We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B and B. Great location. Proprieters friendly and helpful.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saltgate House
Ranked #1 of 12 Beccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent B and B. Great location. Proprieters friendly and helpful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Just returned from a long weekend at Saltgate, situated in the heart of Beccles. Lovely B and B. Rooms clean, beds comfortable, great location and easy to park. Breakfast was tasty, freshly cooked to orderand plenty of it. But the nicest part of the stay was the welcome we recieved from Carol and Steve, what a lovely couple, nothing was too much trouble and they really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
Have already booked to return again next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
60
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Some friends and I spent a rather lovely weekend at the Saltgate in July. I have to admit that when my friend mentioned that I was staying in a B&B, I had images of rather sparse and dreary rooms, but I ws totally wrong. The room that I stayed in was large, with enough room for a two-seater sofa; had a great bed and an extremely clean on-suite bathroom.

Another positive were the breakfast: a full English could easily see you through the whole day (unfortunately, I am a glutton!).

I would very easily recommend the Saltgate to anybody who was staying in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

The owners went out of their way to help us, the place was attractive, the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was lovely. It felt quite homely.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed at Saltgate house for one night at the start of July. The B&B itself has a great location in the centre of Beccles. The common areas are lovely and rustic and the bedroom we had was huge and well decorated. Breakfast was good as well. Most of all the lovely service, friendly and helpful is what we will remember most about Saltgate House. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igs1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

Carol and Steve are very friendly and give a warm welcome to guests. The blue fronted house, a short stroll from both Old and New Market squares, has been lovingly restored. The guest sitting room is a cosy spot to sit and read or check email. Rooms are comfortable and an English country garden makes a very pretty view from the back bedroom window. Breakfast is great, with memorable bacon specially ordered in from a nearby farm via one of the local butchers. Helpful tips on good places to eat and suggestions for pleasant walks by the river enhance exploration of a fascinating old market town. Saltgate House is a pleasing find.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZhuAnYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

A real gem of a B&B. The location could not be better, or more easy to find, and our room was very clean with every amenity. The owners are very helpful and there is ample parking. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wornandtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

Carol & Steve are so genuine and helpful they really made the stay easy for us. The location couldn't be better for the beautiful town of Beccles; fabulous cafes, lovely church, quaint shops, great pubs and restaurants as well as the Quay all on your doorstep within easy walking distance. If you're willing to drive the things to do and places to see are endless. The parking situation was worrying us but was absolutely fine when we got there. The B&B may not be ultra modern but it's certainly clean and fresh and very comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous (was the only thing we ate all day!). Jess the dog was a little cutie too. All in all made for a wonderful break and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londongirl1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.1 km away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 km away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
9.2 km away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
8.7 km away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.5 km away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#2 of 12 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltgate House

Property: Saltgate House
Address: 5 Saltgate, Beccles NR34 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Saltgate House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing