We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home From Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Escondrijo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vejer de la Frontera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Escondrijo
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Home From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I spent a 5 day mini-honeymoon at Escondrijo at the beginning of September.

Our hosts Netty and Nigel made us feel like old friends from the minute we dragged our suitcase to the front door, to the minute we left to go home.

We stayed in the Luz suite, which is on the ground floor, so no need to drag our (admittedly massive) suitcase any further. The Luz does not have its own private terrace, but with the other rooms having their own private area, we had the shared terrace at the top of the house all to ourselves.

The Luz is comprised of two separate bedrooms, a double and a twin, separated by a gorgeous bathroom with a huge shower and separate bath. The second twin bedroom became our dressing room for the duration of our stay. Whilst the Luz doesn't have the luxury of a private terrace (or a hammock), it is still a charming room and a relaxing place to be, with beautiful views across Vejer de La Frontera and the Andalucian countryside.The added bonus of an eclectic CD and book collection in the room (not to mention the vino and beers in the fridge), meant that I could have happily stayed in the room for the entire holiday.

Escondrijo is like something from a lifestyle magazine. The decor is cool and sophisticated, yet in keeping with the area. You immediately feel relaxed when you arrive. It really is a home from home, so much so, we had to keep reminding ourselves that we weren't staying at a mate's house.

One of the highlights of our stay was breakfast, which can be served either in your room, or in the main dining area. We opted most mornings to eat on the terrace. Believe everything you've read about the home made granola - it's absolutely delicious.

Vejer itself is one of the prettiest places I've ever seen. Lovely restaurants in the main square and a few off the beaten track if you're willing to lose yourself in the winding streets. The local beach is lovely - no frills, but plenty of locals, beer and sangria. We took a trip to Cadiz for the day, which is a stunning place (better than Seville, which was so unbelievably hot, we struggled to really enjoy it).

The only thing you should be aware of regarding Escondrijo is access and parking. You can't access the hotel by car and it's a very steep walk up to the hotel. We were prepared for it, but it might not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues. Parking can be a bit of a challenge, with the main square often being full. There is a paid car park nearby which is good value and secure, but it's locked overnight, so you should plan for this. It can be pot luck as to whether you manage to get a space.

Overall, a wonderful hotel, wonderful hosts, wonderful town. If I could think of any more superlatives, I'd use them.

We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank friendly_traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We spent 3 nights at Escondrijo in the Hammock suite, and had a fantastic stay! The hotel has a fantastic location, allowing us to spend lots of time exploring the old town and its wealth of eating and drinking options (for which we were well advised by Nigel). The decor is very stylish but really inkeeping with the building and the local area. Our room had a terrace which gave us fabulous views and provided a wonderful location for a relaxed and delicious breakfast. We'd thoroughly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HELEN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We had a week here during the fiesta and stayed in the Logburner suite. It was glorious. Netty and Nigel have got the style and decor just right. It's calm and quiet, and you have enough space to be comfortable. Their restaurant tips are spot-on too! Restaurante Patria was so good we went there twice. With restrictions on luggage, being able to borrow beach towels, and umbrellas makes a difference as well (the beach at El Palmar is spectacular). Fantastic breakfasts that keep you going all day (and I recommend leaving the fruit/muesli/yoghurt combo in the fridge all day for a fantastic late afternoon desert after a long day on the beach!).
We would go back in a second. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathertemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

As soon as you arrive Nigel & Netty made you so very welcome.

We stay for only 6 days and loved every minute of it. The personal touches make the hotel homely and relaxing. Just hearing the background music playing in the court yard really gave the hideaway a atmosphere.

The hearty breakfast made you for the day and having the option to dine on your balcony adds to the romance of the venue.

Nigel & Nettys help and guidance over the 6 days was beyond our expectations and can't thank them enough.
Highly recommend for a romantic break or relaxing get away.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

It doesn't get any better than this!
The location is great, the views are amazing, the breakfast doesn't get much better, the interior decoration is fantastic and the hospitality is super!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDaniel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We have never written a review before, but felt the need to this time. Escondrijo is like a fairytale castle. As you approach Vejer it sits on top of a Spanish hill top and looks like sugar lumps all stuck together. We stayed for a week for our wedding anniversary and enjoyed every minute. Netty and Nigel are the best hosts, and in previous reviews, make ' the best breakfast granola!' Nigel and Netty are bundles of knowledge for walks, beaches, restaurants etc. Their dog 'Duna' is lovely and good company also! Vejer is a beautiful spanish village, small little tapas bars are all delicious, make sure you swot up on your Spanish! We hired a car for the first time from airport to get there and found it very easy, a car is essential to get to the beautiful beaches and have a look around. We had the beach nearlly to ourselves one day! We would definately recommend Escondrijo to everyone, we will endeavour to get back there! thank you Netty and Nigel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed in the large room downstairs with a stocked mini-bar, lovely bathroom, and mezzanine level with a hammock. Nigel was very friendly and helpful with maps, recommendations etc and breakfast was delivered to the room to enjoy at one's leisure. The bed was very comfortable and there is a kitchenette that has coffee/tea making facilities and complimentary first bottle of water. The laundry service (EUR 10 per bag) was much appreciated as we were in middle of travelling and it was great to have fresh laundry at such reasonable prices.
The view from the balcony is amazing and Vejer is a very pretty white town. Driving and parking may be a bit difficult but we were lucky to park in the plaza as helpfully recommended by Nigel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vejer de la Frontera hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Sindhura
Hotel Sindhura
#2 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Convento de San Francisco
Hotel Convento de San Francisco
#5 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#3 of 20 in Vejer de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Shelly Hospederia
Casa Shelly Hospederia
#1 of 20 in Vejer de la Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel La Botica de Vejer
Hotel La Botica de Vejer
#5 of 20 in Vejer de la Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escondrijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escondrijo

Property: Escondrijo
Address: Callejon Oscuro 3 | Vejer de la Frontera, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Vejer de la Frontera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Vejer de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Escondrijo Hotel Vejer De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing