breakfasts.
I am not given over to gushy sentiments but credit where credit is due they really do care about their guests.
As for our map reading skills and sense of direction no amount of books is going to cure that I'm afraid but it did give us all a good laugh.
Thanks Carol and Steve.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Have just returned from a short break to Beccles in the Waveney Valley where we stayed with Carol & Steve at Saltgate House. Cannot praise them enough for their hospitality, friendliness and willingness to accomodate us. Nothing was too much trouble as they made every effort to make us as comfortable as possible during our short break.

As an escape from London this is a haven only a few hours away with a comfy bed and fabulous breakfast to set you up for a day exploring the tranquil countryside...I think Carol & Steve even organised the gorgeous weather...though they said they didn't!!!

See you again soon - Claire & David Mitchell

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banjyboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Ideally situated right in Beccles, our room was a tad small and so was shower, felt the place could do with a vacuum. Hosts were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzlightyearUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews