We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply brilliant”
Review of Karma Chakra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karma Chakra
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Lake District UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Grove is really lovely. It is situated right on the banks of beautiful Lake Vembanad and guests can enjoy the seemingly endless serene tranquility of this most perfect location. The food and drink is very cheap (by UK standards) although the service can sometimes be a little slow (again by UK standards)

The infinity pool is great and there are akways plenty of sun beds. There are only 24 very spacious well appointed rooms in the whole resort and the wifi is free. The hotel has its own boat so you can enjoy the daily 3 hour backwaters cruise for a mere 400 rupees. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimmyandHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mr.Jimmy and Ms.Heather,

Simply Lovely !! What else to say? Thank you very much for that lovely review. Couldn't ask for a better New Year Gift. Indeed it gives us immense pleasure to know that you all had a great time with us. And as you rightly said, relaxing by the lake Vembanadu while the boats move past, the birds chirping around and you having your favourite drink- is absolute bliss!! (apologies for the slow service, we are fine tuning the same)

So see you soon, right here, at The Grove by the side of lake Vembanadu !!

Happy New Year and Best Regards,

Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    138
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
282
165
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed for 4 nights in The Grove from Dec 24 to 28. Resort is well located on the lake side and having very good lake view from open areas. Rooms are specious and well maintained with big balcony. However, Balconies are of little use and the view from the balcony is towards an open plot with little view of the lake. Only 2 rooms on the front towards lake are having full view of the lake. You need to close the balcony doors after evening due to mosquitoes and insects.

Hot water was not a problem. Bathroom was OK, it was not the best of a kind which you would expect in the resort like this. I found red ants roaming inside the bathroom.

Staff is well behaved. Other activities includes pool, swimming pool, etc.. Kids will enjoy in the swimming pool. They will also provide fishing rods for kids.

This resort does not have kitchen with the rooms as available in the other Royal resorts. Food is very expensive in the resort restaurant. Roti itself will cost you Rs 50 per pcs, It was just a medium size and normal taste less roti. VAT and service tax extra. Service in the restaurant was also very slow.As a Royal Resorts member, I would expect a small kitchen with the room at every resort because this was one of the key point, based on which they sold the membership.

You can sit alongside the pool and enjoy the excellent lake view. Resort is good for one time visit if you are coming from long distance via flight. Next time, I would rather go to Royal resorts in Goa with better amenities which is near to my place(Pune) and has developed beaches.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front side towards lake are having full view of the lake.Also get some mosquito protect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majid_gmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mr. Majid,

New Year Greetings from Kumarakom !!

Thank you very much for such a detailed review about us, which indeed will be of great help to those planning for their vacation. Its great to know that you loved our resort, the surroundings and the staff. As you rightly said the best view is for the rooms close to the lake, but the best part is that , even the last room does have a view of the lake !! Mosquitoes and insects are always a problem in Kerala and the western coast of India, being very tropical, but we do our best by fogging regularly and having a good pest control. Infact Kumarakom being so close to the lake with constant wind patterns, the mosquito menace is minimal when compared to other parts of Kerala.

Thank you once again for writing in and of course you can suggest our resort to your friends as well !!

Best Regards,

Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent two nights here. The rooms are neat, and clean. Staff are good. Good place to relax. Nice swimming pool where kids and adults can really enjoy, with helpful staff. The property has a very good ambience. However, Restaurant is not at all worth the money spent. Quality of food is also not worth mentioning. Time for preparation and serving is very very slow. Even lime soda took 20 minutes for serving. No spa. Gym with limited options. First aid kit contains only dettol and dressing gauze. Neither ice nor ice pack was available, when requested around 11pm.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sahidmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Mr. Sahidmp,

Greetings from Kumarakom !

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our resort ambiance and our staff. My sincere apologies for not meeting up with your expectations on food and service and the other mentioned. Please be assured that these will be acted upon with utmost urgency and importance. We have started working on our international branded spa and this should be up and running in a few months time.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, here at The Grove !!.

Best Regards
Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
111 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It is a very beautiful place and a very ideal location,you are bang opposite the Famous Vamanad lake."The Grove" itself is very well designed and the layout is excellent.It is easier to go for a houseboat ride and by taking a mere 500 meters walk you can see the local village life.The rooms are excellent,of almost five star facilities, the restaurant is very good and the food is excellent.Only the bar is not well stocked, you would wish that you had more choice.we are going again there in a very short time !

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank BHARATO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Mr. Bharat,

Greetings from Kumarakom !

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a great time with us and loved our resort to have a great time of your vacation. We understand that our wine list is limited, but would like to add that we would be soon getting our license to sell imported beverages at our bar and will have a great variety of spirits and wines in our wine list soon.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, here at The Grove !!.

Best Regards
Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is one of the must visit resort in Kerla. If you want to relax with your family this is the place. Good Location, out of pollution. Food in the hotel is not worth for money. Dubai hotel is one of the famous joint for food approx 4 KM. They do have Home delivery facility. If you have vehicle try driving approx 10 KM for authentic Kerla food. Try Local house boat ride to Vaichur cost approx 400 Rs. per hour. Request the boat operator to arrange for food at vaichur. Kottayam is the good place for shopping.

Room Tip: 1st from lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Sushant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Mr.Sushant,

Greetings from Kumarakom !

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a great time with us and loved our resort to have a great time of your vacation. I am glad to note that you enjoyed Location and the premises.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, here at The Grove !!.

Best Regards
Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Unfortunately only had a few days in this wonderful part of the world. The facilities at the resort are 5 star and the management and staff provided excellent service. We had a room overlooking the lake which was gorgeous. And the food........ Absolutely stunning. Restaurant service is 5 star and head waiter Faizal couldn't do enough for us. A tuk tuk trip around the village gave us an insight into local life and the beautiful peoplein Kerala. This is definitely the BEST resort we've ever stayed in. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Ms Pauline & Mr. Mike,

Greetings from Kumarakom !

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a great time with us and enjoyed our food and service. I have conveyed your remarks to Faizal and its these lovely notes that keeps our staff motivated and strive to better themselves.

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and hoping to see you soon here for more days. And of course we will have enough of your favorite Italian coffee !!

We are also upgrading our wine list to include a variety of imported liquors and wines. So cheers in advance for your next visit !!

Best Regards
Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A family trip to attend a wedding turned into a wonderful holiday . Thanks to the Karma Royal Group for this ideally located resort . Brand new with unique landscaping , well appointed rooms all overlooking the Vembanad lake.

A dip in the resort's infinity pool at sunset was a great experience - See pictures attached .

Recommended for all those who want to experience this unique land which is known to be God's Own !

The Coconut Grove makes it even more worthwhile .

Room Tip: All rooms at the resort are equally good , spacious and with balconies overlooking the vast expanses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajshekhar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Mr. Rajshekhar ,

Greetings from Kumarakom !

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a great time with us and enjoyed your family trip to Kerala. Its nice to know that you loved our landscaping ,and I have to add here that we are adding more plants and greenery to enhance the current ambiance.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, here at The Grove !!.

Best Regards
Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.3 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
4.4 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.8 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.2 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
4.5 km away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Chakra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Chakra

Property: Karma Chakra
Address: #09 Block #12 Ward | near Nazreth Church, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Karma Grove)
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitalizing on cool breezes and 360-degree views of Vembanad Lake and its lush banks, The Karma Grove, Kerala is located in the backwater destination of Kumarakom. In addition to a swimming pool, library, billiards room, gymnasium and concierge service, the resort features a traditional restaurant specializing in local specialties as well as North Indian, Continental and Chinese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Karma Chakra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Chakra Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing