We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Carl C

Terrace high over-looking the beautiful Dordogne river valley combined with excellent regional cuisine

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 20, 2018
We were in Domme around sunset for some landscape photography of the Dordogne River valley and stopping for dinner seemed like a natural choice. For a Saturday night, the restaurants was busy but not full and we were able to have a table four at the edge of the terrace closest to the view. The menu was similar to those of other restaurants in the Sarlat/Dordogne area, but cooking in this case was exceptionally good. Combined with the view at sunset, this place is hard to beat for a dinner out. In fact, we went back again for dinner the next night (our last one in France) hoping for an even better sunset (and we were not disappointed either by Mother Nature or the chef). As others have mentioned, the service was friendly but a little too relaxed at time though the staff responded in a good-natured manner to a little prompting.
Date of stay: May 2018
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.1 km from Hotel Le Belvedere de Belves
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Façade classée "remarquable"
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Hotel Le Belvedere de Belves
Room service
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Hotel Le Belvedere de Belves
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.8 km from Hotel Le Belvedere de Belves
Free Wifi
Free parking
PISCINE
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Hotel Le Belvedere de Belves
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vue du Camping Les Nauves
  • Lol.travel
3.1 km from Hotel Le Belvedere de Belves
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.7 km from Hotel Le Belvedere de Belves
    Magnifique maison typique de la région
    • Priceline
    2.6 km from Hotel Le Belvedere de Belves
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    13.3 km from Hotel Le Belvedere de Belves
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
     Le clos-Lascazes  :vue du ciel
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    8.1 km from Hotel Le Belvedere de Belves
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Belves
    Reviews (51)
    Filter reviews
    51 results
    Traveller rating
    23
    17
    7
    2
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    23
    17
    7
    2
    2
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 51 reviews
    Reviewed September 11, 2015

    I arrived in Belves by train and walked up the steep hill to find the Belvedere right there, so no problem on that front. Check in is at 5pm - somewhat annoying - but they agreed to keep my luggage while I discovered this very sweet village. It's absolutely beautiful.

    The hotel is in an old building full of character, lovely spiral stairs and all the squeaks you'd expect.

    The room was larger than expected with a very traditional French hotel feel. The view was out onto the chapel and in the morning, a hot air balloon was floating around.

    There seemed to be a floorboard missing in the bathroom but I didn't fall through so all good. The shower was hand held so lucky it wasn't a hair washing day.

    The room was immaculately clean, as were the common areas of the hotel.

    Breakfast was immense with a lot of choice - meats, cheeses, yoghurt, pastries (go early and they're still warm).

    I had dinner in therestaurant as it was a village-is-closed day with few dining options. Service was fast and friendly, the food sublime.

    My only problem was with the bed. It was uneven, obviously well-worn and didn't make for a good sleep.

    Date of stay: September 2015
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank ZenTourist
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed March 30, 2015

    We stayed for one night at the Belvedere. The bedroom was rather cramped with a smallish bed which was not particularly comfortable. The bathroom was OK but there was a bit of a dip in the floor just inside the door.

    Having said that the food in the restaurant was excellent both for dinner and breakfast. However we seemed to have hit on waiter-training season so service was a bit hit and miss.

    Parking near the hotel was quite tricky as there are plenty of blue-marked spaces (not for visitors) and there is a difficult one-way system (at least it seemed like that in the dark).

    Date of stay: March 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Sheila W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 23, 2012

    The location on the terrace was very nice. We ordered soon after arrival at 8pm and our first course was served at 9.15pm followed by the main course at 10.15pm. The slow service was due to just two young people serving a full terrace of people; including a "centre table" of a dozen Americans who were well looked after as they were buying champagne by the bucketful.
    However the food when it came was very good, and the wine list also good.

    Room tip: Didn't stay just had an evening meal
    Date of stay: August 2012
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Service
    Thank Nick A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed September 7, 2022
    Google Translation

    Date of stay: September 2022
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 21, 2022
    Google Translation

    Date of stay: August 2022
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews