We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good well located hotel”
Review of Backwater Ripples

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Backwater Ripples
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
New Delhi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good well located hotel”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

It's a nice lake facing hotel with large rooms and extraordinary staff.
The best part of the hotel is the lawn next to pool one can spend a lifetime sitting there and watching the lake/birds/sunset it's actually beautiful. The restaurant was nice the food was as average as you get across karela. (I am quite saddened by the food quality across Kerala).
We stayed at the duplex room which had two double beds and two toilets whic is a big plus if you are traveling with kids it was like having two rooms to yourself.
Checkin was smooth.
Staff is well trained.
It does not look like a 5/4star but there is a definate charm about this place.
Nothing much for kids except a good pool and one broken TT table.
Cons: Kerala food, wifi is paid even in this expensive property and worse it's available only in the lobby area.

Room Tip: Families choose duplex facing the lake its a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arj_ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    183
    57
    31
    24
See reviews for
204
148
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The resort is at the best location. It had a romantic feel to the entire stay. The boat ride was great as was the weather. The spa was also up to the mark and it was an authentic massage. The swim in the pool was also great. Overall a nice & pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Great place to stay for just a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxmanav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed here for couple of nights... 7th & 8th jan 2012.. The reviews of this hotel are very misleading... its not worth the money at all... 1st of all it is not 4*.... i would rate it as a property with 3* rooms having a 2* SERVICE... I mean the rooms are too small... and nothing great.. Basic category starts from 7k. Food is strictly ok... but highly overpriced. u wont get any veg dish below 250, and nonveg below 350, excluding taxes... service is too slow.. During my entire stay (42 hours) thier in room phone wasnt working...( the whole resort ) i had to go to the reception atleast 5 times to place my order for food etc... lakeside area is too hot... pool is very small.. seriously not worth the money... please check out "CITRUS" resort in alleppey man... i saw it from outside during my houseboat cruise... tht one looks much better man... awesome place bang on the LAKE!!!!!

Room Tip: best tip "dont visit"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jicksaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Very good hotel. Great service, with nice and helpful staff. Very good restaurant. Great ayurvedic massage. Nice sunset cruise in backwaters at 5pm.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were nice and spacious, the pool was nothing to write home about, the restaurant was priced well. We had a buffet dinner one night and the food was cold. We also gave our laundry to be done, and they lost five articles and a pair of shorts had more stains on it after washing then before. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcritic786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Rooms are not clean, be careful when paying extra for lake view rooms. Staff very unfriendly especially at the reception and swimming pool. Sub standard rooms, AC not working most of the time. Not going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yasubmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I enjoyed the food, my son enjoyed the fishing and swimming pool, my wife enjoyed the Traditional dance and peace full nature, all of us enjoyed the food, before I went there lot of reviews are telling the hotel food was not great so I have a doubt running in my mind about food. Nevertheless we visited the place . But I had been asked after each and every meal "Sir How about food" a girl standing out of the food hall and noted the food comments of customers.
Evening dinner has limited variety but overall a very good food "But we are arranged a group tour so we had all food are in buffet manner" But I have ordered some foods directly from restaurant to my room to taste some sea food items like (Kari mean it will coated and cooked in banana leaf ) I was not expect this type the taste is OK but the price more than Rs.500/- little bit costly for a single fish
I have a very good experience its is really great what do you want ?, Cricket, yes you can play with your friends, Cycling ,yes you can enjoy a ride around the resort , Swimming yes you can do up to 8 (we allowed) Fishing yes you can near your cottage or near the lake. Ayurveda massage yes it is very nice with the people but one thing I want to tell I can hear lot of noises from the reception area during my course it is very disturbing during massage . I have taken massage in some other places like shanthigiri and Bangkok the surrounding are very quite so we slept quickly but here that is the problem. I have complaint with their guest book also .but overall the massage is OK . So you will definitely forget all the things outside the resort your business, your home, all of it. really nice room Really nice atmosphere let us check my photos and videos

Room Tip: cottages near to reception area by the side of lake have beautiful views of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godsownson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.1 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
4.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.4 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
3.3 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
8.5 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backwater Ripples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backwater Ripples

Property: Backwater Ripples
Address: Kumarakom PO, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#7 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Backwater Ripples 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backwater Ripples offers 34 luxury independent cottages in a variety of styles to cater various requirements. The accommodation is spacious, private and superbly appointed with state of the art designer amenities and personalized services. The resort has wide range of facilities to make sure a comfort and memorable stay in our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Backwater Ripples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kumarakom
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing